We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best views in the Hunter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berenbell Vineyard Retreat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Best views in the Hunter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here this weekend and loved it! The accommodation was extremely clean and came with a lot of thoughtful surprises like MOR products in the bathroom, freshly baked muffins, ground coffee and the firewood was filled up daily as well :)

The views were by far the best in the Hunter, it was breath taking sitting outside on your private veranda enjoying a nice wine and taking the views in.

The hosts Suzie & Ken were very easy going and gave us lots of tips and suggestions on where to go to enjoy nice food and wine. The location was central to everything only minutes away from restaurants and breweries.

A really lovely weekend, will definitely go back there again.

Amanda & Kerry

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Congratulations to Suzie and Ken – this is a superb retreat, which is private, peaceful and beautifully appointed. No cars on this ‘no through road’ just a view of the mountains, vines and wallabies. Many high quality restaurants within easy reach or sit outside your own cottage and enjoy a private barbecue. The Cottage and lodge facilities, furnishings and fittings are of a high quality as was the continental breakfast and bottles of wine. Definitely a place to revisit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have stayed in many places in the Hunter and this rates as one of my favourites. Our host Ken was friendly and informative and nothing too much trouble. The cottages are warm and homely and contain everything you need for your stay. When you wake in the morning and draw back the curtains, the view of the mountains and the misty paddocks is second to none. We will definitely stay here again. You are a little way from the village but there are many restaurants that offer shuttle buses at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggsmac101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A great, quite, private getaway location, overlooking some stunning views of the vineyards and mountain ranges. These self contained, mini cottages was perfect for the amount of time we stayed there (3 nights). Just down the road are a few restaurants and a brewery, which was convenient for those unplanned evenings. The hosts were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Berenbell retreat a few weeks ago and had a perfect few days away. The hospitality shown by the owners when we arrived made us feel very welcome. The self contained accommodation has everything you need for a quiet and luxurious weekend in the Hunter. The views are fab and the kangaroos provided great entertainment for our nieces. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Myself and 6 friends stayed in the 2 joined cottages for the weekend and it was absolutely perfect !! The cottages are gorgeous and upon arrival we were greeted by Ken & Suzie who immediately made us all feel very welcome. Thank you both for your hospitality. We have spent many weekends at The Hunter Valley in other places but this is definately rated as one of the best. See you again very soon .
Donna & the crew xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Berenbell recently and had a marvellous time. The hosts,
Ken & Suzie were very friendly and helpful, but also left us alone, so it was very private. The
setting is gorgeous, with a beautiful view of the vineyards, and it is very peaceful and quiet, so
we slept very well.

It was close to a lot of very good cellar doors and restaurants and a short drive to Tempus Two
where we went for a concert.

We thoroughly recommend a stay here, and will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schatze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
6.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 42 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berenbell Vineyard Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berenbell Vineyard Retreat

Property: Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Address: 60 Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berenbell Vineyard Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on extensive grounds in a secluded lane, Berenbell Vineyard Retreat offers superior self contained one bedroom Cottages and 2 bedroom Lodges. This superb location enjoys magnificent views of rolling vineyards and the rugged Brokenback range which are simply without compare. Berenbell is the idyllic retreat in which to relax or celebrate that special occasion and explore the Pokolbin wine country. Berenbell is located within minutes drive of 17 Cellar Doors and 8 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Berenbell Vineyard Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing