We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
225 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Pokolbin, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 225 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mikerober...
sydney
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 11 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my girlfriend, the room was great as was the building itself - a beautiful and peaceful location. Thanks very much to Raylee and the rest of the staff for be very accommodating to us during our stay. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valiant2
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better ..”
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two days. The Lodge is beautifully situated in a lovely area, great views, and handy for the main wineries. Our room was clean and comfortable, but the bathroom decor wasn't of the same standard.

All in all the place gave us the impression of needing some TLC: just small things: the roof had flooded; the fire extinguisher outside our door had fallen off the wall, pulling the wall-paper with it; coming in from the car-park you're presented, incongruously, with a fridge-freezer.

The hosts were pleasant but not that much in evidence, and had a note up that they;re not around after 7:30pm except for emergencies: fair enough I guess, it's not trying to be a full service hotel. Breakfast was perfectly adequate but not exceptional.

I can't put my finger exactly on what it was, but I didn't feel that comfortable there. As you arrive there are lots of cars, presumably the owners' and including a builder's car, at the front and a sign saying "Guest Parking at the Back". I think if it were my place I'd let the guests park at the front and make "Clewsy" keep his truck at the back. All this sounds just a bit petty, doesn't it? Sorry - the place has great reviews generally but we just didn't feel that it had the attention to detail the price warranted.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are actually working with the builder you referenced to upgrade some aspects of the property, that we agree, need some attention. One of the things we are looking at is changing the car parking arrangements. We are also considering an on-site cafe.

We endeavour to make ourselves available all day from breakfast through to close to discuss local attractions, restaurant suggestions and tours. Usually from dinner time onwards guests are out and dining, and don't require assistance, therefore our decision to have a close time at 7:30pm. We still make ourselves available if required. We are a family run business and try to keep things personal with our guests. By extending hours and employing outside staff, that "family feel" can get lost.

Thank you for taking the time to provide constructive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveHolid...
Australia
1 review
“Give it a try”
Reviewed 20 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We had a lovely time as this beautiful B and B. The owners are the lovely and so is the property. Worth every cent. Suggest you ungrade to the full breakfast as it is worth the spend.
If you don't like this you are hard to please!
PS Happy Birthday Raylee

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonniewit...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 17 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

This place has a lot going for it. Stunning landscaped gardens surrounding a lake and encircled by vineyards with a mountain backdrop. Not bad at all.

Breakfast was superb and the rooms were pleasant, if perhaps the smallest bit dated.

Best part though is the wild kangeroos at dawn and dusk.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragonwit...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 15 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

What a weekend so peaceful and beautiful. My husband and I stayed for the weekend, the first night it was hard to sleep due to the silence (not used to that), it was great. Not to far away from restaurants etc but far enough to enjoy the view and the quite. Woke up to Kangaroos sunning themselves in the garden. Raylee and Trish - so helpful. I would recommend staying here we will again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emergency...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice location and breafast but that's as far as it goes.”
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

At $270 a night you would expect a little more than a room without a kitchenette, a tiny old box tv and a rock hard mattress but the view made it worthwhile.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2012
The room the guest is referring to actually has a bedroom with ensuite and a separate lounge with coffee and tea making facilities and a fridge. It is quite roomy. The bed is quite new and selected with a firm mattress after consultation with many guests on their bed preference.

The rate included a full continental breakfast each morning. Apologies we were unable to statisfy this guest. It is always welcome for guests to come and let us know if they have any issues during their stay, which did not happen on this occasion. We ask all guests on check-out if they enjoyed their stay allowing them to voice any complaints at the time. It is unfortunate that people choose to leave and write reviews without giving the establishment the chance to rectify the issue at the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryLSco...
1 review
“An absolute must for anyone wanting to stay in the Hunter Valley.”
Reviewed 12 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

My husband and I stayed there for a couple of nights and the whole experience was fantastic. The staff are above and beyond helpful and friendly, the setting is perfect, the breakfast is lovely and the estate is a beautiful place to stay in. Honestly, we highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing