We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
225 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Pokolbin, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 225 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LJaneR
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Spent the weekend here and Raylee was a fabulous host, ready to go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was enjoyable. She had many recommendations of things to do and restaurants to visit ready for us. The room was also spacious and comfortable and the views beautiful. We would definitely go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldfartSy...
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“10 OUT OF 10 RAYLEE”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a cudo voucher for willow tree estate. Was a little bit wary due to being burnt by holiday vouchers in the past, where when you try to book dates they put you off till the middle of winter - but absolutely no problems when I booked this. We upgraded to a room with a spa and had the Der Rosen Room. It is beautifully presented with gorgeous outlook and the bougainvilla on the verandah was in fully bloom. The room is spacious, and absolutely spotless (I want the cleaner for my home!!!!). The estate is situated at the end of a no through lane, so there is absolutely no traffic. Woke to kangaroos on the property and the sunset sitting on the verandah with a glass of our complimentary wine and chocolates was just perfect. Raylee is definitely a character and charming and was very thorough in explaining the facilities available. Breakfast was a full continental which was more than adequate for me and my husband and this was beautifully presented. We were there during the week for 2 nights and it was quite and perfect.

Ten out of 10 Raylee you have a beautiful estate and good luck with your busy couple of months with the weddings you have booked in. Thank you once again for some delightful couple of days. Peter and Lisa

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFeens
1 review
“A little slice of Heaven in the Hunter....”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had 2 glorious nights at Willow Tree Estate where we were welcomed by incredibly friendly staff who gave us some great tips for our time in the Hunter. What was only 2 nights felt like a week staying here. It was a very relaxing stay which we really needed. We will be back!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuvvyAust...
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One in a million....”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I are fortuante enought to have stayed at the Willow Tree Estate for 5 nights mid September.
It was our first time staying at a B&B and we are coverted. The owner / manager Raylee could not do enough to ensure we had a wonderful time and any requests we made were attended immediately attended to. Raylee made suggestions of wine tours, resturants to eat at & sights to see in the Hunter Valley.
We had some amazing meals at local resturants - Muse, Bistro Molines and Muse Kitchen. If time permits, these are a must do!
The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable and equipped with everything you would want or need for a break. There was a large collection of DVD's, board games and enough trashy magazines to get you up to date with all the celebrity gossip.
We stayed in the Edwardian Room and the view is amazing. After visiting the local wineries during the day, we'd come home with a nice bottle of wine, some cheese and spend the late afternoon sitting on our balcony enjoying and taking in the wonderful scenery.
King Size beds, beautiful shower and then down to breakfast each morning to do it all again for another day. Breakfast was plentiful with a large selection of cereals, fruit etc.
The property was fully booked whilst we were there, however you never felt like it was busy. From the sound of other people, everyone else loved it - some had come 7 or 8 times....lucky them!
Will we be back - absolutely. Thanks Raylee, you have created somewhere really special to unwind.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
“Relaxing in The Hunter Valley”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had four days relaxing at Willow Tree Estate and enjoying all the Hunter Valley has to offer.
Beautiful setting, great hosts, in a quiet lane close to all the wineries and restaurants.
The rooms were tastefully decorated and impeccably clean.
Breakfast was well provided for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy M
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights midweek and it was wonderful! We booked in advance but close to the travel date, had to change our plans due to a medical emergency. We wouldn't have been able to go if Raylee, (the owner), did not go out of her way to make our trip possible. She made us feel very welcome and all our requests were immediately attended to. Just to cite a couple of examples: we requested a microwave in our room so I could heat my nearly 2 year old's milk and food and we were given a brand new TV when the one in our room made a buzzing noise.

But the service did not end there. When we went to breakfast the next day, and Raylee had set out a small plastic bowl and spoon for our daughter, complete with a high chair! All this done without us having to ask. During our stay, my daughter was also invited to play on the play equipment and bike for which I am very grateful as she had a ball and kept her occupied. She was made to feel very welcome.

Breakfast each day was delicious, fresh and filling. The yoghurt is divine! :-) And even though we were the only ones staying for a couple of nights, the buffet was always plentiful.

Our room was clean, bright and airy and had a big verandah. When we woke up in the mornings we could see kangaroos hoping through the backyard and at night, we sat in the verandah and just watched the stars. It was perfect.

The quiet and stillness of the place was just what we needed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenSarso
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Willow Tree - lovely property, good location, large comfortable spa room”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Summer Spa House for 3 nights in Sept 2012. The room is very spacious, extremely clean with only normal signs of usage that can happen from past careless guests. It has reverse cycle air-con which was great & heated the space quickly, no wood fire. I was pleased to find a hair dryer as I'd left mine behind. You are provided with shampoo, lotion and soap and our towels were swapped the second day. The spa is 90's style and was relaxing. The spa room was nicely appointed but some strange choices, for instance a 6 seater table for a room which sleeps a capacity of two and a very small tv situated in an odd position for the size of the room. Also the ceiling feature skylight is awesome but very light in the mornings, we are early risers so it wasn't a problem for us. The bed was comfy and the decorations very nice. The property is located close to restaurants, bars and pubs....you really need a car in the Hunter wherever you stay though. We are not social B&B types so the Summerhouse suited us as it's detached from the rest of the building. The host was un-Intrusive and helpful. Breakfast is included with rates breads, cereals, fruits and the dining area is large and clean. We enjoyed our stay, it's not 5 star however it is a beautifully looked after family run estate and I would recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2012
Hi Jenny,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. The large table is in the Summerhouse for when we have weddings and the bride gets ready with bridesmaids, hair, makeup etc. I agree about the TV size. We are currently in the proces of swapping out all the existing TVs with digital flat screens.

Thank you for your positive feeback
Regards
Raylee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing