We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DenMar Estate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Door Collective
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
“DenMar Estate”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

When we arrived we loved the view from the cottage over the vineyards to the mountains. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. Our breakfasts were delicious and very filling! The private wine tasting was great! It is a great location with very comfortable accommodation and friendly hosts. We would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Don't go past DenMar Vineyard and Cottages! We 4 had a sensational 3 days from 4th Feb 2013. We resided in one of the 2 Cottages 'Semillon'.The weather was perfect, the view of Brokenback Ranges awesome and it was so peaceful to enjoy. Our cottage had everything one could wish for even down to the BBQ which we enjoyed. Our breakfast supplies were more than we could eat.
Our gracious hosts Dennis and Marie treated us to wine tasting and canapés followed by a most enjoyable dinner with wine. We could not depart without purchasing cases of wine!
We would certainly recommend DenMar. We will put it on our 'wish list' to return.
We wish Dennis and Marie all the very best.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivGlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Arrived and the estate is magnificent. The villa we stayed is was beautiful and had all the amenities u could need to have a quiet trip away. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this to anyone. And would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teganm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchs Forest, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

There is nothing but amazing things to say about our stay at the wonderful DenMar estate. Myself and my girlfriend stayed for 2 nights and it was utterly amazing. From the moment we drove up the driveway with grapes either side, we knew that this was going to exceed any expectations we had.
The private cellar door tasting was just the start of the experience. Dennis and Marie gave us their range of wines to taste and they were all outstanding. The room we stayed in was very modern and had great views of the surrounding country side as soon as you stepped outside.
Marie's cooking in the cafe was brilliant, good hearty food. I recommend the salmon, she cooked to perfection.
Throughout our stay Dennis and Marie made our stay as enjoyable and as easy as possible. Recommending other Wineries to check out and places to go eat, and helping with arranging travel to and from dinner. They are wonderful hosts and took amazing care of us. We highly recommend staying at DenMar Estate and we would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Both rooms will give amazing views and nice breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2013

For Christmas we were given a Living Social Voucher for two nights at DenMar Estate, which exceeded our expectations of a standard escape. Upon arrival we were greeted by Dennis and Marie, the owners, and indulged in a wine tasting and canapé selection. Our room was fantastic, very clean, and contained all the essentials to cook a gourmet breakfast (bacon, Free-range eggs, bread, tomatoes), or if you were looking for something lighter, cereal and milk was also provided. We were also given a bottle of Chardonnay on arrival and a cheese plate to indulge in at our leisure.
Part of our voucher included a meal in the onsite cafe. We recommend to anyone the Atlantic Salmon main but Marie's cooking with all dishes is outstanding.
Dennis and Marie have really achieved something amazing with their estate. Their hard work has produced some of the nicest Hunter Valley wine that we tasted on our trip (So nice we bought a whole case!) The villas are surrounded by vast vines and breathtaking views, a truly amazing, relaxing experience for anyone looking for a few nights or a whole week away, there is so much to do and see.
Dennis and Marie are two of the most generous and kind-hearted hosts we have ever come across. Their hospitality went above and beyond all expectation, and we would definitely recommend DenMar Estate to anyone looking to stay in the Hunter. We will definitely be back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Both Villas contain breathtaking views, and are spread out for a more quiet and private stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I spent January 7-9th at Den Mar. This was our first visit to the Hunter Valley and we had a great experience at Den Mar. I am not sure that the photographs really do justice to the Den Mar Estate or the villa's, the standard of accommodation and certainly the natural beauty of the scenery was more than we had expected. We stayed in Villa Semillon and were completely happy. The villa was immaculately clean, linens etc. in pristine condition. Although I didn't cook anything beyond breakfast each morning the kitchen had all the gadgets anyone could possibly want. There was binder with information on the area and practical recommendations which we used. The villa was spacious and the décor was tasteful and attractive. The first night we opened a bottle of Den Mar Chardonnay and sat on the patio watching the sunset over the vineyard. It was perfect.

Dennis & Marie, the owners are a lovely couple and were super helpful. They arranged a wine tour, & made dinner reservations for us. Marie gave us a private wine tasting at the Den Mar Cellar Door which was another lovely little touch we will remember. I have no hesitation in recommending Den Mar, we had a great time and will hopefully return in the future.

Room Tip: Both Villa's have excellent views of the vineyards and mountains. We stayed in Villa Semillon a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmer_4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at DenMar Estate.The accomodation was first class,spacious.modern.exceptionally clean. All our needs were catered for. The breakfast provisions were amazing-more than enought for the two of us & so fresh. Dennis & Marie were very welcoming & made us feel like friends. They recommended restaurants & wine tours & we even saw the harvesting taking place-for which they apologised - a bit noisy-but we found it very interesting. A great location & we have already recommended it to our friends

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
0.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.9 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
693 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 39 in Pokolbin
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Door Collective? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Door Collective

Property: Red Door Collective
Address: 479 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly DenMar Estate)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Door Collective 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Door Collective Estate is a 25 acre property with 10 acres of premium vineyard and 2 luxurious 2-bedroom Villas, each bedroom has a spacious spa en-suite. The Villas are stylish and modern with a country feel and are as new, with a well equipped kitchen, veranda with BBQ and outdoor furniture and spectacular views over our vineyard to the mountain ranges. It is the perfect getaway for couples who seek solace, peace and tranquility from the stresses of the city life. It is also the perfect setting for a magical vacation or a getaway with family and friends. Our boutique accommodation consists of two private, beautifully-appointed two bedroom villas with stunning views over the vines. Inside you'll be wrapped in comfort and style enjoying luxury inclusions like Molton Brown toiletries, Hunter Valley Chocolate Co. chocolates, a gourmet cheese platter and complimentary bottle of RDC Estate wine. Our on-site restaurant, Bistro Artisan offers a relaxed breakfast and lunch menu prepared with only the freshest Hunter Valley ingredients. For dinner, modern Australian meets cultural fusion in an exquisite menu that evolves to reflect the seasonality of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Red Door Collective reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Door Collective Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing