We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast service, welcoming, friendly”
Review of Blaxland Inn

Blaxland Inn
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$37
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fast service, welcoming, friendly”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stopped here while on a wine tasting tour. Lovely building, warm and welcoming on a cold windy day. Food was fresh, hot and tasty, but a tad under seasoned. Food was pre ordered by the tour operator, and arrangements for split bills had been made. Would have no hesitation returning here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    189
    75
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Warm, inviting, welcoming, delicious”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went here based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Staff were friendly and looked after us from the moment we arrived to the time we left. I loved the atmosphere of the place itself, fireplaces, a piano just warm, inviting and welcoming. We didn't have a booking and it was busy but were still accomodated, just had a drink on the lounge while we waited for a table. The food itself was fantastic, from the soup of the day, garlic bread, lamb racks, sirloin steak and the garlic mash just delicious and cooked to perfection. They even have a fire going outside for the smokers. I am only disappointed that I was too full to fit dessert in. Totally recommend you have a meal here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank terriede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice building, friendly staff but average pub food”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were welcomed by very friendly staff and were instantly attracted by the nice building when we arrive. It was cozy in a cold winter night even in the outdoor enclosed area where there were wood stove and gas heaters (unfortunately we did not have a booking and were taken to a table next to a broken gas heater). To be fair it was still cozy although it would be better next to a working heater.

The waiting staff were friendly and well trained.

The food was below expectation. Rump stake was very tough and a little overcooked. Mash potato was dry.

Probably worth visiting again but only for a drink.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank someeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely pub food with cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

As a local, blaxlands is one of our preferred places to grab lunch or dinner with friends. Its perfect in winter - lovely fire place so request a table in front of it. The staff are always welcoming and the food is tasty. This time I had their soup of the day (thai coconut with prawns), lamb rack which was cooked to perfection and their chocolate fondant for dessert - yummy! Their blaxlands wine is decent too and well priced - the shiraz is my fave though the cab merlot is a pleasant drop too. The three courses and wine cost $70 per head (table of 4 - 2 bottles of wine)
They are known for their steaks and deep dish pies! Enjoy!

Helpful?
3 Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Reviews seemed quite good but didn't live up to expectations. Strip loin was overcooked, mash was very dry, and sauce too strong. The deep dish beef pie was a bowl of soup with a crust.

Staff were very friendly but unfortunately the food couldn't make up for the short comings

Helpful?
1 Thank hcwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blaxland Inn also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Blaxland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing