We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunter at its best”
Review of Cam-Way Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cam-Way Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Cam-way is in a fantastic location, and central to the Hunter region. There are winery's, restaurants and village food shops within easy walking distance. The accommodation is comfortable, and has everything that you'll need for a relaxing stay (full kitchen, comfy lounge/tv area etc), and has a pool & tennis court (with lights) if you need a bit of exercise. The owners and staff are really friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

If we'd have known about this place prior to arrival we'd have stayed longer! We only decided last minute whilst driving down the Pacific Highway that we'd drop into the Hunter because we would otherwise arrive at our previously planned destination too early. So despite a very last minute booking the management went out of their way to ensure our stay would be memorable. We stayed in one of the smaller 2 bedroom cottages, which although small are quite adequate with a good layout.
It's hard to believe the setting can accommodate some 60 people, but that's only because of the well designed layout of the property. The cabins are set amongst 26 acres of gum trees and it seems as though you are set well away from anyone else. This would be an ideal location for a wedding or other large get-together destination.
I was surprised to find a litre of fresh milk (as opposed to long-life milk) in the fridge, a good supply of tea, coffee and sugar and a bowl of fresh fruit. A full sized refrigerator would allow a reasonable length stay.
The reverse cycle airconditioning was useful for us because of the cold night and would be great during the sometimes very hot summers in 'The Hunter'. A recycling bin on the verandah was a welcome sight, as well as a well disguised bin outside.
We were very impressed with Cam-Way and won't hesitate to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed as a last minute booking & only for one night, however were very impressed with the overall cleanliness & spacious feel of this property. Cam-Way would be the ideal getaway destination for families/groups as the cabin/lodge style accomodation has everything you could possibly want. Nice, open space with excellent communal facilities & my favourite - open fire pits adjacent to most accomodation. Would love to come back with more time to relax........
Although within walking distance of many cellar doors, a car does make the journey between tastings just that little bit easier.

Room Tip: If you look forward to sitting outside gazing into a smouldering fire, check that the room you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Mark_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We recently organised a reunion for 26 people in The Hunter. We all stayed at Cam-Way. The management went out of their way to move a BBQ and prepare the outside verandah area for our Fri night BBQ. They also allowed us to use the fridge in the guest laundry.

The cottages were spotlessly clean and well equipped.. We even had a phone call from them the following day to say that I had left a pair of jeans and they would mail them to me.

It's well located close to restaurants , vineyards and Hunter Valley Garden and shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Absolutely the best place to stay in the Hunter Valley. Loved our hosts Robyn and Ian who made our stay very comfortable. Very close to Wineries and Restaurants. We will definitely be going back to the relaxing, peaceful and picturesque landscape many more times to come. Amenities were clean and excellent. Really enjoyed our early morning tennis and an afternoon swim,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionav404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at Cam-Way as it was our first visit to Hunter Valley and wanted a centrally located place which will allow us to be near the wine estates as well as restaurants and other attractions. While Cam-way is near the attractions, I would suggest that you have a car with you as we found it much better to drive around rather than to walk especially at night when the paths are dark. Cam-way has thoughtfully provided a rechargeable torch for our use.

The villa we had was very large and comfortable with all the necessary equipment for cooking and even a dishwasher and microwave. Coffee and tea making facilities are provided with free biscuits. Breakfast baskets could be arranged as an extra. There is also a small swimming pool which we used one hot afternoon to cool off and it was a really refreshing dip as the water was really cold! We also saw kangaroos one morning while driving out of the estate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kesharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage at Camway - totally peaceful and relaxing but right in the middle of everything - we walked to Tempus Two for cocktails at Goldfish followed by dinner outside at Oishi Japanese. Yesterday we walked (5 mins) to Hunter valley Cheese at McGuigans, then into the Gardens Village for coffee at Bliss and chocolate tasting at the famous chocolate shop. Its all so close - we didn't use the car once and just loved it. Very well maintained and spotless cottages - not to mention the gorgeous pool. Top marks!

Room Tip: Cottage 3 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0mmies0nt0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation
1.0 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cam-Way Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cam-Way Estate

Address: 81 Campbells Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £95 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cam-Way Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cam-Way Estate undoubtedly the most central location in Pokolbin... Set on 60 beautiful acres of tranquil parkland in the "Very Heart of the Hunter" surrounded by the best the Hunter has to offer... Boasting 6 vineyards and 7 restaurants on our boundary. Walk through to Pokolbin Village, Vineyards, Restaurants & Concerts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cam-Way Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cam-Way Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing