We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Central Location”
Review of Cam-Way Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cam-Way Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quiet Central Location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Cam-way is amongst it all in the hunter yet it's secluded so well you would think your the only person there. The fire Pits were a hit with the kids for marshmallows and the cottages are spread out and clean. The house wine was delicious and the Hosts were just delightful. My only negative were the beds, the most rock hard I have ever slept on. Unfortunately this alone would stop me returning. :(

Room Tip: Take a swag and sleep outside by the fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
42
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were a group including couples and singles, and used the 4-bedroom cottage, a 3-bed "combo" and two, small 2-bedroom cottages. It suited us down to the ground. From first contact to the end of our stay, the owners and staff were friendly, helpful and very accommodating. All cottages were very clean and well presented and appointed. There was generous provisioning in both kitchens and bathrooms on arrival -- even a torch on charge for excursions in the dark. The setting and surroundings are really lovely, with a very rural feel, despite the proximity to the heart of the Hunter. There are so many options of things to see and do -- and places to eat, both without and within (and they are licensed). We were given vouchers for complimentary glasses of wine when we dined at Blaxlands Inn, and were able to purchase entrance tickets to Hunter Valley Gardens at a discount, with a bottle of water thrown in. We would recommend Cam-Way Estate unreservedly, and would have no hesitation in paying a return visit as a group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for one night ,arrived at 5 .30 due to late flights and got charged 900 $ per night ,six adults and 5 children, despite the agreed price being 750$ , in a four bedrooms cottage .The management complained about the children being "to noisy"and running around (they said that they cleaned the carpet recently and they would like to keep it clean) .DO NOT STAY HERE IF U HAVE CHILDREN!!!! We left the next morning as early as we could and ended up staying at Crowne plaza and got value and top quality for our monies!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We recently stayed at Cam Way estate while attending a family wedding near by. We had 4 adults and 4 small children in the 3 bedroom villa. It was perfect, as there was plenty of room for the kids. Our cottage was impressively clean and it was all the small details, that made it feel special. The kids loved the pool, and the recreation area was great for getting the larger group together for a BBQ. I am planning on arranging another family get together here and booking out the whole place. We really enjoyed and highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have been staying at Camway for the last 3 years now and will continue to do so as, the staff are always friendly and welcoming, the location is spectacular and central to the amazing vineyards in the region

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a great time at Cam Way with friends, we came to see a concert at Tempus Two, we decided to book in at Cam Way as we have stayed there before back in 2009, Lovely 2 bedroom cottage clean and spacious. Would definitely book again and recommend to others, great place to stay, central to vineyards, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This accommodation came as a pleasant surprise. I found the location to be absolutely wonderful, central to a lot of vineyards and entertainment. We walked to so many vineyards to do tastes which was an advantage and took the worry out of needing to drive. The cabins were lovely - clean and spacious and due to the layout the view from the front verandah was of bushland. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I also purchased a breakfast basket and again everything was tastefully presented and a really good variety of food supplied.
A lovely place to take a break.

Room Tip: All cabins are equally wonderful and are based on the number of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
1.0 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cam-Way Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cam-Way Estate

Property: Cam-Way Estate
Address: 81 Campbells Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cam-Way Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cam-Way Estate undoubtedly the most central location in Pokolbin... Set on 60 beautiful acres of tranquil parkland in the "Very Heart of the Hunter" surrounded by the best the Hunter has to offer... Boasting 6 vineyards and 7 restaurants on our boundary. Walk through to Pokolbin Village, Vineyards, Restaurants & Concerts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cam-Way Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cam-Way Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing