We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average it is, gorgeous premises”
Review of Bluetongue Cafe - CLOSED

Bluetongue Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An authentic Italian dish always starts with the best flour, garden fresh tomatoes, and the best quality local produce. Then of course matched to a great wine. Sound simple ... We make all our own pasta and sauces from scratch , in the traditional Italian way. Our restaurant also features a glass fronted air-conditioned wine cellar where we have wines from all over the world including some rare vintage wines from local private cellars.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Average it is, gorgeous premises”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had lunch here, pre -booked it. The food was served on time and was quite good. We had pizzas, pastas, salads and steaks- everything was fresh, not amazing flavours, but good for a casual relaxed Saturday lunch. Beer tasters are a really funky thing to get if you are a beer drinker. We didn't have any but the pot pies looked awesome.The premises are gorgeous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    48
    37
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun day”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The beer is cold and nice. Really loved the redback, dirty granny and the beez neez. The taster paddle was great. Staff are friendly and helpful. The whole experience was informative and fun.

Helpful?
Thank Sjbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Watch the eftpos fees”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The food was ok, typical pub food. The thing that peed me off was the 1.5% surcharge when paying with EFTPOS. That's wrong Bluetounge Cafe! Your just taking the p**s now.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stevewb0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good pub fare”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After arriving late one night for a Hunter Valley stay, we were hungry and looking for a meal. Our accommodation told us that this place was nearby, so we tried it. No tables were available, but we were able to sit at the bar. The menu was varied and there were some really nice items. We were happy with the service and the quality and quantity of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redracer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The beer's okay; skip the food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my tasting paddle of six house brews week enough, but for $28 my chicken parmigiana was very small and not especially tasty, and the "garlic and rosemary chats" tasted of neither garlic nor rosemary.

Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluetongue Cafe also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing