We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay”
Review of Thalgara Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thalgara Estate
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and it was perfect! Steve and sue we're amazing hosts and looked after us so well. Would definitely go back. It was great cake for money being a last minute booking. The studios are spacious and beds really comfy!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed at the Thalgara Estate over the Easter break with my partner and we loved it! Steve and Sue we so helpful and lovely and the lil house where we stayed was extremly clean and cosy and tranquil. LOVED it... If we go back to the Hunter Valley we are def staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is my second stay at Thalgara, and have nothing bad or good to add, things are just as clean and great as it was last year, breaskfast basket great as well. Steve and Sue made our stay very comfortable once more, lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simagagnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The room was a good size with a lovely view. There are 6 rooms, but we didn't hear the other guests and only saw them in the car park.

A breakie basket was provided on Friday night with some small packets of cereal and half loaf of bread.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The room was simple but very clean, cozy and warm. Steve welcomed us very kindly and gave us lots of good information and tips about the region, although we arrived there a bit late there. They provided a light but very good breakfast for the following morning too.
The view from the room is beautiful, full of green and a nice lake.
It is well located, just few mins from main wineries and shops.
I would definitely come back to stay with them again, nothing to complain about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simagagnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Lovely place to stay. Thalgara Estate produce their own white & red wine, and I bought a bottle each, there are great wine and value for money (thou you may find some "cheap" wine online, but sometime you do want to pamper yourself for premium wine).

This is a self contained accommodation, that is clean, great fresh air, quiet/great privacy, lovely back patio that you can watch the kangaroos (need to get up early to watch them) hop around the vineyard.......with your own full privacy that you could read a book ..... and have a nice meal & a glass of wine ..... enjoying the view, fresh air ..... as if, is your own vineyard ;-)

The owner Steve & Sue are lovely couple, friendly and helpful. Great Aussie!

It's within short driving distance to supermarket, central shopping and there are great restaurant within reach.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We arrived late on a Friday night to a warm welcome from the owners and headed to the room / apartment #4.was surprised upon entering the room to see a couple of very tired looking sofas (they would have been more at home in a 1970's travelodge.) It was clean and breakfast had already been put there for us which was a good touch. The bathroom was ok with a dodgy brown shower curtain and a rail that was wobbly to say the least. The shower had tenuous pressure and was not somewhere that one would linger. The apartment had 2 beds - we only required one and they were both doubles - a queen would have been a good touch. There was a hole in the wall the size of a doughnut filled up with a screwed up piece of paper. I removed the paper to check what was behind and swiftly replaced it - didn't want beasties crawling on me during the night! We woke up in the morning and had a great brakfast on the verrandah which was definitely the redeeming quality of the apartment. I thought that 420 for two nights was very expensive given the quality of the room and there was no service to speak of. Our beds were not made or turned down for us. As a previous reviewer mentioned we were required to was all dishes and mugs before leaving or face a charge of $20. This worried us in that, if the guests were responsible for washing the dishes manually, and they were not as diligent as us then there is potential for some rather unpleasant surprises. I would counsel you to bring your own wine and beer as the bottles placed in the room are not complementary, but for sale. The prices range from 2$23 to $35 for the show reserve.....is it really going to be as good as St Hugo? We had a great lunch at Firestick cafe which is at the next door vineyard, 2 chefs hats and really excellent. In summary, i would not stay here again unless i was going to a concert and everywhere else was booked (as was the case this time!).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
1.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
7.0 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
1.8 mi away
Grapevines Boutique Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalgara Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalgara Estate

Property: Thalgara Estate
Address: Debeyers Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalgara Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Thalgara Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalgara Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing