We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate getaway with ample entertainment!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolshed Hill Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolshed Hill Estate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Intimate getaway with ample entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

The Woolshed estate is the perfect place to get away with friends or extended family. There is a 9 hole golf course, swimming pool, tennis court, countless bedrooms & bathrooms & great entertaining areas. Very family friendly & super private. Would be great for parties of 50-100 (weddings, 21st, 50th). I will be fighting for a NYE week long booking for all of our friends!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLKMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wshestate, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I can,t speak highly enough of the owner Andrew,who made our stay just perfect,"thank you". We needed a place big enough to accommodate our very large family for a special surprise 50 th Birthday and The Woolshed Hill Estate delivered just that. It had the Wow factor as soon as we drove in, then from every window and glass door in all the buildings the Wow factor continued. Andrew suggested a chef "Ben, from Monkey Catering",who came onto the Estate and cooked a beautiful dinner for us on the Saturday night, which was just wonderful. We were all very sad to leave on the Sunday, but we are already planning another Family get together, this time it will be a Christmas gathering so we can utilise the pool. The guys loved playing golf,as did the little boys.We have all taken such wonderful memories of our stay,thank you thank you thank you .Jane

Room Tip: The Executive suite is perfect for romantic couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wshestate, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you Jane for your lovely comments and please know that you are always welcome at Woolshed Hill Estate. I love seeing our guests use ALL the estate and you guys did just that! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This was our 3rd stay at 'The Hill' and as usual we returned home with many great memories shared during our stay. I don't know of any other place where you have exclusive use of a golf course, tennis court, pool and grounds. We were fortunate enough this time around to have the whole estate to ourselves as we were a large group. We will definitely be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 786JL786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wshestate, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we trust that you have taken home many great memories of your stay at 'THE HILL'. We look forward to having you stay again, your family is always welcome :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia On Holidays
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was the second Christmas our family of 10 enjoyed at the woolshed.
The 'oldies' stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage next to the homestead.
The tennis court and pool are great and we made good use of the outside BBQ area.
The owner,Andrew,is very helpful with early arrivals and is only a phone call away for any problems.
He even supplied a christmas tree I had requested!!
Small gripe-there were no sun lounges in the pool area-only table and chairs and the grass was full of bindis.
It is the perfect place for a large group to get away and do your own thing undisturbed.

Room Tip: Book the whole property so you have exclusive use of the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmartin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPokolbin, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I wish that I knew about the sun lounges, we do have a few but it seems they were packed away during your stay. Next time I will ensure they are left out for you =) We have also had a very trying year with very dry weather (which bindies love) so I am sorry that this caused you some concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Myself, my partner and several couples had a fantastic time at Woolshed Hill Estate over the new year period. We stayed in the Homestead and the cottage, which was spacious and clean. The hospitality of the owners was outstanding who provided us with a tour of the homestead, a number of suggestions for food and winery tours, and was very accommodating to our needs. Woolshed had something for everyone with a tennis court, pool, golf course and wine bar. It was also within a 5 minute drive to a number of high quality wineries and breweries including Tempus Two and Blue Tounge and a 15 minute drive to Cessnock. Everyone who stayed had a great time and a number of us are planning a trip back!
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a very comfortable trip to the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPokolbin, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you Sarah, it was a pleasure having your group stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parklea, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

My family and i party of 10 had such an amazing time at the Woolshed we stayed in the big house and it was HUGE so spacious and clean and just amazing I can't express our happiness any better then that. Andrew was so fantastic to deal with the communication was outstanding.

Thanks so much for a GREAT WEEKEND :)

Room Tip: Any of them wuld be great we had the whole home so easy to choose for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPokolbin, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you Krystal, I am so glad you had a great time in the residence and apartment and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for accommodation for our wedding party to stay (start looking early if planning an October wedding in the Hunter!) - we had 10 guests in the large house and the owners were okay with us having the rest of our wedding guests (extra 10 people) around for a BBQ the night before the wedding. We had use of the BBQ area and a large covered outdoor patio overlooking the dam.
The facility served us well - enough rooms and space for everyone, golf for the boys on the morning of the wedding (with a bag of Leftie golf clubs provided by the facility), fully stocked kitchen with enough cutlery/ plates/serving platters for 20.
Only negative about the place was one of the ensuite bedrooms was right between the two main living areas - we felt if might be a bit noisy at times for our guests.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowschoolbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPokolbin, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you had a great time at Woolshed Hill. We look forward to seeing you back here soon for a reunion!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.8 mi away
Silverpoint
Silverpoint
#28 of 41 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
5.8 mi away
Elfin Hill
Elfin Hill
#4 of 41 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thalgara Estate
Thalgara Estate
#21 of 41 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Madigan Wine Country Cottages
2.4 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
#6 of 41 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casuarina Motel Suites
Casuarina Motel Suites
#27 of 41 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolshed Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolshed Hill Estate

Property: Woolshed Hill Estate
Address: 342 Deasys Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolshed Hill Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolshed Hill Estate is the premier Hunter Valley location for small through to large group getaways. The Estate consists of three (3)) self contained country style buildings, ideally suited to groups of all sizes for family, friends, weddings and corporate gatherings. The Estate is available in three (3) great configurations in the following manner - The beautifully set six (6) bedroom 'Homestead' coupled with nearby cosy 2 bedroom 'Cottage', giving you the perfect setting for family and group getaways and wedding parties. The country charm of the 'Residence' with its four (4) bedrooms & amazing cathedral style lounge room gives you the ability to enjoy a truly relaxing country getaway. The unique option is for larger groups and/or corporates to book the entire property for a unique stay for to 30 people. Perfectly located in the epicentre of Pokolbin, the Estate offers the opportunity for a round of Golf on our 9 hole course, Tennis on our all weather court, perhaps a dip in the Pool through to a relaxing walk around the Estate. Cook up a storm for your group on one of the four (4) BBQ's while enjoying the beautifully maintained gardens. So get the family together and enjoy some quality time together, that long planned reunion or your wedding in the Hunter Valley's favourite family friendly estate. Woolshed Hill Estate - awarded the LUX 2015 - Best Boutique Hotel (Hunter Valley) in the prestigious Lux Hotel and Spa awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Woolshed Hill Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolshed Hill Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing