We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Villa Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Provence
Ranked #7 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The villa is located in a lovely vineyard setting with wonderful views. We woke up to the sounds of little lambs outside out room then opened our front door to baby rabbits and geese in the front yard! Charming and romantic. The staff were friendly enough and the fidge was stocked with milk, juice and a few other treats like fresh bread and fruit. The rooms were nice but are looking a little neglected and could definitely do with a freshen up.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms can get a bit of noise from guest staying above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Made_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

Years ago this would have been a beautiful country B & B but it has been neglected over the years. Stayed there for 2 nights mid week. The furniture in the room was very basic and the room needs a good clean to get rid of all the insects and cobwebs. The light cover on the ceiling fan was broken. In the bathroom the shower needs a good clean. At reception the owner had left instructions to which room we had and where the key was and what paperwork to complete. During the 2 day stay the only people we saw were other guests. The ground and gardens were neglected and spoiled the serenity of the property.
The only good thing was a clean pool. (be careful of the bindies around the pool). Instructions on the wall states that if you need clean towels leave the soiled one's on the floor. When we arrived back late in the afternoon, no clean towels and the bed was not made and only 4 tea bags were supplied for 2 nights. On the reception door it is rated as a NRMA 4 star, I have no idea where or have they received this rating.

Room Tip: We suggest to stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wil90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Well situated B&B, right near good wineries and restaurants. The grounds are lovely. However, owner needs to spend a bit of money on the rooms to make them a bit nicer. Our room had holes in fly screen and given we are in the country a good fly screen is vital!! In addition, the furniture is cheap (looks like form Fantastic Furniture or Argos in the UK). I know we are in the country so bugs and cob webs are normal, but the cleanliness of the place was awful. In addition, there was a sign in the kitchenette that if we did not clean up, we would be charged $30 - I thought that was what the room tariff was for!! If the owner had a eye for detail they would have noticed the crumbs from the toaster in the cupboard and the dirty tea pot from previous guest. I am sorry but I would not want to use crockery cleaned by a previous guest, using a dirty and very old looking kitchen sponge. The sponge should be changed after every guest. We had booked a package which included continental breakfast and a bottle of bubbly but this was not in the room when we arrived. When we checked out, no one was around to say good-bye - we just left the key on the desk. Pretty poor customer service.

the ad said free wifi - it was broken for the whole 3 days we were there - no alternative was given and it was a real pain.

we also had to ask for info on the area - this should be in the rooms automatically!!

If the place was given a spruce up and the owners were around to service the guests, it would be quite nice.

Room Tip: only go for the top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuddles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The good - Good location, clean room, comfortable bed, adequate facilities and a sparkling pool. The baby lambs were also very cute.

The not so good - Previous guests didn't clean the dishes very well which went undedected by staff. In need of a little maintenance, our room had a broken fly screen and a missing light fitting. The grounds are in need of some TLC / lawns very dry. Not sure if this is a water shortage problem, but most of the adjacent properties appear green and lush.

Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I picked up a 2 night internet deal which really was only worth what we paid for it. The 2 room (separate lounge/dining room and bedroom) apartment was adequate, had a good sized bathroom and neat kitchenette. Bed was good and the rooms were clean. The property however is very rundown and needs a lot of work to bring it up to 4 star standard. Tidying the gardens and making the BBQ area usable would be a good start as would cleaning the reception area and the stairs up to the guestrooms. There is no soundproofing and we were unlucky enough to hear a very loud argument that broke out late at night between a couple in a neighbouring apartment.
We owned and operated an accredited 5 star guesthouse for several years and this property in no way compared to what we offered guests.
In all we very much enjoyed our trip to the Hunter Valley and were comfortable enough, but would love to see the Villa Provence come up to the standard of service it could offer with not much more effort than a good cleanup and much needed maintenance carried out on the buildings and surrounds.
This was a very difficult property to review. The manager was nice (we only saw her once, guests check themselves in on arrival and check out again when leaving without having to see anyone), we were provided with her mobile number if we needed to contact her and we would have loved to have been more positive in our review but hope this is a gentle push in the right direction.

Room Tip: Go to Villa Provence by all means, but don't expect too much from the property itself and so avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cattai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Myself and three family members were booked into this place for one night in a two bed room apartment. Reception filthy, obviously not been cleaned in a long time, hence the 1000's of dead flies in the light fitting. Room disgusting - mould throughout, stains on carpet, fly screens broken, smelt. Place would have been nice at one stage but has been left to deteriorate. Caretaker and his primary school child went to clean another room for us but when checked was equally as bad. I would not recommend this as a place to stay in the Hunter.

Room Tip: Dont book in at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

It was a friend's 50th birthday, and all she wanted was to go to Hunter Valley. I saw this internet deal for Villa Provence and 7 couples bought the deal to celebrate our friend's 50th. I was quite nervous not knowing what this place was going to be. Read the review on trip advicer that some very disgruntled person had put on and got even more scared.
However, from the moment we got there everything was so great. The room was very clean & comfortable. It had a room plus a separate lounge, sitting are for each of their rooms. A very nice pool, nice country setting that was close to most places. The supplies for breakfast was quite adequate for a couple. Fresh bread was given each morning. All 14 people had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants an affordable getaway.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which had a great view from both the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzaMortdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.2 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Provence

Address: 15 Gillards Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: £74 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Provence Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing