We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Provence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Provence
Ranked #6 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We just got back from our three day weekend getaway to the Hunter Valley and we stayed 2 nights here. This was a fantastic place to stay and was a great deal with the cudo voucher we purchased. The villa is in a great location and is close to all the great wineries, restaurants and cafes. The room itself was spacious with a lounge area next to the room which was lovely, it also had a mini kitchenette area with a microwave, sink & fridge (which supplied a carton of milk) which was nice since we give our 14 month old milk to drink. It was also nice and spacious especially when you have a 14 month old that just wants to walk everywhere.

We had a great nights sleep since the bed was comfortable and had a generous amount of pillows which I loved!! There was a pool onsite too which would've been nice to swim in but it had a few leaves in it but that shouldn't stop you from jumping in. We were also greeted with a rooster and goose every morning which hung around our doors which we found very cute.

Overall we would recommend this Villa to friends and family, it is a great location. There was a few creepy crawlies but that's to be expected since you are surrounded by trees and plants.

Just a tip for families, make sure you make dinner reservations and also most places don't open until 8.30am for breakfast which was a bit difficult seeing as the little one got up early around 6am.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FallForBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    84
    37
    13
    8
See reviews for
27
125
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have stayed several times at Villa Provence & each time we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms have a bedroom seperate from the rest of the suite which consists of a sitting area, a mini kitchen (sink, microwave, kettle, cutlery, crockery, glasses etc.) & a small ensuite. All you need for your stay. We stayed 2 nights on a voucher deal which included 2 nights mid week, a bottle of sparkling wine & chocolates. The grounds have a very relaxing outlook, nice pool, outside tables & chairs, a chook & "Bear" the very friendly Labradoodle. We have another stay booked for February 2014 & are looking forward to another relaxing stay. Nice Italian Restaurant at end of street which also has takeaway if you don't wish to dine in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ourimbah, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at Villa Provence for 2 nights to prepare for our daughter's wedding on 11/10/13 Booked 2 bedroom and one bedroom apartment. The bridal party had lots of room to prepare Perfect. Spacious. Comfortable. Very cool inside. BBQ. Outdoor setting each room outside Provided cont breakfast of cereals, yogurt, raisin toast, percolated coffee, tea Even provided TimTams and fruit. The only downside is that it is too far to walk to main winery area but close by car
In the lobby there were also books and DVDs to watch . Great service

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The villas are a little run-down and in need of a bit of TLC, but overall a pleasant experience. Met a few other people who were staying there and it was like staying at a friends house. Everyone had a drink by the pool and went their own ways.
Became friends with the duck and chickens there, so if you like a little farmyard feel, this is your place.
No restaurant on-site, but some good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casmurnieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This place has such a potential.. unfortunately there are a couple of things that needs to be done:
The room we were in needs a bit of paint... repair was done without covering it
It seems that the cob webbs belong to the inventory
Gardens could be so beautiful if maintained
Leaves on the ground doesn't impress really
However, overall a pleasant stay and a very nice place...

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Location is great, very peaceful. Room was nice. Sofabed was Aweful!! We could not find anyone at reception whole time we were there,we left a note requesting another dooner at 6pm and someone did come round at 1030pm with one but woke us up. Not top class but practical and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadharana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked six rooms and had the best time. Reasonably priced, central to the wineries, clean, spacious and with friendly staff it was great. There is a pool for the kids and residents chooks and a duck. My American niece was happy to see the kangaroos in the distance.

Room Tip: One room had two bedrooms with twin beds in one so great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sha55b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.3 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Provence

Property: Villa Provence
Address: 15 Gillards Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Provence Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing