We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twin Trees Country Cottages
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The location is great, close to lots of wineries and an easy walk to the concert venues. One down fall was the price which was over the top. The property also desperately needs updating and major cleaning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fudge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Twin Trees Country Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

A very secluded and peaceful area, the other cottages are just about out of eyesight. The location is close to the all the wineries. Loved the local wildlife, breakfast daily with the kangaroos and birdlife
The only downfall is the property is on the market and the owners are a bit slack with maintenance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place could be so good, but needs lots of loving attention. The location is great; the privacy is great; the concept is superb.
So, what's the problem you ask? Well, here's the thing.
We stayed at Twin Trees exactly 12 months ago, Xmas/New Year 2012. Everything was great, except it needed a jolly good clean and some modernisation.
We decided to book again this year, but shot off an email mentioning some of the issues of concern on our previous visit. The response from management was immediate and positive.
Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted and found our unit (same one as previously) to be much better than when we were last there.
Sadly, however, its the little things that count.
We had booked for 5 nights, but there was only one spare towel, one spare sheet, one and a bit rolls of toilet paper and a broken and empty air freshener in the bathroom. The front door seemed to have problems latching (depending on wind direction and humidity) and an emergency re-chargeable torch was in need of CPR.
This reviewer can readily understand the issues that confront owners, of this type of business, as they age. Upkeep and remaining competitive can be very demanding. Yet a way must be found around these issues. Neglect is not the answer!
This business is for sale. It is hoped that this happens soon and that new owners attack with gusto and deep pockets. This property - and a warning here - is not for someone looking for a retirement gig!
Would we stay there again under current management? Well, as mentioned in my opening comment, there is much to commend it. So, the answer is yes, but only after negotiating a really good deal and that depends on whether I can be bothered, I guess!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurieFavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location is good but the cottages feel as though they haven't had a good clean for years! So many things wrong that all I can say is i would never stay here again, we actually found alternative accommodation is was that bad

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fitzpasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great location being close to lots of great wineries & restaurants; lovely and quiet, cottage was a good size; lots of privacy as all cottages well spaced and beds had nice white sheets. However the extreme lack of water pressure was a great concern as water just dribbled out of shower nozzle; cleaning really needed to be done a lot better, bedroom side tables, lamps, other furniture in the cabin really dusty. The pump soap container in the bathroom I doubt had ever been cleaned. There was an ironing board but couldn't find an iron; there was a washtub in the laundry, but no washing machine. A can or Mortein would have been handy given the mosquitoes and other flying insects that were in the cabin. We wouldn't regard the cottages as luxury accommodation.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a great hot shower with great water pressure, I wouldn't choose this l...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

In desperate need of some TLC. The grounds are awful! Before we'd even made it up the driveway we contemplated turning around - everything is either dead, overgrown, messy or just not looked after. The rooms themselves could also do with some tlc. I understand its 'county cottages', but that's no excuse to let it all be dated.

Being able to see right into the managers (messy) private areas - backyard, chicken coop, sheds etc was a bit unusual & shows how little care they take for their own things. It also makes you feel like you're being watched.

Hopefully the new owners (it's for sale), can give it the tlc it so desperately needs. Maybe then ill be back, but not beforehand.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helloadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We arrived between school holidays and wound up with the entire place to ourselves. Our cottage had a small kitchen, a dining space with seating for four, a living room with flat-screen TV and two sofas, a bedroom with a sliding glass door looking out over the vineyard, and a bathroom with a shower (no tub).

The manager checked us in and was very accommodating. He helped us get on the wifi and was more than happy to suggest wineries to try. He also pointed out the family of kangaroos that were resting in the field near our cabin. We also met what I believe is the maintenance man / groundskeeper. He was very friendly and apologized for mowing near our cabin, which we replied didn't bother us as we're used to lawnmower noise and were heading out anyways.

Twin Trees proved a great jumping-off spot to explore the area. It's down a long gravel road and nestled in long rows of grapevines so it is very quiet and rural. City folks might prefer something with a hot tub but we loved the comfortable bed and having the place to ourselves. We had lunch on the wrap-around porch and got to see the kangaroos bounding through the vine rows.

Wonderful!

Room Tip: Cottage #6 has a deck with a great view of the vineyards.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSUJillyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
0.7 mi away
Cam-Way Estate
Cam-Way Estate
#9 of 39 in Pokolbin
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chez Vous Villas
Chez Vous Villas
#28 of 39 in Pokolbin
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Thalgara Estate
Thalgara Estate
#22 of 39 in Pokolbin
18 reviews
5.4 mi away
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
0.3 mi away
Windarra Lodge
Windarra Lodge
#17 of 39 in Pokolbin
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Country Cottages

Address: 111 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £121 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Country Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twin Trees Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Trees Country Cottages Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing