We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect food, as usual.”

Goldfish Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with
Goldfish Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Goldfish Bar & Kitchen is located at one of the Hunter's most iconic winery complexes - Roche Estate, Goldfish Bar & Kitchen, Hunter Valley provides an international Pizza & food menu coupled with an exclusive beverage offering, including an award-winning cocktail list and new and old world wines.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect food, as usual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect food, as usual. The Sirloin was cooked to perfection and the scallops, oh man! Such good food and to top it off, friendly staff and a terrific atmosphere. Goldfish definitely deserves to be at least in the top 5. I highly recommend dining here.

Helpful?
2 Thank hannah151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    168
    54
    30
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

While we have visited the bar of the Goldfish many times and love the atmosphere and outlook, we had never eaten a meal. This trip we decided to dine after drinks and left feeling disappointed. My friend and I both ordered the steak and it was inedible. The sides and sauce were gorgeous but the steak was overcooked and chewy and not inexpensive. We won't eat there again but will certainly return for afternoon cocktails.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meggsmac101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldfishHV, General Manager at Goldfish Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
First of all, thank you for taking time to offer us feedback on TripAdvisor. It is unfortunate to hear however that you did not enjoy the food and was not what you expected. I am still glad that you enjoyed the the venue and cocktails .
We do take our feedback seriously and will discuss the areas you have pointed out to improve and better our standards and service levels.

I hope that when you visit us next time the service and food will impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good choice for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Yummy pizza - we had the prosciutto pizza to share, the wild mushroom pizza looked great as well. it was lovely sit outside in the sun. The service was quick. It did get a bit busy when the tourist buses arrived, but still there was plenty of room for everyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adriana_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lunch at goldfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

good food, one waiter was lovely, the waitress was 'cold'. We had the lunch deal which was to share a pizza of choice, two sides or one starter plus 2 glasses of wine. good value. the brussel sprouts been AMAZING!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

There are a lot of great choices for food in the Hunter Valley but you won't be disappointed by this one. We had the scallops and arancini for entree which were sensational. The pork cutlet was very tender and the beef short-rib was melt in your mouth. A great atmosphere, plenty of room, definitely on to put on the to-do list!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goldfish Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Goldfish Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing