We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Pokolbin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World Class Delicatessen/ Cheese Shop offering a gourmands delight.We manufacture Gelato and Cheese. The Tempus two site also offers a licensed cafe serving food and alcoholic beverages. Come try the best pizza, burgers and coffee in town.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Best cheese....tastier triple cream Brie and vintage cheddar and less expensive than the cheese shop at McGuigan's. we even got a free cheese knife!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felicity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    86
    32
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Erskine Park
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Danish Blue is the way to go...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Not much to say, but the Danish Blue was superb, with the red from Tamburlaine, and the crackers. Had to stop on the way home for a larger block....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not a serious cheese shop, but good for a picnic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

It was harder to find good cheese in Hunter Valley than we expected. There is Smelly and also the Hunter Valley Cheese Factory. Neither is super, but both can scratch the itch.

Smelly is a gimmicky, touristy shop. It is sad that the cheese is all plastic-wrapped, and it cannot breathe. That is a red flag that they do not take cheese seriously enough. Much of the cheese is old and not kept properly. Look closely at what you see before you buy. If you see darkened areas, usually around the rind, that means it's been sitting around too long.

This is not a serious cheese shop by and for people who genuinely care. Even the walk-in fridge was disappointing both in terms of freshness and in variety. There is not enough attempt to showcase Aussie small-batch cheese makers, and nothing that is genuinely unique or interesting. However, anyone who needs cheese and wants a picnic can easily find some worthwhile nibbles.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gl0ryb0y, Public Relations Manager at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you felt that we didn’t live up to your expectations.
In reply to your comments, we would love to be able to use paper wrappings for the cheeses. Unfortunately we have approximately 10 000 people coming through our doors per week. We just would not able to keep up the cheeses with paper wrapping. The one advantage using plastic is that it does help with the ripening process for young cheese. We have many varieties of Australian cheeses, Tasmanian truffle brie, Jindi cheeses, Binnorie cheeses, Adelaide Hills, just to name a few. We would love to be able to have more boutique cheese makers; however, we have found that they cannot keep the stock up to us. As to the cheeses being old, we have just gone through the shop and checked all the cheese products. With the exception of the hard cheeses, which the older the better, all our cheeses are only 3 to 5 days old. Yes, our shop is touristy, that is because we are a tourist destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WARNING! Rude and over priced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

It is cheaper to buy cheese from your local woolworths. A waste of 10minutes I will never get back. People are rude and stuck up

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronicamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gl0ryb0y, Owner at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
We are terribly disappointed with you comparing us to Woolworths. If you were comparing us to David Jones or a comparable cheese outlet as our prices are very competitive with these outlets, then we could understand your point. We have a vast range of gourmet, hand-made and exported cheeses that Woolworths do not and will not stock. Comparing us to Woolworths is like comparing McDonalds with a fine dining restaurant. We are upset that you found the staff to be rude and stuck up. If you had a problem with the staff, we wish you would have gone to the manager to enable us to fix any problems.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Truffle Cheese'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Amazing sheeps and goats cheese! You must try the truffle infused sheeps cheese it is to die for!!! All the staff were very attentive and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbug16678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing