We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World Class Delicatessen/ Cheese Shop offering a gourmands delight.We manufacture Gelato and Cheese. The Tempus two site also offers a licensed cafe serving food and alcoholic beverages. Come try the best pizza, burgers and coffee in town.
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Sad to say we didn't get to taste the 'great range of cheeses' reported by others here. Service was painstakingly slow - when when we finally managed to indicate to someone that we would like to try a few cheeses, we were brusquely told we needed to wait...some more. So we left. Our advice is not to bother with this one. Head over to Binnorie dairy for much better service, truly local cheese, and possibly the best marinated goats feta in the world. Yum!

2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gl0ryb0y, Owner at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

hi julie. i am sorry you had this experience, and yes we are a very busy tourist store in a very busy tourist destination. i can however tell you the store is not always teaming. you must have visited during a bus tour rush. yes binnorie is about one tenth of our floor space and can only fit about ten to fifteen people in the store before it to is jam packed. however it is on the outskirts and doesnt get the crowds we do in the middle of pokolbin. pity you didnt stay long enough to try our fettas etc. as all of our branded product is made under license from binnorie. oh well maybe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have never in our life been made felt so unwelcome in a shop in our life. It was like a scene from pretty woman. It was the biggest hassle to try a piece of cheese and the lady was so rude.

2  Thank Becker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gl0ryb0y, Owner at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise that you felt the lady serving you was rude. This is not how we want the customers to feel. We pride ourselves on our great service and the way you felt treated is unacceptable. If you could let us know, what day you visited, and which of our two stores it was, we will speak to the staff on for that day. One store is at Pokolbin Village and one store is at Tempus Two. Once again, we sincerely apologise and hope you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Great range of cheeses - the labna is amazing as are the bries. There is a huge variety of nibbles (crackers, deli items, etc) as well as oils/vinegars/dukkahs. There are very tasty gelatos and a mini chocolate shop. Try to avoid on weekends as it is out of control and staff seem to get a bit ruffled by this and can come across cranky. I have been on quieter weekdays and they are much nicer. There also seem to be a ton of passive aggressive signs that litter the store and its entrance. Maybe they are cheese nazis but they can be - great quality products.

Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Good selection of cheeses and other produce but gets busy,avoid if you dont like crowds ,service can be slow and they need to improve in this areas

Thank mamarosaCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

They really sell quality products but this is very commercial, especially with the ice cream and coffee corner
I was expecting something more traditional with people who can talk to you about the cheeses but this is only a gourmet shop that you can find everywhere
You will also find touristic prices
Disappointed I wouldn't recommend to stop there.

1  Thank Spider T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gl0ryb0y, Owner at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Iam sorry we were nothing special to you. All businesses try to be something special to all their customers. Most times we win. I am also alarmed that you found us commercial, especially our gelato and coffee area. Our gelato (not ice cream) is all produced onsite by our gelato ARTISAN. And if you had taken the time to peruse our flavors Iam sure you would see we are far from commercial, with all recipe's being thought up and produced in house. As to our coffee MERLO, again a small boutique roaster, certainely not found on every other corner like commercial brands.
It dissapoints me that you wouldn't recommend anyone to stop here.
Oh well I suppose I can't please everybody.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing