We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What great fun!”
Review of The Yellow Brick Guide - CLOSED

The Yellow Brick Guide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yellow Brick Guide is your own personal Hunter Valley tour led by award-winning Hunter Valley winemakers.In your own car. At your own pace.It uses GPS to weave together stories, music and directions that you hear over your car stereo as you drive. You get the insight and knowledge of a guided tour with the freedom and flexibility of doing your own thing. Plus a lot of laughs along the way. It includes 3 half-day driving tours of the Hunter Valley. Just $39 for the length of your stay. ANNOUNCEMENT - JANUARY 2013 The Yellow Brick Guide will be unavailable for some months while we do a major update of the tours. We are not able to take pre-bookings. Please check back in March for an update. Apologies for the inconvenience.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What great fun!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My sister and I rented the Yellow Brick Guide from the Hunter Valley Visitor Center (http://www.visitnsw.com/visitor-information-centres/hunter-valley-wine-country-tourism-visitors-centre), picked one route and had so much fun! It was well worth the money especially since it leads you to vineyards well off the main road. The Yellow Brick Guide is incredibly accurate at giving you fair warning on when to turn. Keep in mind that it is not a fully functioning GPS. If you deviate from the tour route it cannot help you find your way if you are lost, it only knows if you are on a tour route or not. So be sure to grab an area map at the visitor center before you begin your afternoon wine tasting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Burroughs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had time to do the three routes but didn't finish the last one. This is a great way to see the Hunter Valley at your own pace and not get lost. We would not have found some of these great wineries and lookouts without the Yellow Brick Guide. The narrator is quite amusing and the wine makers very informative.

Only downside was that some of the restaurants they suggested were not open early in the week and we found one cellar door the same. Most restaurants are not open Tuesday and Wednesday. Also because we didn't know where we were going we couldn't work out where we were going to stop and have lunch beforehand. By the last day though I had worked out to use the Wine and Dine Book (free at your hotel) along with the zone eg Lovedale to look up where the restaurants were and when they were open.

Other than that we had a great time and got to speak to a lot of interesting people along the way. I thoroughly recommend it and its very inexpensive too.

Great tip is to have breakfast before you start at the Info Centre Cafe which has great coffee and food and you start each route there in the car park anyway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yellow Brick road”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Really need to spend more than a day trip going to Hunter , keep promising myself this so that can use the full extent of the information contained in this fabulous guide . This time we had our full compliment , including grown up ( drinking) kids and they also loved the idea , the information and the humor...everyplace we stopped we enjoyed ....so that's 2 out of the 3 trips included done , excuse to come back for the last one . Puts a different aspect on a tour , and make u able to set your own pace , do your own thing . We left the route a couple of times , but when we came back it started just where we left , brilliant technology , expand it other popular places , means you can do your own thing and miss the tour-oids !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
262 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Informative and Entertaining Tour”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This being our fifth visit to the Hunter Valley, we were looking for something different to do. Discovered this guide on Trip Advisor and thought we would give it a try. Booked the guide online and picked it up when we arrived at the Visitors' Centre. There are three tours in all and we completed one each day, beginning with Mount View Vistas. Over the three days we discovered new roads, lookouts, wineries and restaurants. The commentary was great, as was the music, and it was great to hear from the wine makers as well. An entertaining and informative way to explore the Hunter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 29plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crows Nest, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hunter Valley tour ever!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Used the yellow brick road guide over the weekend and I absolutely loved it! I love how it brings you off the beaten track and tells you things only locals know. It was so interesting to hear info from local wine makers. If you are going to the hunter to do some wine tasting and want to take the day at your own pace then this is the guide for you. No Cons it was just brilliant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank farrells47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yellow Brick Guide also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing