We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect - THE place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fizzylici...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect - THE place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you're after the perfect getaway - above it all, yet within easy reach - Amelie's is definitely the best.
I searched them all online and then peeked in many of the others as we explored the region. There is none to compare!
As you walk into the living room the views take your breath away, and then you step into the bathroom, they are even more spectacular!
Soaking in the bath admiring the changing colours of dusk followed by watching the morning begin as you eat scrumptious breakfast from the balcony, listening to the birds gently tweeting as everything slowly awakens in the valley.
Every need is cared for, with many personal touches created by Sally.
You may never want to leave, yet the wineries are only a short 10 - 15 minutes drive away.
I cannot recommend Amelie's on Pokolbin Mountain highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasingpw
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Don't go past this little piece of perfection. It's the most cute and cosy cottage you'll find, with amazing views and a great location to do the Hunter Wineries.

We loved:
The whole cute romance of the cottage
Remote feeling (yet close location!)
Warm gas fire
Spa with a view
Self catering kitchen with breakfast hamper (bread, cereal, milk, juice, butter, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, jam)
Everything you can think of is there (binoculars for bird watching, folding chairs if you want to sit elsewhere) books, DVD's etc.
How clean it was.

The practicalities for those who want to know.
Kitchen has 2 gas burners, microwave, toaster, kettle and BBQ. There was 2 saucepans and 2 frying pans. Plenty of utensils and chopping boards, cleaning equipment etc. Olive oil, salt and pepper, vegemite, tomato sauce, tea and coffee (including plunger coffee), sugar are also supplied. A few herbs are growing outside. We took our own pre-cooked dinners, reheated and cosied up by the fire. We did local winery restaurants for lunch but many are open for dinner.

Bathroom had a hair dryer, robes, shampoo, conditioner, soaps, tissues, heated towel rail with plenty of towels.

Other things like first aid kits etc are also present.

Cottage is on side of hill pretty close to the top of the valley. The last part of the journey is a well maintained dirt road. The owners house is on the hill behind but you don't know it's there when you are at the cottage. The only disturbance was a welcome one from their little dog who liked the idea of our warm fire one evening when out on a stroll.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Hi Guys ,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. You are always welcome back,
Kindest regards Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenb56
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the vineyards, can't be faulted!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Everything & more...this place is very special. You feel like you are miles away from everything, but it only takes a few minutes to get to the vineyards. Absolutely amazing views! (we had the best weather) Sally has thought of everything to make your stay wonderful...great breakfast provisions, as well.
Visit the vineyards, buy your wine & cheese, then sit back & relax...it's the perfect spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linseyg78
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, romantic little place”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is such a lovely little cottage. Nestled at the top of a mountain you feel like you're the only people on earth, yet it's only a 5 - 10 minute drive down the mountain track to the vineyards.

The views are panoramic and spectacular, and the owner Sally has amazing attention to detail with lots of lovely little extras thrown in. Would definitely stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyandD...
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven Found.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My husband and I celebrated our third wedding anniversary at Amelies and couldn't have asked for a more magical, romantic hideaway. Tucked on the side of Pokolbin Mountain overlooking the valley you felt like you were a million miles away the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything you need including; scrabble, CDs, binoculars and even some DVDs. The breakfast hamper provided had so many delicious goodies. During our stay we had a fair bit of rain (which the valley so badly needed) but that only made it more romantic. Thanks Sally for a great time! Next stay will be for a week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WareySydn...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Amelies. The house is very cute and cosy, but with everything you could possibly need. The view from the room is very peaceful and it was just the break from the children and life in the city that we needed. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surrounds, and visits from the very friendly dogs
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG.... AMAZING, BEAUTIFUL... OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It is difficult to put into words and express how wonderfull this place is. My wife and I spent 4 nights at Amelies for our 20th Wedding anniversary. It was the most peaceful, relaxing and beautiful cotteage and surrounds we have had the pleasure of staying in... ever.
Sally has done a supurb job of making sure you have everything you need for your stay without ever seeing another sole unless you venture out to find someone. The accomodation was sensational, the cottage is well maintained and has the most amazing veiws of the Hunter Valley and has all the amentiies you will need to enjoy a relaxing romantic getaway. Although it was our first stay at this gem, it will not be our last, we will definately be back.... just got to find someone to look after the kids again.
Highly recomended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surrounds and the views
Liked least: I couldn't stay longer!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing