We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Went here for the October long weekend for a short get away. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartments. Iit was clean and the bed was great.
We had dinner in the restaurant and must say the food was average and bit up there for the price. I would expect a property of this calibre that there would be at least table cloths. There are so many nice places to eat in the Hunter Valley and no doubt the competition is fierce. It feels to me that they are cost cutting and dinner really felt like a cafe. Not what you would expect.
We also had breakfast and pretty much the normal like all hotels with the buffet breakfast.
I just feel they could lift the game.
We also had some afternoon drinks at the bar and I must say the service was ordinary. My wife ordered a couple of cocktails. Firstly they were unsure on how to make a couple of mud slides. Secondly they then forgot about us. 30 mins later we got our drinks after they finally remembered. Just a little bit disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozza36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    371
    234
    141
    85
See reviews for
283
314
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Cypress Lakes Resort is in a fantastic location for visting Hunter wineries - many of which are a short drive or even walk/cycle from the resort. The villa we stayed in was comfortable, however quite dated and the kitchenette was very small - basically just a basin and a microwave. Booked through weekenda, so villa is operated independently from the rest of the resort - means you can't use facilities such as the pool etc.

Helpful?
Thank LilSco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Better than I expected we had a great room the meal at the restaurant was exceptional I had kangaroo and the buffet breakfast was amazing the golf course was so picturesque and lots of fun we could not have been happier

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful private property with spacious, modern villa's. Bodega Restaurant on site was lovely with all staff friendly and very pleasant. Even got an upgrade! Great value for what we got........impressive!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
2 Thank SJV16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here as a group of 5 single ladies, beds were separated in each of the 3 rooms, which was great. Facilities were also of a high standard in the rooms and the area was quiet. Included breakfast was also top notch.

The problem we had was that some months before when booking the room, I contacted the Hotel about requesting a later checkout of noon. I was advised this was possible and to request check-in staff upon arrival of the request and they would put the room last on the cleaning list. I was also advised that after noon there was a charge of $30 per hour, which was absolutely fine. When I arrived the check-in staff also agreed it would be fine, however the cleaning roster isn't manifested until the day of check-out, so to ask the Duty Manager at breakfast of the request. I did this the following morning and was advised in a passive/aggressive manner that I was mistaken and not advised, and was refused the request. I advised the DM of the prior phone call and check-in advice and was again told I was wrong. The main reason for my stay was for my wedding make-up and hair trial for myself and bridesmaids, as well as to check out if the accommodation would be appropriate for wedding guests and family. I was unsure f the make-up lady would be finished by normal check-out time (11am) hence the request.
In the end the DM said we could only take until 11:30 to check-out (I'm not sure why noon would have been such a dilemma given the 30 min difference).
Then to top things off we were coincidentally finished by 11am and then had to wait 20 minutes to check out as 4 people were checking in - couldn't believe that as 11am was check out time and they were prioritising that over the check-out rooms after the comments I got from the DM. Very disappointing for such nice accommodation - really left an image given the usual high standards from Grand Mercure.
I can't say I'm going to recommend my family and guests to stay here for the wedding given the DM's manner.

Room Tip: Bring a car as the resort is spread out too far to walk from room to breakfast/reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platos3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
860 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Property: Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing