We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here as part of a last minute, mid-week Wotif deal and what we got for the price was brilliant. For less than $120 per night we stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom villa (we'd booked a 1 bedroom villa) complete with balcony and lovely views across the countryside. The resort was great; good location, 3 swimming pools, golf course and tennis court. If you visit in summer head straight to the Lagoon pool (unheated) as it's large and usually empty (or practically empty). The whole resort was very peaceful and perfect for a relaxing break.

If you are travelling with family/friends and intending to cook for yourself, take dishwasher tablets. The apartments have dishwashers but no tablets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer255315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your comments on our TA feed.
Great that you got a super deal to stay with us and were able to get a last minute getaway in for yourselves. We do try to upgrade where we can of course so I am glad you were one of the lucky ones. My favourite part of the resort is feeling isolated in your villa even through you are most likely one of 500 guests in the resort. Everyone does head for our heated pool and sometimes forget about the fact we have 3 pools so sneaking to another one is always a win.
Great to have you stay with us and hopefully again soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

One star for the pillows and location but that is where the praise stops.

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights on the 4th and 5th January 2014.
We booked it at a discounted rate.
We are so glad that we did not pay full price for the villa we stayed in due to the poor and run down facilities and the poor treatment we received as guests. This resort is certainly not 4 stars.
We were very unhappy with our stay and spoke with staff at reception on numerous occasions including when we checked out.

The things that were either broken, dirty, mouldy or missing at our villa:

1. Remote for the Toshiba TV was missing
2. Remote for the TV in the lounge (TCL) was missing so we were unable to use this appliance as it could not be operated manually.
3. The frying pan was missing from the kitchen
4. Three glasses were missing from the kitchen
5. The air conditioner in the twin bed room did not work at all
6. Did not want to use the dryer in our villa as it appears to be unstable
7. Both blue arm chairs in the lounger room were stained, dirty and worn
8. The sliding door entrance to the deck / verandah does not slide well and the lock is very difficult to use.
9. The dishwasher did not work properly and did not clean the dishes.
10. The number was missing from the front of the villa, it looks like it had been ripped off the wall.
11. Dirty linen was left on the front door step when we checked in after 2pm.
12. The verandah was dirty and mouldy, not fit for use.
13. The main air flap of the air conditioner in the main bedroom does not close when the unit is turned off

The customer service at the resort has much to be desired as when things are reported nothing happens which is very frustrating and annoying.
I feel for the front line staff as they must have to deal with unhappy customers on a regular basis. This is not fair on them as they do not have a lot of control over the maintenance and upkeep of the facilities yet customers will take their frustrations out on them.

We were quite angry and upset with the treatment we have received, especially after arranging to meet with management when we checked out at 9am (when we arrived to speak with the manager we were informed that she had someone with her and she was not available to speak with). We were assured that management would call us before the close of business however we received no contact until we sent an email of complaint directly to management which was responded to in not 1, not 2 or 3 but 4 working days.

Do yourself a favour, do not stay at this particular hotel. We have stayed at other Oaks resorts and or hotels and have always had a great time and the service had always been wonderful. Just this rotten apple should be avoided.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimKoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your comments on our feed.
We have discussed this directly with this guest and I believe we had come to a suitable response and agreement. As noted there was many things to look into once I had returned to the office and I have apologised for the miss communication.
Thank you again.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 3 days over the christmas NYE break and came to the following conclusions:
Negatives
1. The kitchen was not well equipped with salad bowls and other utensils.
2. Had been expecting to use a BBQ but didn't realise that the nearest BBQ was at hunter valley gardens.
3. When we checked in, tea towels were missing and some other things like soaps - which is a function of under estimating the housing keeping. Staff at reception agreed to to send someone around which mean they knocked at our door at 930 pm.
4. I was surprised to find that the bar at the large main pool was not staffed during this summer peak time. Easy money in my book.
5. This as the 4th time in the last 4 yrs we had stayed at the resort with the previous 3 yrs staying in a private villa. So we were a little disappointing this time.
6. The oven and cook top took a long time to cook up dinner.

Positives
1. All the rooms have very good air con
2. The size of the living room and other rooms very large
3. Breakfast was reasonable at the reception. I gave it a 3.0 out of 5.0, my wife 3.5 out of 5.0 largely due to the specially made omelette.
4. Golf course in good shape.
5. We got an hour check in, which was lucky compared to some of our friends in the 2 beds who had still had to wait up to 530 to get in. While the staff offered some drinks at the bar, they felt disappointed that they were up front at the start. It meant they missing seeing other parts of the hunter valley.
6. If you have a 2 yr old bring a wide kids gate for stop them from running up and down the stairs

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dave_Fitzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your comments on our feed.
We have had some feedback over Christmas regarding salad bowls; we have never had them in the past but are adding them to our kitchens. BBQ’s is an odd one as it is something we have never had and not something we look to do in the future. We like to encourage our guests to dine in our restaurant of course. I apologise your items were missing in your room I am glad they were responded to. The time, not sure what time it was requested but yes if it was earlier in the day 9.30 is late.
We operated pool drinks from our bar over summer. It might be something we look at for next year if the feedback is consistent. You can ask for a child gate for the stairs, we do have a couple on site for younger children that need them.
Would love to see you return next year certainly things for us to improve on but nothing insurmountable. I appreciate your comments and clear information it makes things easy to address with the team.
Thank you again.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great location for wine tasting. We weren't expecting a lot based on the bad reviews, but we thought the place was brilliant! Our room was terrific - big kitchen with more than enough homeware to comfortably self cater. The staff were just lovely and very helpful, especially those in the restaurant. Everything was clean and comfortable and big.

The pools were terrific, although it was a little disappointing that the lagoon pool is closed during summer - but the other pools were lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexaandjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your comments. It is always nice to see someone that reads the reviews and comes away knowing that we are improving and listening to our guests and feedback.
We really appreciate your comments on the staff. I know they are very proud of the work they do and getting great feedback publically is a real buzz. Thank you
We have opened our lagoon pool now and I apologise it was closed during your trip. We do have to improve our facilities so this does mean sometimes that we take things offline to do that. Our resort pool has also just received some new furnishings and a deck change so it looks great.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here in 2005 - back then the place was great. Was a proper 5 start hotel. Now it is terrible. I feel for some of the staff there that are trying hard. I found out that it is now owed by the Oaks hotels. I used to own an apartment that was run by the Oaks and to say that my experience with them was a shambles is an under statement.

Pool area - full of mould, spiders and dirty glasses. there is not a staff member in sight to clean away the used glasses etc.

rooms - Old, ripped couches, bathroom has not been touch sine 2005.

Service - Not bad. they just need some help!

It was obvious to the 3 of us that they have cost cut to the point that it should not be called a hotel.

I never usually write comments on here but I don't want people to make the same mistake as us. Save your money. the crown plaza down the road is 1000% better.

Room Tip: Don't go - the only way to pick the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting on our TA feed. There seems like a little bit of bad blood here that I cannot and do not have any information on. I certainly will no pass judgment here or make comments.
I have mentioned the pool area a number of times in my responses and with over 5000 people here during that one week period it does not surprise me that a few have commented from the same period of stay. We have improved this venue out of sight and our new lounges arrived 30th January and look great.
Room refurbishments are underway with owners in our pool. I cannot comment on if you were staying with us or privately. This will really lift our room presentation and with the support from our villa owners will improve the standard of our product.
Thank you again.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I visited for a two night stay with our two year old. Clean, modern accommodation. Fully equipped kitchen. Impressed by the friendly service - staff remembered us on first name basis. Great location for daytrips, many landmarks within a few minutes' drive.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank three-oh-three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your comments on our TA feed. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and commented on our staff in particular. They do a fantastic job and like to ensure everyone walks away having a great experience. Hope to see you in the hunter again soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed two nights in a villa that had been upgraded for us at no extra charge: so comfortable!! Being able to decide whether to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the bush view watching the birds, or enjoy the lounge area was our most important decision. The resort pool was heated and refreshing and the shower massage head really did the trick after a day of wandering through vineyards and enjoying the local Pokolbin shops. Highly recommend this getaway - wish we'd had our two grandsons with us as they would have enjoyed everything the resort has to offer. Adored the King bed experience!!! And although the villas were fully booked, we never heard other families - so quiet and peaceful. The staff were always friendly and helpful - thank you. Would have loved to stay longer!!!

Room Tip: I can't see that you would have any problem - all the villas have everything you could want and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback.
Tough call – glass of wine on the balcony or feet up on the coffee table? Either way sounds like you had a fabulous stay.
One of the benefits of our resort style is you do forget we have 500 people here as you stay in your own little unit enjoying your own company. Allows you to relax.
Thank you for your note of the staff also, they are a great team and are very proud when they get a mention on TA.
Looking forward to having you back at the resort again soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
907 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £100 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing