We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small vacation on vacation in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small vacation on vacation in Sydney”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We went for a short vacation with our good friends from Sydney. We were very happy to see the Hunter Valley, having heard about it from our friends. We were very happy to go and to go to the resort at Cypress Lake. We were following a big gathering from the weekend. We arrived and dirty linen and garbage were outside the door, which was picked up at a later time. My friend found a sheet full of urine in one of her drawer, not to good!!! The villa needs upgrade and a little cleaning especially in the bathroom. The air-conditioning did not work in our bedroom which made the stay a little uncomfortable. The kitchen appliance needs to be replace the toaster was in a very bad state. Some of the room smell of humidity. The hot tub at the pool was not working. And to finish I am certain the resort was not full nevertheless we were given a villa facing the road, when there is beautiful view on the golf course. I must say that the golf course was very nice and the restaurant was very pleasant, and so as the people at the front desk.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jocelyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for posting on our TA page. Great to hear that our staff where friendly and helpful. I was however disappointed to hear that you had these issue in your villa and hoped that our team assisted you with the issue. I was wondering if you would be so kind as to contact me directly with a room number so I may replace some of the items you mentioned if it has not already been discussed with reception. I would really appreciate the opportunity to improve our villa presentation and standard for future stays.
Thank you for taking the time to post.
Julie Pettit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    369
    233
    141
    85
See reviews for
277
311
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I returned today from Cypress Lakes after a romantic weekend away. After reading a few negative reviews we thought, "What are we in for"? I can say every aspect of our stay was excellent and cant fault a thing. The spa villa with views to die for was picturesque and peaceful. Every morning I went for a jog around the property to be greeted outside our room by a group of Kangaroos, The pool was heated and lying on our sun lounges, cocktails in hand looking out over the golf course was a memory I will cherish. We ordered the "Tomahawk" steak for two in the restaurant which was the best steak I personally have ever had. The bartender/Waiter was knowledgable, friendly and genuine. I have told everyone at home how wonderful this place is and cant wait to get back there.!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic getaway, the spa villa is the way to go. Private, peaceful, sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for posting on our TA page. Great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I think we need to pay these kangaroos they have great timing for our guests! Many guests comment on our pool deck view. Certainly not a boring one and fits in with the hunter valley home. Looking forward to having you back to enjoy a lovely steak in our restaurant too.
Julie Pettit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for a wedding nearby.

The rooms here are nice with each having an ensuite and large tv which was nice.

Only odd things were only two pillows on a king size bed and the placement of the tv in the lounge area downstairs.

The general place needs some improvements and is poorly signed but overall was pretty good

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank makybes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback. I am pleased to see you enjoyed our villa’s. I have had no feedback about the TV location previously however, each villa is slightly different as the layouts dictate where the TV can sit. However, when the refurbishments are done the TV are looking to be wall mounted in some cases that might correct this. Signage has just been updated so hopefully this improves this area for you too. Thank you for your note.
Looking forward to seeing you in the hunter again perhaps you can let me know if these have improved directly when you next visit.
Julie Pettit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A lovely resort set in beautiful gardens and golf course. On the side of a hill with a great view.
The daily breakfast was excellent with a great selection. We booked for a concert in the area and the resort was quiet even though it was quite full. It is very convenient to all the attractions of the Hunter Valley with vineyards all around and Golden Door Spa joining the complex. We booked a 1 Bedroom Villa and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom Villa. The kitchen was well equipped with every thing you could need. The beds were a little hard but they were brand new. The room was very clean and well maintained.
Would defiantly stay there again. Thanks for a Great Weekend Stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper level Room to take advantage of the stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hortonmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for posting on our TA page. I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay. It has been some very busy periods but as you say our layout allows you to hide away and enjoy your experience if you wish. Looking forward to having you return.
Julie Pettit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Booked Cypress Lakes about 6 months ago for a girls weekend away. The day before arrival my girlfriend alerted me to the TA reviews - must say I felt flat on reading them BUT to my absolute delight we all had a fabulous weekend and couldn't fault our 3 bedroom villa. Apart from the room being a bit tired looking it was perfect for 7 mums to stay in with plenty of room. The full buffet breakfast was 10/10. The rate worked out at $80 each per night with a buffet breakfast - that was exceptional value felt by all of us. The location was great and the view was lovely. As I had read there was no towel service we just mentioned it on check-in that we would like 7 new towels each morning and yes housekeeping delivered them so no issues. The fact our beds weren't made didn't matter as we were out all day in the vineyards anyway. We had such a great weekend that we are going to make it an annual trip and Yes we will be booking Cypress Lakes again. Just next time we will need Two 3 bedroom villas as more of our friends want to come! Loved the pay TV as we could have the music channels playing in the background. We even had the bonus of hearing the John Farnham/Lionel Ritchie concert from Tempus Two from our villa while we sipped bubbles and ate nibblies after a fantastic day touring the vineyards with James' Tours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawesFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for posting on our trip advisor page. I was delighted to see that you had a fantastic time. It sounds like you all enjoyed your stay and really took in what the valley has to offer. I am always pleased to hear when guests enjoy their rooms and views really highlighting that you can be in a large resort and still feel like you have your own private getaway.
We hope to see you in the valley again soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Property: Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing