We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in a 3 bedroom villa on the property as part of a large group booking. Our villa had 2 rooms with 2 single beds (share bathroom) and one room with a queen bed and ensuite.

Whilst the accomodations was lovely I had a few gripes.

1. Lack of towels. Why would you only put 3 towels in a bathroom that is mean to have 4 people share. There was also only 2 face washers and one hand towel. I heard there was a similar problem in one of the other villas - but they had extra towels in their ensuite...? Strange.
2. The single bed in my room was like really hard. However, I switched rooms on the final night of my stay to another single bed and it was fine. It felt like the first one had no padding on top.

However, the villa itself was lovely. The surroundings are gorgous. If you are staying at the resort and need to be in the convention area continuously, ask for a villa close by, within walking distance as the first one I stayed at was a very long walk away. Ended up driving backwards and forwards constantly.

Breakfast was included and was quite good. Standard buffet style. Eggs were warm which was good. i always find eggs buffet style to always be luke warm.

All up, I would stay again, but ensure that I get more towels, a comfy bed and a villa close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay, enjoying our breakfast and surroundings. Seems odd about your bed in your villa, the single beds are all the same with the mattress having an attached topper. However, maybe one was older than the other. We can look at that for a replacement. The railing does only fit the three towels however we normally roll up the additional towel in the bathroom selves and have spare in the ensuite too. Would love to have you back to the hunter and hope to see you soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Picked up a bargain on wotif to stay at this resort and what a lovely surprise it was to have a two storey, two bedroom, two bathroom, three TV villa overlooking the 10th hole of the spectacular golf course. If paying full price you might be more critical when there's no washing machine or not the right cooking implement in the kitchen but for our budget price we were very impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for posting some feedback on our TA page. Delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay. We have some washing machines on order however, given the number we need to fit out the units it will not be straight away but hope to have them in the coming months. Kitchen equipment has just been updated also and you can ask for additional items at reception if you need anything. Hope to see you soon and thank you again for posting.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely accommodation but sadly in need of up-dating and carpets cleaned. Very expensive for shoddy apartments. Beautiful grounds. Only allowed 30 mins. free WiFi each day (in the foyer), not working in rooms & then pay a fee. We really had expected more for what we paid.

Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends and the room was large, easy to find and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the pool was nice and clean, however unfortunately did not offer pool service. Breakfast also provided a good selection of food. I would definitely stay here again.

Thank scampy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We went for a short vacation with our good friends from Sydney. We were very happy to see the Hunter Valley, having heard about it from our friends. We were very happy to go and to go to the resort at Cypress Lake. We were following a big gathering from the weekend. We arrived and dirty linen and garbage were outside the door, which was picked up at a later time. My friend found a sheet full of urine in one of her drawer, not to good!!! The villa needs upgrade and a little cleaning especially in the bathroom. The air-conditioning did not work in our bedroom which made the stay a little uncomfortable. The kitchen appliance needs to be replace the toaster was in a very bad state. Some of the room smell of humidity. The hot tub at the pool was not working. And to finish I am certain the resort was not full nevertheless we were given a villa facing the road, when there is beautiful view on the golf course. I must say that the golf course was very nice and the restaurant was very pleasant, and so as the people at the front desk.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Jocelyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for posting on our TA page. Great to hear that our staff where friendly and helpful. I was however disappointed to hear that you had these issue in your villa and hoped that our team assisted you with the issue. I was wondering if you would be so kind as to contact me directly with a room number so I may replace some of the items you mentioned if it has not already been discussed with reception. I would really appreciate the opportunity to improve our villa presentation and standard for future stays.
Thank you for taking the time to post.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I returned today from Cypress Lakes after a romantic weekend away. After reading a few negative reviews we thought, "What are we in for"? I can say every aspect of our stay was excellent and cant fault a thing. The spa villa with views to die for was picturesque and peaceful. Every morning I went for a jog around the property to be greeted outside our room by a group of Kangaroos, The pool was heated and lying on our sun lounges, cocktails in hand looking out over the golf course was a memory I will cherish. We ordered the "Tomahawk" steak for two in the restaurant which was the best steak I personally have ever had. The bartender/Waiter was knowledgable, friendly and genuine. I have told everyone at home how wonderful this place is and cant wait to get back there.!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic getaway, the spa villa is the way to go. Private, peaceful, sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for posting on our TA page. Great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I think we need to pay these kangaroos they have great timing for our guests! Many guests comment on our pool deck view. Certainly not a boring one and fits in with the hunter valley home. Looking forward to having you back to enjoy a lovely steak in our restaurant too.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for a wedding nearby.

The rooms here are nice with each having an ensuite and large tv which was nice.

Only odd things were only two pillows on a king size bed and the placement of the tv in the lounge area downstairs.

The general place needs some improvements and is poorly signed but overall was pretty good

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank makybes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for posting your feedback. I am pleased to see you enjoyed our villa’s. I have had no feedback about the TV location previously however, each villa is slightly different as the layouts dictate where the TV can sit. However, when the refurbishments are done the TV are looking to be wall mounted in some cases that might correct this. Signage has just been updated so hopefully this improves this area for you too. Thank you for your note.
Looking forward to seeing you in the hunter again perhaps you can let me know if these have improved directly when you next visit.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £102 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing