We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Elfin Hill(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hermitage Lodge(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tonic Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,337)
Filter reviews
1,337 results
Traveller rating
358
465
268
154
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
465
268
154
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebedroom villabodega restaurantplaying golfthree bedroomthe golden door sparesort facilitiescourtesy busbuffet breakfastgirls weekendgreat resortrecommend this resortfull kitchentennis courtsself containedlong weekendgroup of friends
Filter
Updating list...
865 - 870 of 1,337 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary, I found it hard to pick accommodation as there is so much to choose from, but we couldn't be happier with our choice.

The location is ideal, and the resort grounds are beautiful. Lucky I took up joggers because having a morning run around the resort, through the golf course etc is stunning!

Our room was comfortable, the only complaints were afew broken things throughout the room (crack in the shower and broken door stop) and only two pillows were set on the bed but that is the only complaints I have.

We met so many incredible staff, with most of them going out of their way to make our stay easier and more enjoyable. One staff member in particular was Dale who works in the resorts restaurant "Bodega". He went to every possible measure to ensure we were looked after and enjoying our meal, giving us recommendations and stopping to chat with us, we really appreciated everything Dale did and couldn't recommend the restaurant more.

I think if you're looking for accommodation in the Hunter, go with Cypress Lakes, the reviews do leave you alittle apprehensive but if you give them a chance you won't be disappointed. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahdouglas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting your feedback regarding your stay. It is pleasing to see you had a fabulous stay. Dale was very excited when your posting went up on Trip advisor. It is always inspirational to the staff to get the acknowledgement they deserve. Thank you and we hope to see you in the hunter again soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a villa for group of 4- rooms are quite small lack of towels only one chair on deck that is so dated i was not even sure it was safe to sit there. Maintenance workers appear around the place so they must be doing them up but not the villa we had. It is far from the cypress of old. Service from staff was average at best could has stayed at local caravan park and got same amenities and service but for a third of price. Realised my mistake when out and about and even the locals give you a look when you tell them where you are staying. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajntom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting your feedback regarding your stay. I was quite disappointed to hear your feedback and hope that you would be so kind as to contact me directly so I can discuss this with you. I hope to get some additional information from you. Thanking you in advance.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights and it was just okay. The unit layout was good -townhouse style with a great room on the ground floor and two bedrooms en suite on the upper level. Upon arrival we wanted to enjoy a glass of wine on the deck, but there was only one chair and it was broken! We called and had three chairs within minutes. The half bath on the ground floor had a toilet and a wash basin. There was a bar of soap there but no towels and not even a towel rack! How dumb is that? The unit just seemed a bit seedy and could most definitely use an upgrade. It was clean, the beds comfortable. The grounds of the property and golf course are in a beautiful setting. The buffet breakfast was good. Overall all we feel it was not good value for the money and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting on our TA feed. I was disappointed to here that you thought the unit fell short of your expectations. We are working with our villa owners currently to updated and review all our villa conditions. This feedback is very important to us in improving our product for our clients and showing our villa owners the perception in the market place that needs to be corrected. Thank you again and I trust on your next visit you will see the improvements your comments have made.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent two nights at Cypress Lakes. The location is great, giving the opportunity to visit many wineries in the immediate vicinity.

I have stayed at Cypress Lakes twice before, but long before it was taken over and updated. The room we had was large and had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. i must admit that the "chalets' seemed a bit worn, particularly the balconies, but everything else was great. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day.

Room Tip: We were accommodated quite a ways up the hill, but given that we were using the resort as a base to travel around the area it didn't matter to us if we were a long way from reception. If you wanted to be near the pool or the golf course you might want to get a room closer to reception.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gat149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting on our TA feed. Delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We are a great central location for touring the valley. Hope to see you back the hunter again soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in a 3 bedroom villa on the property as part of a large group booking. Our villa had 2 rooms with 2 single beds (share bathroom) and one room with a queen bed and ensuite.

Whilst the accomodations was lovely I had a few gripes.

1. Lack of towels. Why would you only put 3 towels in a bathroom that is mean to have 4 people share. There was also only 2 face washers and one hand towel. I heard there was a similar problem in one of the other villas - but they had extra towels in their ensuite...? Strange.
2. The single bed in my room was like really hard. However, I switched rooms on the final night of my stay to another single bed and it was fine. It felt like the first one had no padding on top.

However, the villa itself was lovely. The surroundings are gorgous. If you are staying at the resort and need to be in the convention area continuously, ask for a villa close by, within walking distance as the first one I stayed at was a very long walk away. Ended up driving backwards and forwards constantly.

Breakfast was included and was quite good. Standard buffet style. Eggs were warm which was good. i always find eggs buffet style to always be luke warm.

All up, I would stay again, but ensure that I get more towels, a comfy bed and a villa close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay, enjoying our breakfast and surroundings. Seems odd about your bed in your villa, the single beds are all the same with the mattress having an attached topper. However, maybe one was older than the other. We can look at that for a replacement. The railing does only fit the three towels however we normally roll up the additional towel in the bathroom selves and have spare in the ensuite too. Would love to have you back to the hunter and hope to see you soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews