We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Grange on Hermitage(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Lodge(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tonic Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,339)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveller rating
358
465
269
155
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
465
269
155
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebedroom villabodega restaurantplaying golfthree bedroomthe golden door sparesort facilitiescourtesy busbuffet breakfastgirls weekendgreat resortrecommend this resortfull kitchentennis courtsself containedlong weekendgroup of friends
Filter
Updating list...
864 - 869 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is OK - you'll have a reasonably comfortable stay here, and the views from some rooms are nice. But you need to know that absolutely every expense has been spared for your enjoyment.

The bare minimum is provided at every corner, and it all feels a bit like a school excursion. Don't get me started on the staff - they're not exactly rude, but they definitely make you feel like every interaction with guests has been a minor annoyance at least.

If you go in with expectations of a comfortable motel experience, at 5 star hotel prices, you won't be disappointed.

Thank stephen_lead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a golf resort and the rooms are located in villas around the vast resort.
We did not like at all that at check in, an amount "for eventual expenses" was debited on our credit card and would only be credited about 10 days after check out. Our rooms and dinners were already paid in full in advance. So this resort considers it's guests as potential crooks that would empty their minibars and go away without paying. There might be people who do that but one must not treat all it's customers as potential thieves. We were EXTREMELY upset.
The villas were fine and so was the food and breakfast. However, management, please instruct your staff not to take away the plates before guests actually have finished their breakfast !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting on our TA feed. I am pleased you had an excellent stay. I am sorry that you felt we treated you poorly. We do take a credit card preauthorization on all our villa’s for security purposes and as we don’t own the unit’s ourselves we need to protect each individual owner. I would love to say that we never have any issues with clients but most hotels have had something happen that has started this policy across a majority of hotel chains to cover themselves.

I will note to the team also about their eagerness to clean up at breakfast. Thank you for pointing this out.

I am glad these two small things still meant you had a delightful stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great resort great golf course hopeless service in their restaurant. Staff do their very best in impossible circumstances but the catering manager seems to think that saving a few dollars on wages for wait staff is more important than providing even a passable level of service. If you stay here eat somewhere else - there are plenty of other options in the region.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, however, disappointed that you restaurant experience was poor. As you may have seen from the review prior to yours this is very rare and certainly not acceptable. Our manager was disappointed to hear they had fell short of your expectations and have ensured that all staff levels suit the business levels coming into the restaurant.
Thank you again for your feedback it is the only way we can improve.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary, I found it hard to pick accommodation as there is so much to choose from, but we couldn't be happier with our choice.

The location is ideal, and the resort grounds are beautiful. Lucky I took up joggers because having a morning run around the resort, through the golf course etc is stunning!

Our room was comfortable, the only complaints were afew broken things throughout the room (crack in the shower and broken door stop) and only two pillows were set on the bed but that is the only complaints I have.

We met so many incredible staff, with most of them going out of their way to make our stay easier and more enjoyable. One staff member in particular was Dale who works in the resorts restaurant "Bodega". He went to every possible measure to ensure we were looked after and enjoying our meal, giving us recommendations and stopping to chat with us, we really appreciated everything Dale did and couldn't recommend the restaurant more.

I think if you're looking for accommodation in the Hunter, go with Cypress Lakes, the reviews do leave you alittle apprehensive but if you give them a chance you won't be disappointed. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahdouglas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting your feedback regarding your stay. It is pleasing to see you had a fabulous stay. Dale was very excited when your posting went up on Trip advisor. It is always inspirational to the staff to get the acknowledgement they deserve. Thank you and we hope to see you in the hunter again soon.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a villa for group of 4- rooms are quite small lack of towels only one chair on deck that is so dated i was not even sure it was safe to sit there. Maintenance workers appear around the place so they must be doing them up but not the villa we had. It is far from the cypress of old. Service from staff was average at best could has stayed at local caravan park and got same amenities and service but for a third of price. Realised my mistake when out and about and even the locals give you a look when you tell them where you are staying. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajntom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting your feedback regarding your stay. I was quite disappointed to hear your feedback and hope that you would be so kind as to contact me directly so I can discuss this with you. I hope to get some additional information from you. Thanking you in advance.
Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews