We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elfin Hill(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Lodge(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tonic Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
358
465
269
154
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
465
269
154
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebedroom villabodega restaurantplaying golfthree bedroomthe golden door sparesort facilitiescourtesy busbuffet breakfastgirls weekendgreat resortrecommend this resortfull kitchentennis courtsself containedlong weekendgroup of friends
Filter
Updating list...
860 - 865 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the resort with my fiancee, we stayed in room 795 which is i believe furthest away from the reception, however the view from the room was amazing, we have kangaroos and a fox infront of the balcony. The resort itself was clean and in a great location to visit the cellar doors.
After reading previous reviews i cant see how people can complain ,as the price for the stay is cheap . The rooms are abit dated but still clean and have everything you need.
The golf course is one of the best i have played, teeing off over vineyards is ab experience in its self.
Overall for the price, the resort it well worth a visit and we will be back to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doddler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Cypress lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the resort to be great value for money.
I am so pleased that you had the chance to experience what we see every day in the resort the abundance of native Australian animals and bird life. Our natural bush settling is what make the resort a great place to stay in the Hunter Valley

Look forward to welcoming you back to the resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Most of the comments below are pretty spot on. No doubt when it was built, the resort was considered to be reasonably high standard but in the intervening period it looks like very little has been spent on the resort. The perfect contrast is The Vintage which was admittedly built years later but has been kept in much better nick. Didn't play the golf course (only stayed one night) so I can't comment on its quality.

1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have visited cypress lakes before and had a great time. Unfortunately - not sure what has happened - the service has declined considerably. The heated pool was not heated and i had to talk to 4 people before it was even looked at - i was even told at one stage that it was due to the weather!. Breakfast for 100 was catered for by 2 wait staff and with the best intention in the world could not keep up. Stuff happens, but unfortunately the art of customer service has totally disappeared. I used to recommend this place - will not do so anymore unfortunately.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poshtravekler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting on our TA feed and returning to Cypress Lakes Resort. I was too disappointed to read about your experience. I would love to discuss this with you personally if you would be able to.

Looking forward to speaking with you.

Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is OK - you'll have a reasonably comfortable stay here, and the views from some rooms are nice. But you need to know that absolutely every expense has been spared for your enjoyment.

The bare minimum is provided at every corner, and it all feels a bit like a school excursion. Don't get me started on the staff - they're not exactly rude, but they definitely make you feel like every interaction with guests has been a minor annoyance at least.

If you go in with expectations of a comfortable motel experience, at 5 star hotel prices, you won't be disappointed.

Thank stephen_lead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a golf resort and the rooms are located in villas around the vast resort.
We did not like at all that at check in, an amount "for eventual expenses" was debited on our credit card and would only be credited about 10 days after check out. Our rooms and dinners were already paid in full in advance. So this resort considers it's guests as potential crooks that would empty their minibars and go away without paying. There might be people who do that but one must not treat all it's customers as potential thieves. We were EXTREMELY upset.
The villas were fine and so was the food and breakfast. However, management, please instruct your staff not to take away the plates before guests actually have finished their breakfast !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your posting on our TA feed. I am pleased you had an excellent stay. I am sorry that you felt we treated you poorly. We do take a credit card preauthorization on all our villa’s for security purposes and as we don’t own the unit’s ourselves we need to protect each individual owner. I would love to say that we never have any issues with clients but most hotels have had something happen that has started this policy across a majority of hotel chains to cover themselves.

I will note to the team also about their eagerness to clean up at breakfast. Thank you for pointing this out.

I am glad these two small things still meant you had a delightful stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Julie Pettit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews