We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting tired but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Getting tired but good value”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Although this property is a little tired now and requires some TLC (our fridge door was badly dented all over the door) it does represent good value for money .We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean and quiet and very cosy with a gas log fire which actually worked..
The golf course which the apartments are on is a first class course with well manicured gardens and lawns. A serene place to either stay in and enjoy the food and wine on offer at close proximity or near a good selection of restaurants, most of which unfortunately close on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights.. A perfect golfers resort if your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.

I appreciate you comments on the condition of the resort as we use all feedback good or bad to be able to improve on our product and service we provide.

We are current looking at a long term plan to refurbish the Villas and to give them a more modern look and feel.

Our golf course is look fantastic and improving more and more each day our Golf Superintendent is doing a great job at maintain the course.

Many Thanks for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    371
    234
    141
    85
See reviews for
283
314
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa for several nights. On entering there is a stairwell leading to the first floor where there was a lounge, tiny kitchenette, separate king size bedroom, and large bathroom. The villa opened out onto its own verandah where it was lovely to sit with a glass of wine at sunset. However is you have problems with stairs this is not the accommodation for you. Likewise, as I'd booked a villa with kitchen, the tiny sink and microwave was all that was there, however I think we'd been upgraded to a spa room which don't have full kitchen facilities. It didn't worry us for the time we were there but if you need a kitchen doublecheck when you book that you've got the right room type. The pool areas are delightful and if you're a golfer you'd be in seventh heaven. However it's quite a hike from the villas to the main reception area but only a phone call away is the complimentary shuttle if you don't feel like a long walk. Food was surprisingly, good and moderately priced, however drinks were quite pricey. Staff couldn't be faulted. All were pleasant and quick to action anything that was asked of them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughingKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feed back and comment on your recent stay at Cypress lakes Resort.

The resort 1 bedroom Villas only have kitchenettes our two bedroom Villas that have a full kitchen with cooking facilities. When you next stay at the resort please don’t hesitate to request a ground floor 1 bedroom unit as I am sure you will be very happy with these units however as you can appreciate they are subject to availability at time of booking.
We also have one level two bedrooms available these Villas have much larger balcony’s to enjoy that glass of wine from.

Thank you for your positive feedback about the team at Cypress lakes Resort it was great to read that they did meet your expectations.

When you are planning you next stay with us please don’t hesitate to contact our Front Office Manger who will be only to happy to assist your with any special request.

Many thanks for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recently stayed at Cypress Lakes principally due to its convenient location and spacious accommodation - we had a 3 bedroom villa. I was there with my wife, friend and his two children.

With the children, we thought that the swimming pool would be a good attraction but that was a little disappointing. One of pools were closed whereas the other was pretty cold. Plus the little spa pool was far from hot. Recalling my recent holiday in Florida where there were staff around the pool to keep it tidy and bring drinks/snacks, the staff were noticeable by their absence.

However, Cypress Lakes is in a good location and the accommodation is good. I would definitely recommend it. But, please sort out the pool area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the resort.
The resort uses all feedback good or not so good to improve on our product and service we provide at the resort.
Since your stay at the resort we have taken the steps to improve the heating of the main swimming pool and as result we have decided to replace the heaters on this pool, this work will commence very shortly. We are also looking at what options we have to increase the heat on the outdoor spa or to reduce the heat loss.
Your comment about the lack of staff around the pool and have been noted and I will be raising this issue with our food and beverage team.
Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 days here and have enjoyed fabulous food and fantastic service. The staff here could not have been more helpful or friendly. Highly recommend Cypress Lakes

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed Thursday to Saturday (three nights) in a superb 2 bedroom villa nestled in this beautiful bushland setting Resort in the Hunter Valley. Rooms were absolutely top class. Villas had full kitchen.Thursday was blissful - weather superb and quiet and starry at night. Just beautiful - we were delighted. Friday and Saturday nights were a nightmare - different groups of loudly drunken patrons in adjoining units would not 'finish for the night.' They kept their vineyard crawl going long after midnight as they sampled their wines. Reception staff totally non-responsive to situation. We may go back on a weekday for the setting, panorama and the great accommodation. - but NEVER again over a weekend ... for which I might add there is an absolutely massive price hike on Friday and Saturday nights which we were not pre-warned about!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your recent experiences at Cypress lakes resort.

I was disappointed to read your comments that the staff were not able to address the noise issues you raised during your stay this is not acceptable. Every effort is made to ensure that noise in the resort is kept to minimum in particular after hours, I apologise that we did not achieve this during your stay. I will be raising your comments with our night staff to ensure that this doesn’t occur again.

On a positive not it was great to read that you found the 2 bedroom Villas superb and very spacious. Our natural bush setting is what sets us apart from all other accommodation in the Hunter Valley.

We do appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pokolbin hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the resort with my fiancee, we stayed in room 795 which is i believe furthest away from the reception, however the view from the room was amazing, we have kangaroos and a fox infront of the balcony. The resort itself was clean and in a great location to visit the cellar doors.
After reading previous reviews i cant see how people can complain ,as the price for the stay is cheap . The rooms are abit dated but still clean and have everything you need.
The golf course is one of the best i have played, teeing off over vineyards is ab experience in its self.
Overall for the price, the resort it well worth a visit and we will be back to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doddler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Cypress lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the resort to be great value for money.
I am so pleased that you had the chance to experience what we see every day in the resort the abundance of native Australian animals and bird life. Our natural bush settling is what make the resort a great place to stay in the Hunter Valley

Look forward to welcoming you back to the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Most of the comments below are pretty spot on. No doubt when it was built, the resort was considered to be reasonably high standard but in the intervening period it looks like very little has been spent on the resort. The perfect contrast is The Vintage which was admittedly built years later but has been kept in much better nick. Didn't play the golf course (only stayed one night) so I can't comment on its quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
860 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Property: Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing