We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty and enjoyable”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We came to cypress lakes in four villas with my whole extended family. Scenery was lovely, the villas roomy and well stocked. Close to all our favourite wineries. Everything seemed to go smoothly and distance between villas was.manageable. Very enjoyable. We would come back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.

We are very pleased that you had a great stay with your extended family in our Villas.

I hope you will take the opportunity to visit the Hunter Valley again and choose to stay at Cypress Lakes Resort.

Look forward to welcoming back to the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    359
    233
    137
    85
See reviews for
265
304
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in room 642 Villa 1bdr Merlot @ Cypress Lakes Resort and we were very disappointed with our stay. What was supposed to be a romantic weekend away from our busy schedules was a disaster. One night after a lovely dinner we arrived home to have a spa, with a nice glass of wine. Only half way through filling the bath we had our neighbours banging on our door yelling to stop filling the bath as it was flooding their appartment, they then had to be evacuated. We had noticed under our spa a large piece of PVC tube was missing. The next morning we were woken up very early by a maintenance man to come through our appartment, while our personal belongings were out, to fix the spa, which he couldnt anyway. We asked the owner if we could be relocated and were advised there was nothing he could do.

We were extremely unhappy as the ONLY reason we booked this room was for the spa, for a lovely romantic weekend away from our busy schedules. Not only were we inconvenienced, disappointed and let down, we shouldn’t had to of suffered due to an issue which wasn’t our fault. It was disappointing what was advertised wasn’t what we received.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Ashleigh

Unfortunately 642 Villi bdr Merlot@ Cypress lakes is not managed or a part of the Cypress lakes Resort by Oak hotels and Resorts. This is a private Villa you have stayed in and is rented through the owners booking agency. Can I suggest you contact the owner and provide him with you feedback on your stay.

I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your Holiday in the Hunter Valley, if you decide to visit the Hunter Valley again please don’t hesitate to book direct with the resort as I am positive you will have better experience with Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pokolbin hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for the Lovedale Long Lunch with a group of friends. We hired two x two bedroom villas. They were spacious and the kitchen facilities were adequate. The grounds are gorgeous. Room service is great. Beautiful views. You need a car if you are staying here as the villas are set on hilly grounds and it is quite a hike to get to your villa. Golden Door spa is next door. I had a treatment there and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Check out Golden Door for a treatment if you get a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.

The Lovedale Long Lunch was a great success again this year with perfect weather.

We now have a shuttle to get around the resort which makes it easy to access all areas of the resort including the Golden door Spa which is located within the heart of resort.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Grab N Go room service menu, over the coming months we will be expanding on what we can provide.

Many Thanks for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont Hills
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Cypress Lakes Resort is a marvelous destination to unwind or be active in the midst of the Hunter Valley wine country. The resort has all the regular resort facilities, has beautifully appointed villas with oodles of space in each, and has a spa resort next door for that final relaxation treatment. Can highly recommend this resort for either a short or long holiday.

Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Best location for golf and wine lovers,good restaurant, perfect self contain unit.
Parking facilities and free golf kart to get to the unit
Conference center walk by
2 swimming pools, Hunter gardens as well as 100 of wineries just a step from the Cypress Lake

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your recent experiences at Cypress lakes resort.

Over the past twelve month a considerable amount of time and investment has been put into the golf course to make it the best in the Hunter Valley. We are so please the course did meet your expectations. We are continually looking for ways to improve our product and service. It is only with guest feedback good or bad that we are able to meet our guest expectation.

Many thanks for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was not expecting anything breathtaking, as reviews on this place are not great. But everything was very nice and we had a pleasant stay there. It is a huge resort located perfectly in the middle of everything with golf fields around, 5 swimming pool, fitness centre and a good restaurant - Bodega. Our hut was large and comfy and there was everything we needed. There were a couple of things that we did not enjoy - Foxtel reception was on and of and I noticed a hole in the wall next to the curtain in one of the bedrooms. Water pressure in a shower was bit low. Otherwise, we were very satisfied. Staff was nice and helpful and buffet breakfast (not included in the price $20/person) was worth it - everything was fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KackaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.
It was great that you decide to stay with us and that we did meet your expectations.
I have passed your maintenance issues feedback onto our Facilities Manager and his team who will follow up and address these issues.

I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
409 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Although this property is a little tired now and requires some TLC (our fridge door was badly dented all over the door) it does represent good value for money .We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean and quiet and very cosy with a gas log fire which actually worked..
The golf course which the apartments are on is a first class course with well manicured gardens and lawns. A serene place to either stay in and enjoy the food and wine on offer at close proximity or near a good selection of restaurants, most of which unfortunately close on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights.. A perfect golfers resort if your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.

I appreciate you comments on the condition of the resort as we use all feedback good or bad to be able to improve on our product and service we provide.

We are current looking at a long term plan to refurbish the Villas and to give them a more modern look and feel.

Our golf course is look fantastic and improving more and more each day our Golf Superintendent is doing a great job at maintain the course.

Many Thanks for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Property: Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing