We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
376
477
275
159
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
477
275
159
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseplaying golfthe golden door spabedroom apartmentcourtesy busbeautiful resortbuffet breakfastgirls weekendfull kitchentennis courtsanother couplerecommend this resortlong weekendself containedgreat weekendmid weekwine country
Filter
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Some of the previous reviews had me concerned but I was pleasantly surprised. The 2 bedroom villa was very well appointed, whilst a little dated in parts was clean and spacious. We loved the balcony overlooking the trees. We stayed her on a Wotif special, so was very good value for money. A great location also, close to all the Hunter attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

It was great to read you enjoyed your recent stay in a two bedroom Villa at Cypress lakes Resort.

The view from our balconies we believe are the best in the Hunter Valley we are so please that you agree with us

Your comments re the Villas being a little dated have been passed onto our refurbishment team who will be looking at this over the coming months.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We came to cypress lakes in four villas with my whole extended family. Scenery was lovely, the villas roomy and well stocked. Close to all our favourite wineries. Everything seemed to go smoothly and distance between villas was.manageable. Very enjoyable. We would come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.

We are very pleased that you had a great stay with your extended family in our Villas.

I hope you will take the opportunity to visit the Hunter Valley again and choose to stay at Cypress Lakes Resort.

Look forward to welcoming back to the resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in room 642 Villa 1bdr Merlot @ Cypress Lakes Resort and we were very disappointed with our stay. What was supposed to be a romantic weekend away from our busy schedules was a disaster. One night after a lovely dinner we arrived home to have a spa, with a nice glass of wine. Only half way through filling the bath we had our neighbours banging on our door yelling to stop filling the bath as it was flooding their appartment, they then had to be evacuated. We had noticed under our spa a large piece of PVC tube was missing. The next morning we were woken up very early by a maintenance man to come through our appartment, while our personal belongings were out, to fix the spa, which he couldnt anyway. We asked the owner if we could be relocated and were advised there was nothing he could do.

We were extremely unhappy as the ONLY reason we booked this room was for the spa, for a lovely romantic weekend away from our busy schedules. Not only were we inconvenienced, disappointed and let down, we shouldn’t had to of suffered due to an issue which wasn’t our fault. It was disappointing what was advertised wasn’t what we received.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Ashleigh

Unfortunately 642 Villi bdr Merlot@ Cypress lakes is not managed or a part of the Cypress lakes Resort by Oak hotels and Resorts. This is a private Villa you have stayed in and is rented through the owners booking agency. Can I suggest you contact the owner and provide him with you feedback on your stay.

I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your Holiday in the Hunter Valley, if you decide to visit the Hunter Valley again please don’t hesitate to book direct with the resort as I am positive you will have better experience with Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for the Lovedale Long Lunch with a group of friends. We hired two x two bedroom villas. They were spacious and the kitchen facilities were adequate. The grounds are gorgeous. Room service is great. Beautiful views. You need a car if you are staying here as the villas are set on hilly grounds and it is quite a hike to get to your villa. Golden Door spa is next door. I had a treatment there and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Check out Golden Door for a treatment if you get a chance.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and comments on your recent stay at Cypress lakes resort.

The Lovedale Long Lunch was a great success again this year with perfect weather.

We now have a shuttle to get around the resort which makes it easy to access all areas of the resort including the Golden door Spa which is located within the heart of resort.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Grab N Go room service menu, over the coming months we will be expanding on what we can provide.

Many Thanks for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Cypress Lakes Resort is a marvelous destination to unwind or be active in the midst of the Hunter Valley wine country. The resort has all the regular resort facilities, has beautifully appointed villas with oodles of space in each, and has a spa resort next door for that final relaxation treatment. Can highly recommend this resort for either a short or long holiday.

1  Thank 2013Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews