We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful surrounds and enjoyable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good accomodation.
Upgraded from single to double villa.
A bit of a hilly walk to reception.
Very good breakfast buffet.the best I've had for a long time.All the hot food was HOT and easy access to the servery.

All staff met very very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Lucky enough to be upgrade to a larger room which made for a much more enjoyable stay. It was on th...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts

It was great to ready you were happy with the accommodation at the resort. We think our Villas are magnificent set amongst the natural bush of the Hunter Valley.

We now have a shuttle which makes it easier to get around the resort and to make it down for breakfast each day.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Australian team stayed here for the Asia pacific games. The staff were fantastic and food just as good considering over 500 athletes stayed here. My only criticism is that the lodges are built into the hill side & you need to be a billy goat to get around. Some athletes have mobility issues and there wasnt enough buses to cater for this many people at once. But outside of that a great place to stay

1  Thank SimonSandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My family of three adults and one child stayed in this resort hotel.

The two bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable. The sofas and carpet were a little worn out and we found one toilet bowl chipped. Besides that it was a comfortable stay. The rooms were nice and adequate. Every apartment has its own hot water unit and the water was sufficient. The place is reasonably priced and the location was convenient.

Will consider staying again next time we visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank someeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and comment on your recent experiences at Cypress lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

We take all feedback seriously and I have passed your comments onto the team at the resort so they can be followed up.

I appreciate your feedback and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Beautiful spacious accommodation, gorgeous view from balconies , neat and tidy, makes a fantastic base to explore the hunter valley's multiple wineries and other points of interest. Close to everything, courteously bus is great to get you around the premises of the resort.

1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Cypress Lakes Resort has pretty much everything you want from a resort. From a huge pool to tennis courts to golfing to central location. Very good accommodation for large groups and smallish groups (Have never stayed here as a couple).
Great facilities, food and staff. Never had a drama and if we did then we called up and got a resolution in the end.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

It was great to read your feedback about your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

We have a great variety of styles of accommodation ranging from 1 bedroom Villas to 4 bedroom Villas all which are fully self-contained. It was great our team at the resort did meet your expectations during your stay and that you enjoyed all of the facilities we provide.

I hope you can make time to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

very nice clean, well maintained self contained 2 bedroom unit. great views from we stayed. staff also very friendly and accommodating. Won't hesitate to stay again. Next time, will bring the golf clubs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

It was pleasing to read you found the resort to be a great place to stay. I do hope you will come back soon with your golf clubs to take advantage of what the Golf and Country Club has to offer.

Over the past twelve month a considerable amount of effort and investment has been put into the golf course to make it the best in the Hunter Valley

Look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Cypress Lakes but there were 2 things that would have made the stay even better.
1) The showers. The water took about 5 minutes to get hot and as soon as you twisted the cold tap it was immediately freezing again. The water pressure was abysmal. I needed to wash my hair but gave up half way through (I'm a curly top) and ended up on my knees in the bath trying to get the shampoo out.
2) We had a drink in the bar downstairs while we waited for our taxi to our restaurant. Being a Monday night it was quiet but the space is quite intimate so that in itself was ok. Unfortunately there was a television blaring the news which TOTALLY ruined the atmosphere. If the TV hadn't been on we would have stayed for another drink but it was just unpleasant. You need to have some nice music playing there in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunGirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and comment on your recent experiences at Cypress lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

I will follow up on your comments re your experience with the shower and the other small glitches you have raised. I appreciate the feedback as this is how we are able to meet our guest expectations.

I agree with your comments re the TV in Bodega Bar and will discuss this with our food and beverage team.

Thank you for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £114 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing