We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dated and disappointing”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and were disappointed by the cleanliness and condition of the suite. Overall, the suite was quite dated and felt like it needed a good scrubbing. The patio furniture was wobbly and felt like it might collapse at any moment, the bathroom had bugs on the floor, and one of the coffee mugs was cracked. We were gone all day wine tasting and came back to a made bed and new towels, but none of the amenities had been restocked. I had used most of the lotion and there was no replacement bottle. I had also used most of the cream for coffee that morning and none were replaced in the refrigerator. The dishes were left in the sink and the cracked mug not replaced.

It was a disappointing experience. The location is great, but if you want to get what you pay for, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

I was disappointed to read your comments around the cleanliness of your Villa. I have passed your feedback to our Housekeeping Supervisor to address the issues you experience during your stay with us. This is not our usual standard our guest to receive and I apologise for the inconvenienced this caused you and your guests.

With regards to ‘bugs’ in the bathroom, unfortunately as we are located in native bushland setting, during different stages of the year they tend to find their way back into the Villa.
Thank you again for your post and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    369
    234
    141
    85
See reviews for
279
311
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days in a 3 bedroom villa and there were 4 of us. The location is perfect as it is not far from a few different vineyards and roughly 15 minutes walk. But the service at this property is very disappointing due to the lack of attention and care they provide. We paid for an extra bed and when we checked in it was not done, kitchen floor was dirty and oily, 1 out of 4 tv working and the main light in the en-suite room needed to be replaced and a broken balcony door that doesn't lock.

We rang reception and advise them and they promised someone will come immediately, however we waited for 2 hours and no one came. So we left the property to have dinner Shakey Tables (check out my review - it's a must see dinner venue) and 3 hours later we came back and someone was just fixing the bed up we were entering our villa... I don't believe it should take 5 hours for someone to add an extra bed or call maintenance to fix the other problems.

Unfortunately for Cypress Lakes we are travel agents just passing by and wanted to check out Cypress Lakes and Hunter Valley. We didn't ask for much but just wanted to get what we paid for (we didn't pay for agent rates, we paid full rates) and all we got was a disappointing experience. We wouldn't recommend this and certainly not for wedding or for a large group booking because of their lack of service with no sense of urgency.

However, one thing I would say the location is perfect. Perhaps if you are just passing through Hunter Valley and need a night to stay then this would be perfect. For a weekend getaway I would probably recommend Peppers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

I was disappointed to read your comments around the cleanliness of your Villa. I have passed your feedback to our Housekeeping Supervisor to address the issues you experience during your stay with us. This is not our usual standard our guest to receive and I apologise for the inconvenienced this caused you and your guests.

It concerns me to hear about your experience with our staff, and I will bring the issues you raised in our next weekly meeting, to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your post and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pokolbin hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, what a beautiful location. We arrived Saturday afternoon and checked in the staff were pleasant and helpful. Our 2 bedroom villa was well appointed and very spacious, unfortunately it was not very clean. The floors had not been swept or vaccumed let alone mopped. There was so much dust in one of the bedrooms that you could write your name in the dust on the bedside table. Having said that we thought we would do the right thing and let management know that the villa was not very clean, even mentioning that the dishes were not that clean, one of the glasses even had someones lipstick on it..... She was horrified and advised us that she would get the cleaning team in to fix. So we left for the day and came back late in the afternoon expecting to see some results. Well no that was not the case, the villa had been tidied i.e clean towells beds made but floors not cleaned and the dust was still there to greet us. My guess would be either the message was not passed on to the housekeeping team or the staff whom were assigned to clean dont really know how to do their job. It is very sad that this beautiful resort is let down by the housekeeping team. I hope that they take note of this comment and make some changes. Otherwise they will be missing out on repeat business.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

I was disappointed to read your comments around the cleanliness of your Villa. I have passed your feedback to our Housekeeping Supervisor to address the issues you experience during your stay with us I do apologise for the inconvenienced this caused you and your family. I will also look into why when you bought the issue to the attention of the front desk, you did not receive a full clean.

Thank you again for your post and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If it weren't for the staff's attempt to deal with our issues this property would earn a "terrible".

The property is old and our 3 bedroom apartment was looking very tired and warn. Small things were missing or damaged - eg sink surrounds and plugs missing. Sofas that looked as if they had been obtained from the local op shop - stained and well worn.

Despite advertising a "full kitchen" there was virtually nothing in the kitchen to enable you to enjoy the facility. In an area that relies upon wine tourism - we found only 5 (of differing sizes) wine glasses. Basics such as chopping boards, placemats, kitchen tongs, serving plates, oven trays - the list is so long that I won't bore you, but you will get the drift. No information folder to assist you to operate anything in the apartment. An oven so old and tired that none of the dials could be read. Setting oven temperatures was real hit and miss. Then to tea and coffee - for an apartment capable of accommodating 6 people (we were 5) there were 5 tea bags and 1 small milk sachet. Nothing was available to make the coffee that we had brought. Towels - 4 in the various bathrooms - when 5 were staying. The list continues...

Now, the one redeeming feature were staff that tried to overcome the many deficiencies of the property. They tried hard to assist, but were apologetic about the state of affairs and the growing list of deficiencies. As best we could see they were the only asset worth mentioning.

For the price we paid we felt that we had received poor price value. Would I return or recommend the property.

Certainly not. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

I was disappointed to read your comments around the missing items in your Villa and state of some of the furniture items. I do apologise for the inconvenienced this cause you and your family, but you would be happy to know that we are in the process of putting together a refurbishment strategy for all of our Villas.

We hope to have this rolled out with new furniture packages towards the end of 2014.

Thank you again for your post and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A nice location in the Hunter Valley. Customer service could have been a bit better. The staff in the restaurant were more helpful in giving advice on tours, than the reception staff. Also place brochures in the foyer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

I was disappointed to read your comments that the front office staff were unable to provide you with the information you were after. You would be happy to know that we are currently sourcing a brochure rack, so that next time you come this will be displayed in the reception area.

Thank you again for your post and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were lucky to be upgraded from a one bedroom to a two bedroom apartment. It was nice and clean and spacious. The golf course looked excellent, shame I didn't take my clubs. We went to the restaurant on a Sunday night and it was pretty quiet, not so much atmosphere, but the food was very nice. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels and Resorts.

Pleasing to hear your positive comments about your experience and we are glad you loved the ‘upgrade’. I will definitely pass on your comments about the food to our chef, and just for next time, if you don’t have enough room to bring your clubs (or forget), guests are able to hire them from the pro shop for a small fee. This way you would have been able to enjoy it that little bit more!

Can’t wait to welcome you back next time you stay in the Hunter Valley!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is just perfect for a family group. We stayed in villas and fitted 2 couples and 3 singles in which made it very affordable and included breakfast. We had to pay 100% up front but could cancel up to 24 hours prior. A great deal. Perfect golf course and club house. Right next to wineries like tempus two and brokenwood. Spledid!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Property: Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing