We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've been warned by others stay elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 26 September 2005

Like others I liked the look of this place from the brochures but be warned. This place is really a golf club with 'Villas' for rent when the owners are not using them. It is definetely not 5 star at all. The check in service is indifferent and there is absolutley no luggage assistance. The restaurant and room service choices are limited and cuisine ordinary. It is completely inaccessible for anyone with a disability so be warned. The 'villas' are located on the side of a steep hill with long walks to the restaurants over lots of stairs. The staff drive around on golf buggies at break neck speed and nearly knock you over. The breakfast buffet whilst comprehensive is so crowded and the tea and coffee service is hopeless. The villas are ok but I have also stayed in villas at Port Douglas and overseas and these are just ordinary flats with a few touches to make it seem luxe which it is not. The minibar never got replenished during our several day stay and they will not serve any liquids on room service because everything is delivered by Golf buggy. At the Port Douglas Mirage all villas had room service delivered by golf buggy and this was not an issue. Our villa was also over run with cock roaches and spiders. This place is run for its members and they do not care at all about repeat business. Stay elsewhere as it is a rip off.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JJW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2005

Cypress Lakes is excellent in terms of location and facilities. Accommodation is in self-contained villas that are spread out over a large property, but with a free shuttle service to bring you to/from the reception, pools and restaurants. Very high standard. Star ratings in Australia don't always seem to equate to those in Europe and the US, but this certainly deserves its 5-star rating.

1  Thank ballinora4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
566
Reviewed 26 May 2005

My husband and I spent 2 nights of a 5 day vacation in Sydney at the Cypress Lakes Resort.

We reviewed their website and thought the photos/brochures looked pretty good. I must admit we chose this resort because of its facilities. Although we don't play golf I wanted to spend some time at the spa. I also needed to relax and spend some time with my husband before a 10 day business trip in Sydney and Melbourne.

We arrived in a Sunday evening just as it got dark and discovered a big group of executives had just finished checking in. There was no one to greet us at the lobby and no one to tell us where to park our car while we checked in.

The staff at the reception were very rude. My husband dropped me off so that I could check-in while he looked for a parking spot but no one seemed to notice I was waiting to check-in even after my husband spent a long time looking for a parking spot.

When they finally noticed that I had been waiting for a long time, the staff shoved a piece of paper in my hands and told me to complete it.

In all the 5 star hotels I have stayed at in the world... hold on, how about just in Australia since Australian 5 star service is not the same as Hong Kong or US 5 star service... anyway, in all the 5 star Australian hotels I have stayed at NO ONE has SHOVED a piece of paper in my hand, then TOLD me to complete the form and then gave me my keys WITHOUT telling me where my room was located in the resort.

This was quite a big resort, the rooms (or "villas" as the called them) were located in different areas in the resort. They didn't bother to ask whether we were familiar with the resort, not even when we told them it was our first stay at the resort and we didn't know where our villa was located. They SHOVED another piece of paper (a map) in my hands and told me it was all self-explanatory. I was NOT impressed. I didn't pay to stay at a 5-star resort with service like this.

They didn't bother to introduce us to the facilities, my husband and I were so lost we spend a good part of the evening reading the resort manual (luckily we're educated and can read lots of pages even though we had just survived a long haul flight).

Although there were lots of luggage desk staff wandering around with luggage carts, no one bothered to ask if we needed assistance with our luggage. Luckily we were only staying 2 nights and didn't have any major disabilities or back problems so we carried our bags to our room. We were also lucky our room was located on ground level so we didn't have to climb any stairs!

The room was definitely nothing near a villa. I've stayed in villas in SE Asia (ie., Phuket, Bali, Philippines, Malaysia, etc) so maybe I have mis-interpreted the meaning of a "villa" but I was pretty sure we were checked into a one-bedroom ROOM, not a one-bedroom VILLA.

We were given a room with a large living room that almost the same size of our bedroom. There was a sliding door which separated the room and bedroom.

The room was fine and comfortable. The bathroom was pretty big. Everything was clean but there were people partying nearby until sometime past midnight so I could hardly sleep the first night.

We were so disgusted by the service we got at check-in we decided to eat out for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I went to the spa but the massage I got was mediocre... nothing compared to the Observatory or Four Seasons in Sydney. I thought everything was overpriced but the ladies at the spa were pretty accommodating when I inquired about changing my appointment.

We visited the gift shop and noticed a HUGE group of company executives (all men) getting ready to play golf.

I would recommend staying here only if you're in a huge group and don't care about personal service. We paid AUD240 for a one-bedroom villa (discounted rate) but I thought the room was worth no more than AUD170.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Zurich
114
Reviewed 9 January 2005

The stay in this hotel was my most terrible experience I ever had.

First at check-in, the receptionist told me this hotel has no COTS. She lied because they had but just some.

The breakfast was terrible. One morning I had to wait 30 minutes to my coffee. I felt like I was on a US$1 Buffet in a cheap Vegas hotel.

They couldn't repair my safe during my stay of 4 nights. The ring didn't work either. The door between sleeping room and dining room couldn't close properly.

On the first evening the housekeeping waked me up at ten (pm) and told me some greetings from the reception.

Because the stay was prepaid I could not go to another hotel.

They sell the rooms for half price if you book in advance and only thru their system.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2003

Cypress lakes is a large purpose built resort, centered around a magnificent 18 hole championship golf course.
has all the facilities one would expect from a resort of this quality, high standard of accommodation, excellent health spa facilities, great golf, great views from all accommodation, 2 restaurants providing better than average fare.
ideally set in the Hunter Valley wine region, so a bonus for wine buffs.
we stayed 2 nights and enjoyed ourselves, only downside perhaps is scale, it is a very large resort and can be a bit soulless.

5  Thank thrubwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jm1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CypressLakes, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Augustdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £102 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing