We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
385
481
277
162
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
481
277
162
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course playing golf three bedroom the golden door spa bedroom apartment courtesy bus beautiful resort buffet breakfast girls weekend full kitchen tennis courts another couple recommend this resort self contained long weekend mid week great weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,317 - 1,322 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Cypress Lake was a beautiful place to stay for our annual retreat. As there were quite a few of us that attended the retreat the accommodation was great at grouping us together. We shared a villa with another couple and it was spacious to accommodate all 4 of us. This resort is close to most of the wineries.

The villa backed onto the gof course and we had a lovely view of the vineyard. The rooms were clean but old as outlined by other reviewers. The extra toilet downstairs was of great benefit. We very much felt that the separate bathroom attached to each room was very useful. The kitchen had all the utensils that you could possible need to eat in if one wished to do that, and consumable items were replenished everyday. Despite being spring weather there was still a bit of chill. Our downstairs heater wasn't working. The fireplace did work, however the heating went straight out the flu and therefore didn't keep us warm. the bedroom heaters were much better.

The service received by the majority of staff was excellent, especially the red headed lady who served us at the restaurant. She was highly accommodating especially with such a large group and nothing seemed to be an inconvience. Unfortunately we weren't able to catch her name.

We had breakfast at the resort and the spread was fabulous the food was delicious. Coffee and tea was brought around by staff, however due to the size of the breakfast hall they can easily miss your table. The two days that we had breakfast we had to go looking for staff to serve our table coffee and tea. One of the things that you need to be aware of is that the resort is quite large and the breakfast hall is down near the reception area so you will need to either walk or drive down the hill.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

2 bedroom apartment for 4 adults - 3 chairs on the balcony - 3 cups - 3 wine glasses.
Towels removed on first day and not replaced. Breakfast in the conference room during refurbishment - what a shambles - dirty tables - food - luke warm.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Upon our arrival we were told the pool was closed for refurbishment, and the restaurant too. Had we known this upon booking we may have looked elsewhere. With young children, being able to enjoy the pool is almost a priority.

The villa we had was adequate in size (3 bedroom) However, I felt it was very tired (desperately needs an update!) It was musty smelling, and not particularly clean. The sofas were very uncomfortable, and there was no other way to relax in the villa.

The "country style" breakfast, again, disappointing. It had been relocated due to restaurant refurbishment. The staff were very polite - however the standard of food offered was not great. The juices had clearly been watered down.

Cypress Lakes is in a great location, and if it had a little attention and money spent on the villas, could be an amazing place to stay with children. There are some great facilities there for families. The Golden Door Spa was amazing, and I thoroughly enjoyed my couple of hours there, would definitely use that again!

My husband had suggested we stay an extra night - which I would usually jump at this offer, however I was glad to leave Cypress Lakes and get home.

In summary, could be a fantastic place - villas need updating!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1RebeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Cypress Lakes promises much. It is in a great location, hillside in the middle of the wonderful Hunter Valley Wine Region. I was under the impression that this was a 5 star property, but it appears it is only a 4.5 star. Personally, I would give this hotel a 4 star rating at best.

The rooms are actually separate villas running along multiple streets on a hillside, again, look promising, but the reality is a very basic villa, dated bathroom and old wooden veranda, which did not feel very strong. Clearly these rooms have not been renovated for quite some time. The verandas are in desperate need of a clean and oil.

The villas are below street level, so you park up on the road and have to lug your luggage down stairs to your villa.

The hotel operates a courtesy van which can run you back to the main reception building which is nice.

Internet access in the villas is expensive and very slow.

The problem is the rates charged for accommodation. The rates are far to expensive given the quality of the rooms. Asking for over $1000 for a two night weekend stay is simply price gouging. If you plan to stay on a weekend when a major event is taking place (eg A Day On The Green), forget about it. Expect to have a minimum 3 nights stay imposed at an insanely expensive rate.

This resort needs a renovation and needs to revise their room rates to a realistic levels.

If you're going to spend $1000 for a weekend away in the Hunter Valley, there are better options than Cypress Lakes.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartiniBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights recently to take part in a wedding at a nearby winery. It was just average. We paid $300 per night for a two bed villa and I think it would be a stretch to say it was worth that.

The rooms were okay - pretty spacious but rundown. The resort itself was very basic. Breakfast was in the events centre and it was a bit of a cattle muster. One pool was filthy and rundown with ducks swimming in it and you could see people's footprints on the bottom. The other pool had no water in it.

If you can get a good rate, and don't expect too much, this could be a good place to stay. Otherwise - don't bother!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews