We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveller rating
385
482
277
162
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
482
277
162
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course playing golf three bedroom the golden door spa bedroom apartment courtesy bus beautiful resort buffet breakfast girls weekend full kitchen tennis courts another couple recommend this resort self contained long weekend mid week great weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,314 - 1,319 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Despite mixed reviews about the buffet breakfast, we booked a two bedroom villa with breakfast included. We got given a villa which was relatively close to the main reception area, with a steep decline from the parking to the front door and the back of the villa facing some bushes. The villa was very spacey and clean, and because the villa backed onto bushes, it was very quiet at night, resulting in a peaceful sleep.

Buffet breakfast was fantastic! There was an option of sitting inside or outside; we opted to sit outside overlooking the pool area for the sun. There were ample options to choose from - each were on it's own table in different areas of the event function room. Food was incredibly delicious and they never once ran out - when supplies dwindled, the food would be replenished very quickly. Tea and coffee were served by a waiter/waitress periodically - they seem to know when you're nearly finished!

Location was very good as it didn't take us long to get to any of the wineries or attractions that Hunter Valley likes to boasts.

We booked this place at the last minute and were very lucky to have secured the two bedroom villa with breakfast included. I would definately stay here again if we were to travel to the Hunter Valley in the near future as a group.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimBonWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This is a 3-4 star,set of self serviced apartments with a decent pool and a nice golf course. All food related element are very disappointing so best to eat offsite if you go here.

Cypress Lakes is a beautiful setting with a rolling green golf course which makes it all the more sad to have to point out their faults which made it far from 5 star. However, if they are going to tout themselves as good as other luxury spots, well then, this review is based at correcting that.

Though the apartments are neat and spacious with powerful air conditioning and decks looking out onto the bush there is not even enough dishware, let alone cooking utensils to fry an egg. For this reason we 'experienced' the breakfast buffet which was crawling with fruit flies. I can assure viewers that it was, in fact, crawling with fruit flies, as there was a portion of the dining room that was completely empty except for the black dots jumping about. When we asked the staff what was going on, they shrugged and asked us if we'd like to sit outside.
As well, we had had dinner the night before at the upscale restaurant and all 4 of us had agreed that the prices were much too high for the average food and we even left hungry given the small portion size.
If you are going with golfing buddies, perhaps your can look past this and truly enjoy the place, but if you are looking for a 5 star experience, or like to eat well and you base your weekend away on your meals (like me) than you have much better options in the valley elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kschmitty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The resort was the most overrated place I have ever stayed in. I would give it no more than 2 stars. We went for a relaxing long weekend to hopefully swim in the heated pool go for walks and if motivated go to the gym in the morning. Not a good idea as the pool was empty (not mentioned on wotif or the hotel website) the gym was tiny with hardly any equipment. At least the walks were good. When I spoke to reception as to why this was not mentioned on their website they said it must have been an oversite and basically they would attend to it straight away. I check the website the next day and it was still not mentioned.
On our first night we ate in the restaurant and were told we had a special seat by the window. We thought OK this is good but when we sat down we saw that the view we had was of the floodlit garden area that was being excavated with rubble everywhere and wheelbarrows. Why not just turn off the lights so we couldn't see it. The next thing we get given by the waitress was our menu and the wine list .On opening then we find that the 9 wines that were on their hot deals section had black lines drawn through all but three of the wines not to mention more black line crossing out other wines that they had apparently run out of ( I thought we were in wine country?)
Why they couldn't reprint the wine list so at least it looked a bit more professional is beyond me. The food was fine but the service was similiar to that of a cafeteria with the waitresses looking scruffy with shirts not ironed and hair untidy. REMEMBER this is suppost to be a top of the range resort.
The beds were uncomfortable and the place was not cleaned properly . I had to clean the bathroom myself and the place was never vacuumed. There was rubbish on the wooden floor which I put in the middle of the floor every day near the door but the cleaners never seemed to notice it . They must had trouble with their eyes.
For the price of the three day accomodation I would have expected something far better than what we got. WIll never to back there again even if it was for free.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimmie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

There were 6 of us staying in a three bedroom villa. Not only was there not enough cutlery, glasses and plates for everyone, there also failed to provide towels for enough people EVERY SINGLE DAY we were there. Every morning we had to call reception for towels and 2 days out of the 4, they didn't even turn up with them. The days the did turn up with them, it took over an hour for them to arrive. There was even a dirty towel in the cupboard from before our stay that was never removed. The carpets were never vaccummed either.
The kitchen was the most ill-equipped kitchen I have ever seen. Whilst it had all the mod cons, i.e. microwave, dishwasher, oven etc. There was not a single teatowel, cutting board or even sponge to clean. If you think that you can stay here for a week and buy your own food to cook, think again! They clearly want people to order their room service, which is ridiculously expensive, with even a simple Club Sandwich charged at $28.
The bedrooms were adequate except that my bedroom was infested with mosquito's. even though there were fly screens on the windows. The linen smelt had a distinctive 'Wet' smell, which was extremely off-putting.
The breakfast provided was nothing to write home about either. Over cooked everything was apparently the special of the day.
I definitely wouldn't stay again, and I recommend you don't either!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Cypress Lake was a beautiful place to stay for our annual retreat. As there were quite a few of us that attended the retreat the accommodation was great at grouping us together. We shared a villa with another couple and it was spacious to accommodate all 4 of us. This resort is close to most of the wineries.

The villa backed onto the gof course and we had a lovely view of the vineyard. The rooms were clean but old as outlined by other reviewers. The extra toilet downstairs was of great benefit. We very much felt that the separate bathroom attached to each room was very useful. The kitchen had all the utensils that you could possible need to eat in if one wished to do that, and consumable items were replenished everyday. Despite being spring weather there was still a bit of chill. Our downstairs heater wasn't working. The fireplace did work, however the heating went straight out the flu and therefore didn't keep us warm. the bedroom heaters were much better.

The service received by the majority of staff was excellent, especially the red headed lady who served us at the restaurant. She was highly accommodating especially with such a large group and nothing seemed to be an inconvience. Unfortunately we weren't able to catch her name.

We had breakfast at the resort and the spread was fabulous the food was delicious. Coffee and tea was brought around by staff, however due to the size of the breakfast hall they can easily miss your table. The two days that we had breakfast we had to go looking for staff to serve our table coffee and tea. One of the things that you need to be aware of is that the resort is quite large and the breakfast hall is down near the reception area so you will need to either walk or drive down the hill.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews