We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice appartment, great location - bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The resort in itself was fine. We had a 3 bed appartment and although fairly basic (could have done with something on the bare walls), it was spacious and comfortable for 3 couples. If you self-cater, the kitchen's are basically equipped.

The breakfast at the main building was a disaster - the staff seemed to have no idea what they were doing - we had to queue for a while on the first morning, and there seemed to be no system in place for sitting people - mayhem. And on the second morning we turned up just befor the breakfast finish time, and they said it was shut and we couldn't have any. As it turned out the receptionist had been gibing out wrong information the previous day and we weren't the only ones. They eventually caved in and let us have breakfast.

One of our party used the spa and said it was good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

A horrid hotel.

It took FOUR trips between villa and reception to get a working set of keys only to get in and find the place was filthy having not been cleaned from the previous guests...quite what the surgical gloves lying on the floor were used for I don't want to know, but stinking juice bottles, festering towels strewn over the floor....and the receptionists response "it says its been cleaned in our computer".

Not wanting to spend more time in the room we went to find some food only to have to be stuck inside a fly infested bar whilst the beautiful outside area was handed over to a pack of smokers....when you see a fat man on crutches hand a cigarette to a child so he can take a swig of his beer you know you are somewhere special....and that scene sums up everything that is wrong with cypress lakes....filthy, disgusting, run down, and trashy.

Finally returning to our now cleaned rooms, attempts to have a shower (either VERY hot or VERY cold which at least matched the air conditioning) were then thwarted when I noticed NO TOWELS. Receptionist apologized for the towel truck breaking down....which suggests this place doesn't even wash it's own linen (a note on outsourcing - it doesn't work).

All in all a torrid time that has left me in the position of not really wanting to return to the hunter region at all....which is fine as in a few years it will be an open cast coal mine which probably will be an improvement...certainly it's hard to see how cypress lakes could get worse.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheClairvoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This resort is obviously purposely being allowed to run down. The asset is in a terrible state of repairs. There is very little by way od maintenance being attended to. For example, the pool fences were falling down, there was little pool furniture, the pool
Side telephone was disconneted and the CPR sign was covered in a hornets nest. There seer no staff in the pool area and access to staff was by means on a walk of a couple of minutes. If there was a need for emergency assistance, well I have my doubts. Our villa wax not serviced and one day when the ladies came to service they came after 5.30 without equipment. To my mind they expected at that hour any guests would defuse a service.

There were no towels by the pool and when I raised this with reception I was sternly told that they are in the villas. I did responde that that message had not made its way to housekeeping.

The breakfast was also a disaster, the furniture is in such bad repair that it is dangerous. There is also the less than enjoyable accompaniment of construction at breakfast that made it worse. Each morning we needed to ask for settings and often the crockery was poorly washed. Things like milk and coffee were not replenished regularly and there were so few staff that they could not keep up.

The staff rather than being polite were rude saying that ther e was a problem with getting staff on the long weekend and that everyone will just have to manage as best they can.

Not good enough!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I stayed here with 6 girlfriends (7 of us in total) we had a three bedroomed house. They fitted it with 6 single beds as requested plus a put up bed. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The resort was lovely, clean, incredibly well fitted out, good food, which was a bit pricey but we didn't mind paying as it was a special weekend away. We hired bikes for the day and they dropped them off at our door and we left them for pick up at reception. We went to a concert and there was a shuttle bus to and from the event which was amazingly well organised. All in all I can highly recommend this resort. A truly memorable weekend :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomcivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

I recently spent one night at this resort with a group of male golfing friends. We were accommodated in two bedroom villas with each bedroom having its own bathroom. All members of our group were delighted with the villas which were spacious (living room, dining area and kitchen in addition to the bedrooms), clean and well equipped. Our very reasonable tariff, which included two rounds of golf, included breakfast which was excellent, featuring a wide range of hot and cold selections. The golf course was in very good condition and features a wide variety of challenging holes. The staff throughout the resort were unfailingly attentive and courteous.
All in all based on our experience I would recommend the resort without hesitation. I can only conclude that the authors of some of the less flattering comments re this resort on Trip Advisor must be narks or hard to please.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfingtennisplayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I went to this resort five years ago and remembered it as a very well appointed, clean and upmarket place to stay. So on my trip back to the Hunter, thought it would be a good place to stay with the family. It still has large villas which were great with a young family, but the furniture and kitchens are looking a bit tired and in need of an upgrade, especially of this place thinks it is 5-star. It is probably a three and a half star resort at present, and instead of $350 a night, it should be more like $250 including buffet breakfast.

The TV is a small, old CRT, not something you'd see in a five star resort, and the kitchen equipment is getting old and rickety. There is also an under supply of cutlery and simple things like no dish washing liquid. We ended up having to call reception for a number of things - simple things - which should be fixed by house keeping before guests arrive.

The heated pool was excellent and staff friendly, but we found the bistro a bit of a rip off - priced like a high quality restaurant, but with only above average food (instead of terrific as it should be for that price) in extremely small quantities. Just totally underwhelming. The buffet breakfast was good, which was a relief.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gycentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed here for a family birthday. The property is ideally positioned in the heart of Pokolbin.
The 2 bedroom villas are tired and in need of replacement crockery and glassware.
Our deal included breakfast which was outstanding. We were lucky enough enough to have a table overlooking the lake and it was splendid.
The place is blowing a bit of smoke, but we had a deal, so it was not too expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £114 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing