We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
394
491
286
166
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
491
286
166
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course bedroom villa bodega restaurant play golf three bedroom the golden door spa courtesy bus buffet breakfast great resort girls weekend recommend this resort tennis courts full kitchen living area self contained long weekend group of friends
Filter
Updating list...
1,338 - 1,343 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year with friends. Our house was very large and really nice but just lacked those 'finishing touches' - there were no pictures on the walls for example, no coffee table and very few kitchen utensils for self catering. When went to the main reception to ask about the spa we had to wait for whilst 3 staff members standing behind reception just had a personal conversation. Breakfast too was a nightmare - not enough tables and rude staff. We had been given the wrong breakfast finishing times on our 2nd day and when we arrived we were simply told we couldn't have breakfast without any apology! The pool area was a bit run down too, with no changing area and the map of the resort wrongly implies you can use all pools on the resort. The resort is in a good location though and there are Kangaroos in the grounds, which were cool to see.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The resort in itself was fine. We had a 3 bed appartment and although fairly basic (could have done with something on the bare walls), it was spacious and comfortable for 3 couples. If you self-cater, the kitchen's are basically equipped.

The breakfast at the main building was a disaster - the staff seemed to have no idea what they were doing - we had to queue for a while on the first morning, and there seemed to be no system in place for sitting people - mayhem. And on the second morning we turned up just befor the breakfast finish time, and they said it was shut and we couldn't have any. As it turned out the receptionist had been gibing out wrong information the previous day and we weren't the only ones. They eventually caved in and let us have breakfast.

One of our party used the spa and said it was good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

A horrid hotel.

It took FOUR trips between villa and reception to get a working set of keys only to get in and find the place was filthy having not been cleaned from the previous guests...quite what the surgical gloves lying on the floor were used for I don't want to know, but stinking juice bottles, festering towels strewn over the floor....and the receptionists response "it says its been cleaned in our computer".

Not wanting to spend more time in the room we went to find some food only to have to be stuck inside a fly infested bar whilst the beautiful outside area was handed over to a pack of smokers....when you see a fat man on crutches hand a cigarette to a child so he can take a swig of his beer you know you are somewhere special....and that scene sums up everything that is wrong with cypress lakes....filthy, disgusting, run down, and trashy.

Finally returning to our now cleaned rooms, attempts to have a shower (either VERY hot or VERY cold which at least matched the air conditioning) were then thwarted when I noticed NO TOWELS. Receptionist apologized for the towel truck breaking down....which suggests this place doesn't even wash it's own linen (a note on outsourcing - it doesn't work).

All in all a torrid time that has left me in the position of not really wanting to return to the hunter region at all....which is fine as in a few years it will be an open cast coal mine which probably will be an improvement...certainly it's hard to see how cypress lakes could get worse.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheClairvoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This resort is obviously purposely being allowed to run down. The asset is in a terrible state of repairs. There is very little by way od maintenance being attended to. For example, the pool fences were falling down, there was little pool furniture, the pool
Side telephone was disconneted and the CPR sign was covered in a hornets nest. There seer no staff in the pool area and access to staff was by means on a walk of a couple of minutes. If there was a need for emergency assistance, well I have my doubts. Our villa wax not serviced and one day when the ladies came to service they came after 5.30 without equipment. To my mind they expected at that hour any guests would defuse a service.

There were no towels by the pool and when I raised this with reception I was sternly told that they are in the villas. I did responde that that message had not made its way to housekeeping.

The breakfast was also a disaster, the furniture is in such bad repair that it is dangerous. There is also the less than enjoyable accompaniment of construction at breakfast that made it worse. Each morning we needed to ask for settings and often the crockery was poorly washed. Things like milk and coffee were not replenished regularly and there were so few staff that they could not keep up.

The staff rather than being polite were rude saying that ther e was a problem with getting staff on the long weekend and that everyone will just have to manage as best they can.

Not good enough!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I stayed here with 6 girlfriends (7 of us in total) we had a three bedroomed house. They fitted it with 6 single beds as requested plus a put up bed. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The resort was lovely, clean, incredibly well fitted out, good food, which was a bit pricey but we didn't mind paying as it was a special weekend away. We hired bikes for the day and they dropped them off at our door and we left them for pick up at reception. We went to a concert and there was a shuttle bus to and from the event which was amazingly well organised. All in all I can highly recommend this resort. A truly memorable weekend :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomcivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews