We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Convent Hunter Valley
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The air conditioning unit is so loud, it's like sleeping next door to an airport. Even during the day it's impossible to read a book or enjoy a cup of tea. Such a shame for such a charming building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustralienSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at The Convent. The first was some 16 years ago. It is a beautiful old building but unfortunately the quality and size of the rooms do not reflect the price charged. Location is lovely and the staff wee very friendly and service was great. Breakfast was good with choice of hot or cold. We were initially given a downstairs room at the back of the breakfast area. It soon became apparent that a very large and noisy air-conditioning unit would keep me awake all night. I have no idea why a supposed quality resort such as this would not have done something about this unit. Clearly it was in need of repair. This room was also very small. The staff listened to my concerns and moved us to an upstairs room that was larger and very quiet. We paid $270 per night and this was definitely not value for money. I am happy to spend this amount but expect far better accommodation. There is far better value in the Pokolbin area for this price. If you do book at this accommodation make sure you get an upstairs room.

Room Tip: Do not accept a ground floor room. Rooms on the end of the building upstairs are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for a couple nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were given a superior room that was in a separate building overlooking the pool. Beautiful room, and very spacious! Price was fair at $249/night. Spa was broken, and was the only flaw. Beautiful gardens and tennis court! Close to all of the best vineyards. Hostess Denise was very nice. Great breakfast and drinks and canapés at 6!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank USNDALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Pro's - Beautiful old building, fantastic location, great staff and nice breakfasts.

Con's - Pool is unclean, Spa was empty, Massively Overpriced for the room, unclean room and bathrooms.

We had a down stairs room, and due to the age of the building you can hear every creak and groan from upstairs. The water system and the outdoor part of the AC also make a great racket, so when upstairs showers or the AC is on, you will know about it.
Always ask for a Upstairs room!
We paid just under $400 for 2 persons a night, with Breakfasts.... this was soooooo overpriced, it was really only worth $200 for 2 MAX!
Random hairs in the bathroom, terrible mattress's and pillows, and a very average TV. Yeah sure your not there to watch TV, but to have a TV smaller than a matchbox and then have the nerve to charge $15 to watch a film on it was down right insulting. And the internet access is stupid.... Over priced (like the room) and stupid data limits. $10 for 4 hours (and 300mb max)

I won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Good:
Lovely location, the rooms were clean and nice, Breakfasts were nice and the staff were great.

The Bad:
The Spa was broken (as it appears from other reviews has been for a while now), The pool was full of leaves and bugs, the verandah and exterior had paint falling off and generally the building was in need of some TLC. Getting full suitcases up to the rooms, not so fun, definately not one for those who don't like stairs.

Overall:
Lovely place to stay, but very over priced.
5 star pricing, 3 star accomodation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

While the setting of Peppers convent is lovely, the building itself is unfortunately badly run down and has poorly maintained.
The exterior has old chipped paint, and the curtains are half hanging down in the windows. The decking of the verandah is weatherbeaten- badly in need of a sand and varnish. The car park has several potholes.
When we arrived the receptionist was very nice and friendly, but the place is understaffed- most of the time there is only one person there, and nobody at night.
The carpet and stairs were quite dirty- I had to ask for them to be vacuumed because they were so unpleasant.
Our room, for which I paid for an upgrade was very ordinary, hadn't been cleaned very well and the beds were very uncomfortable. The mattress was old and thin with broken springs. It may well have been bought second- hand from a hostel. The bathroom cabinet had scuffed paintwork, and the lid of the cheap looking bin was broken.
The pool outside had a layer of insects on top of the water, and the hot tub was broken.
Canapes in the evening consist of two tiny snacks each.
There is a lot of false advertising going on- It is labelled as being a 'Heavenly Indulgence' which couldn't be further from the truth, and their policy of making customers pay before they arrive takes away our right not to pay for something if doesn't meet the right standards. They charge 5* prices for sub 3* accommodation, and make sure they keep your money no matter how unhappy you are with it- Beware of their 'No Refunds' policy, which we found out when we wanted to leave not long after we arrived.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HoppyMcHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the week before Christmas 2011. We paid $249 a night for the room and breakfast, which I thought was a really good rate. The hotel itself is beautiful. Absolutely perfect for the Hunter Valley setting. Given all the rain the area had been having, everything was amazingly green all throughout the Hunter. It was the most beautiful I had seen the Hunter looking. Peppers just fitted into the picture perfectly. We have been to the Hunter many times before but never stayed at Peppers. We had overseas friends who were visiting and they wanted to stay there so we booked. Our overseas guests also really liked Peppers Convent. The rooms are lovely, and all have a big balcony (keep your blinds shut as other rooms can easily walk past your doors opening onto the balcony).

We didn't require any assistance on the local area from the hotel, and didn't really see anyone at the front desk other than when we checked in.

The evening drinks and canapes was 2 canapes and a glass of champers or wine and I thought this was a nice touch but nothing over the top.

I thought breakfast was pretty ordinary but our friends enjoyed it. I'm not a big breakfast person though so I'm not the best to comment.

Overall, a really lovely experience and I would definitely stay at Peppers Convent again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.8 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Convent Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hunter Valley

Address: 88 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £118 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Convent Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the famous Wine Country and enjoy luxury boutique hotel accommodation at The Convent Hunter Valley. Just 2.5 hours drive from Sydney CBD, The Convent is nestled within one of Australia’s premiere wine regions - Polkobin. Our unique location offers expansive acreage views of the glamorous boutique hotel - The Convent, Pepper Tree Winery and Circa 1876. All venues are located on the estate and surrounded by rich, produce filled kitchen gardens, creating a tranquil culinary treat pleasing to lovers of both food and wine. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a weekend with the girls or your mates, or a fun-filled family holiday, our intimate and boutique Hunter Valley hotel offers something for everyone. Unwind and enjoy renowned local wines at Pepper Tree Winery and share the passion for organic produce and farm to fork dining at our hatted restaurant at Circa 1876. Explore the Hunter Valleys with the whole family and sample the region’s many attractions. With an onsite function room, a spectacular backdrop and a relaxing atmosphere, The Convent is the ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Convent Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Peppers Convent Hunter Valley Pokolbin
The Convent Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing