We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$402
US$386
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
US$278
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$191
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Lodge(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
109
86
38
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
86
38
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscirca restaurantgorgeous buildingtree lined drivewaypepper creekhunter valleyfull length mirrorshared balconybridal suitefrench doorsmain buildingshower capbreakfast was excellentpleasant stayperfect settingshort strollour wedding anniversaryboutique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hi Sean, thanks to you and Donna for all your work in making our wedding so special.

The rainy Saturday made the wedding day interesting and collectively we made some quick decisions to adjust the lounge for the ceremony.
We are both glad for your efforts in preparing for both scenarios but we were not disappointed in the least by having the ceremony inside the convent. In fact it suited the day perfectly.

We have been to Roberts Restaurant a few times now and the food always astounds us. All our guests really enjoyed the menu created by George and his team.
We wanted to say thank you to him on the night but know how he doesn't enjoy the limelight.

We also need to say thank you to all the staff at Peppers Convent especially Denise and Kimberley - everyone was so attentive and did a really outstanding job over the whole weekend.

Please congratulate all staff involved for their outstanding service!

We are already planning on having our 1st anniversary at the convent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisoneevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed here for one night with friends when visiting the Hunter Valley.

After our night at The Globe Hotel in Yass this was another step back in time.

What a wonderful historic building. High pressed metal ceilings, polished wood and wide verandahs.

Unfortunately the place is in much need of maintenance - rotting tennis net, moss and dirt on the court surface, puddle on the path, potholes on the driveway and peeling paint.

The bathrooms need a refit. The old baths are positively dangerous to shower in.

The breakfast (included in the package) was fantastic.

A great place but give Roberts Restaurant a miss - it was a shocker.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed for the last two nights in room 14 and loved the old building and the personal service. Having said this, despite the cost of the stay, this was more in line with B&B style accommodation. The room could have been cleaner and looked in need of a bit of TLC (broken bin in the bathroom, numerous dead flies, curtains that didn't close etc). The bed is categorically the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. I have never suffered from a bad back but it was so bad last night that I have been awake since 4am. My only guess is that in attempt to retain the authentic convent feel, they have used last century's mattresses, seemingly stuffed with horse hair and various large rocks. All joking aside, it is a real shame that we had such an uncomfortable stay. I wish I had read the reviews before I booked, hence me taking the time to write one. Please, please, please fix the bed issue. I am actually so glad to be back at home! On a positive note, Robert's restaurant was wonderful and again that service was warm and friendly. I will come back, but probably with an inflatable mattress in tow...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0whites0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Peppers Convent for 2 nights after our wedding. It was a lovely hotel with a very calming interior. It's located in a peaceful and quiet position. It was a clean and tidy hotel, and we had good service. We only had the buffet breakfast, but it was great!! We thought the hotel was great value for money, and we also had a really nice room at the right-hand end of hotel which had a large shared balcony. Really looking forward to staying here again. (We stayed in November 2011)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the right-hand, front end of hotel. It was spacious and peaceful, and had a large shared balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just stayed overnight at the convent the place looks stunning as you approach but sadly thats where it stops.
The whole buildings looks a bit tired and in need of a overhaul to bring it up to the standard in which you are being charged for a stay.
All the little details seem to be over looked which is what makes the whole experience of spending time in such supposed sensational accommodation worth while.
The one saving grace was the meal we had at Roberts Restaurant at the entrance to the convent
its was a true dining experience and I look forward to returning to have those tempura zucchini flowers again.
Breakfast was nothing but a true disappointment it the food tasted reheated and the bacon could only be described as tragic.
Peppers really need to lift there standards

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews