We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Convent Hunter Valley
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very relaxing ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed midweek and got a great deal on a superior room with afternoon tea and dinner (in Roberts.) Rang hotel direct and they were very helpful. Went with my mum & sister for their two milestone birthdays.

Hotel was gorgeous and having gone to a covent school the restoration was exactly as we expected - even more unusual for us to be staying in an Irish order convent in Oz. Superior room had 2 day beds which was nice for hanging out (in addition to the balcony) but mattresses not great for night - mind you there's a hint in the name! Actual bed mattresses were comfy. Bathroom & accessories etc were all good and it was nice that bottled water is included. Grounds & pool were lovely and all food was gorgeous. (Hotel has an arrangement with local hair dresser etc but this is not available mid week).

Roberts has an amazingly extensive wine list and a visible very impressive vegetable garden. It also has 4 vegetarian options which can all be served as starter or main although the heirloom tomato dish (delicious) and the vegetables "cooked with love" really can't be counted as mains even if portion is bigger than starter! It's French influenced so from past experience I know I was lucky to have any vegetarian option. So well done Roberts. The girls said their meat dishes were perfect.

The convent obviously is an old building so creaks but noise in morning really travels although everything quietened down by 8:30am - when you're up :)

Staff were very nice and I stupidly left an unopened of wine in the fridge which they said they post to me no problem.

Location is very handy for tempus two cellar door, smelly cheese shop & brokenwood cellar door. Not far to Cessnock which has all usual town things you could need.

We really enjoyed our girls night and would recommend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skye R, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are honoured you and your family chose Peppers Convent and Roberts Circa 1876 to celebrate your families millstone birthdays.

We are so happy you enjoyed our beautiful Convent and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Australia.

All the best.

Kind regards,

Skye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    78
    36
    17
    12
See reviews for
24
171
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We held our wedding at Peppers Convent/Roberts Restaurant in February 2014. My dad recommened Peppers Convent after he had spent the weekend there previously.

The whole thing was totally spectacular, while everything didn't go to plan (it rained and we had to go to plan B), It was still the most magical day ever.

The Team at Peppers Convent/ Roberts Restaurant, we an absolute DREAM to work with in preparing and executing the wedding to perfection.

We received so many compliments from the day about the Venues (Convent, Roberts), about the food, the venue ambience and the service.

We have had numerous guests saying it was the best wedding ever, and recommending it to other friends and family about destinations of choice.

Donna, Glenn, Skye & Renee.. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!!!
Jodie & Jim

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodiet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skye R, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Congratulations on your wedding!

We are so pleased we at Peppers Convent and Roberts Circa 1876 made your day magical and over exceeded your expectations.

All the best in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary.

Kind regards,

Skye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The stay at the Convent was fantastic the staff were great and we have already booked for next year to celebrate our first year married.
Only negative is friends gave us some Peppers Vouchers as a wedding present because they knew we were going there, and it was made all to hard to use them by head office. A big thumbs down for Peppers Vouches.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skye R, Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us.

We look forward to seeing you next year.

Thank you for sharing your review.

Kind regards,

Skye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for three nights - booked two in advance but really wanted three but the website we book through suggested it was full however on arrival we were advised that we could stay third night and the price was much lower than we'd paid for the two previous nights. Therefore I'd suggest contacting the Guest House direct for bookings and not going through the website.

Location is lovely and external views look very inviting (and they are) however we were disappointed with the internal decor of the property. All rather old fashioned and for somewhere that had been updated (according to the 'blurb') recently we were expecting it to be more modern.

Our third night's package included an afternoon tea, it was ok but everything had come straight out of the fridge so sandwiches and cakes were cold.

Breakfast on our final morning was included and that was very nice. It was the only meal we had there so can't comment on other meals.

We didn't have any towels in our room for use by the pool. It is a small pool and has hardly any shade - no sun umbrellas so you can only stay poolside for an absolute minimum of time otherwise you'd get burnt to a cinder in the summer heat. Spa looked as if it had closed sometime ago as furniture was stacked up in the building.

Reception staff were friendly. Good location for exploring the Hunter Valley but overall it was significantly overpriced.

Wi-fi reception in bedrooms was poor but fine in the public lounge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyBean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Have just returned from a long weekend for my wedding at the Convent and Roberts. Everything about the stay was seamless, relaxed, fun, picturesque. We felt thoroughly spoilt, nothing was too much effort and although I'm sure the guys were running around in the background we never felt it -we had run of house which was brilliant. And contrary to other reviews, we couldn't actually hear anything on one side of the Convent from the other. Renee, Donna, Kimberley, Sarah, Glen, Steven - you made this the best weekend of our lives, thank you x

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 8 are HUGE and have amazing verandah's - and the rooms 'out at the back' (6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katleesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just last week spend two nights at Peppers Convent. It was the best experience. Staff are just wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The Convent is very clean, well maintained and buildings and surrounds are just magnificent. We enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast on both mornings and a really nice afternoon tea/lunch both days. Had a meal both nights at Roberts Restaurant which was magnificent and staff also went out of their way to make our night memorable. I would definitely recommend both Peppers Convent and Roberts Restaurant. Staff were exceptional.

Room Tip: Room 8 which is on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here for my sisters wedding and loved it!! The drive up the driveway was full of Wows and Awes which continued inside! The recent renovations have added a modern and clean face lift without compromising any of its charm! Could not get enough of the character!
All the staff were wonderful from booking to checkout, a big thank you goes out to all of them for helping Create an amazing stay for all of our guests!
We booked out the entire Convent with our wedding guests and it was the perfect spot for it! The rooms were all clean and spacious with comfortable beds and the included breakfast was very yum!
My only suggestion to other guests would be to put down the blind in the bathroom at night as you do share a balcony with other guests.
Definitely worth a visit and a stop in at Roberts Restaurant!
I will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jods06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.8 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Convent Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hunter Valley

Property: The Convent Hunter Valley
Address: 88 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Convent Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the famous Wine Country and enjoy luxury boutique hotel accommodation at The Convent Hunter Valley. Just 2.5 hours drive from Sydney CBD, The Convent is nestled within one of Australia's premiere wine regions - Polkobin. Our unique location offers expansive acreage views of the glamorous boutique hotel - The Convent, Pepper Tree Winery and Circa 1876. All venues are located on the estate and surrounded by rich, produce filled kitchen gardens, creating a tranquil culinary treat pleasing to lovers of both food and wine. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a weekend with the girls or your mates, or a fun-filled family holiday, our intimate and boutique Hunter Valley hotel offers something for everyone. Unwind and enjoy renowned local wines at Pepper Tree Winery and share the passion for organic produce and farm to fork dining at our hatted restaurant at Circa 1876. Explore the Hunter Valleys with the whole family and sample the region's many attractions. With an onsite function room, a spectacular backdrop and a relaxing atmosphere, The Convent is the ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Convent Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Peppers Convent Hunter Valley Pokolbin
The Convent Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing