We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding and holiday location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We were married at the Sebel on the Easter long weekend and between friends and family managed to fill around half of the rooms in the whole resort.
Our suite was large with a great loungeroom, king size bed and roomy bathroom with a spa bath. Other rooms were smaller but all with flatscreen TVs and most with balconies overlooking the valley.

Location is right amongst everything, next to the Golden Grape and with many wineries, spas and golf courses only a short drive away. The grounds are perfect for amazing wedding photos and April Werz is a great photgrapher in the area and knows how to make the most of the Hunter.

Previous post have commented on the age of the Hotel and criticised the upkeep, however everything worked perfectly for us and was well maintained. I guess it depends on what you’re after… this hotel is clearly more heritage than it is modern – but that’s the character and what makes it warm and fitting with the Hunter Valley.

The breakfast was plentiful and the staff throughout the hotel generally couldn’t do enough to help you – they were all great.

The gym was small but sufficient if you just want to do a quick jog but if you’re an exercise nut it won’t be what you’re after. The pool was great albeit a little on the cooler side coming into winter.

As far as value goes, it seems the prices increase substantially close to the date of arrival so booking in advance can really help you snap up a bargain.

Room Tip: Book well ahead - rates climb steeply weeks prior
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

Pros:
* fabulous view, close to town (Cessnock)
* reception service was fine, happy and attentive
* facilities

Cons:
* uncomfortable frumpy beds
* restaurant/bar service was painfully slow and disorganised - waited 45mins for two bowls of chips! one bowl which was under cooked.
* food generally was pretty average for the price paid
* $30/head for breakfast quite pricey given the quality
* worn and weary decor
* very expensive rooms for what you get! - avoid "Manor House" and try for the middle building, which has central views and they're a little less 'tired' and cleaner.

Room Tip: avoid Manor House
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eenereats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

It's a nice enough location, amongst the rolling vineyards of the Hunter Valley and the property itself is large and spacious. Good points? Staff are friendly and helpful particularly in the conference centre; at dinner, they were a bit confused and stressed out. Negative points? The whole decor of public areas and rooms was 'tired'. It looked like a shabby upmarket nursing home and was a tad depressing. It was a hot night; the room had a sliding door to the outside, no fly screen; had to have air-con on which was noisy and blew straight on to my face; and there were at least two cockroaches in the bathroom. I know that doesn't mean the place was dirty, but it makes one uncomfortable in the middle of the night. Had less than 2 hours sleep - and then had to drive 3 hours back home after another full day conferencing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have stayed here on a number of occasions an just keep coming back. The rooms are spacious, the staff are very friendly and surrounds are delightful. I love the showers and sitting in the library reading the paper.

It is a little over priced but there is just something nice here that keeps bringing me back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlturner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We booked direct through the hotel after seeing it advertised on Ch7 Sydney weekender. We missed out on the special deal but decided to stay there regardless.
To be fair, they certainly are trying to repair the hotel. If I were to use one One word to best describe the accommodation its TIRED.
The staff seemed courteous and professional.
I was not impressed with the infusion restaurant, its was way too expensive for us - there was a reason it was empty. They should REALLY try and consider their guests to have dinner there instead of looking elsewhere .
After talking to other guests they also were not happy about the restaurant and left there hungry and poorer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed here as part of a small wedding party. While the rooms were spacious and comfortable, we found the resort to be too expensive for what was offered. The hotel itself was very dated and the grounds unkept. The views from the room were of the surrounding valleys and were very nice. The staff was also friendly and helpful.

This hotel would not be my recommendation if you were looking for a romantic getaway. It is a good hotel if you are staying for a wedding or a large social gathering.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronAXA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My husband and I are not wine buffs but thought we'd stay one night. The resort was absolutely beautiful with lovely gardens, great value for money and our room was excellent. Staff were very polite and helpful and I would recommend this resort to anyone wishing to stay in Pokolbin.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetnessSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £89 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views, Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley is the ultimate place for you to escape, unwind and indulge. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style and sophistication. It’s a place where you can leave the day-to-day behind, relaxing in luxurious accommodation, tasting exquisite food, and embracing the beautiful surrounds. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air on picturesque walking trails, and make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. With a range of versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus, your event will be a memorable experience. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens – the largest display garden in the southern hemisphere. Or if you’re feeling a little more adventurous, challenge yourself on a championship golf course or take a dream ride in a hot air balloon. Whether it’s a romantic weekend, time away with the family, a conference or wedding, or simply an indulgent escape, Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing