We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll love it - or not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

There are two possibilities here. If you have the average taste of an average Australian, you may be 'charmed' by the refined decor and the rose gardens. If not, you may be put off by the prissy, old fashioned vibe, which is rather like a three-dimensional Cluedo board brought to life (complete with player-piano rolls). At its standard prices, this is one for the true believers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Only stayed 1 night but I wish it had been more! Had a lovely room with a huge bathroom, fab views. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely and the breakfast was tasty.

As I stayed mid week I felt the rate was excellent value, the property was still very busy though.

The bed was very comfy and I had a great nights sleep, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corcors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We obtained a good deal from a last minute website, half the rack rate price, and were very happy with our stay. Not sure I would want to pay full price however. The room was very well appointed and spacious, and I always appreciate a lounge chair to relax into whilst looking down the front lawn to the dam. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. But there seemed to be something a bit twee about the place that I couldn't quite put my finger on - was it the faux English rose garden or the not quite convincing colonial architecture? Also didn't like the fact that you had to swipe to get into the pool, couldn't see the need for it considering how isolated the place is. Still, if you can get a good deal, it's a very pleasant, quiet place to relax for a few days.

Room Tip: Don't pay rack rate, you can do much better
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwardLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This place has obviously been let run down by Mirvac and is seriously understaffed with inexperienced juniors and oversighted by a poor management team that just does not care.
Everything is done on the cheap. Our 'free upgrade' room (although paid for 6 months in advance) was only given to us niggardly by a resentful manager. Why advertise a free upgrade???? The 'free upgrade' room absolutely stunk from something that had rotted and leaked out of the fridge. Major battle to have us moved to a clean room ( same standard) and only after they could not find any air freshner in three different storerooms. Not too much to ask for a clean room for three nights paid for six months in advance. Bumped into a guest that was given our old room and he complained about the smell and was told to like it or lump it as hotel was full. Disgraceful to give someone that room when management knew of the problems. As a concert was on nearby the carpark was inundated with visitors for the shuttle bus therefore no place for guests to park their cars. Fridge in the new room packed it in first day and no replacement was available therefore no cold drinks. Balconies were unswept and dusty with cobwebs, bird droppings littered the railings. Room service trays and empty bottles were left outside doors for two days (kid you not) but staff were successfully able to high jump them without disturbing the pile. Bar virtually unattended and the young kids had no idea what some drinks were or how to mix them- although knew how to charge at premium prices. Same vein no empty glasses or bottles were ever removed from the tables in the lounge unless you did them yourself. A cheese platter mysteriously appeared on our bill with a completely different signature although this was withdrawn. Free Tip to Management and staff - Check room number and get a signature! The hostess at breakfast was rude (not to us) to a group of elderly people who did not understand protocol for a table. Gardens were half completed and hedges half trimmed- quite hilarious actually. No romantic wedding photos amongst the vines or the pond as the vines had withered and the pond was stagnant.
Mediocre at best with a surly management team that does not care.

Room Tip: Seems pointless when you can pay 6 months in adnace and end up with a putrid room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Rooms in the west wing have a superb view of the valley, and the staff were exceptionally helpful. A great place to say.

Room Tip: As for the view!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed in a Heritage room in the Manor House for one night while stocking up on wine for the coming year. A very pleasant stay in rooms with period furniture, and beautifully kept inside and out. It was also a very comfortable and quiet sleep.

We ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. While there might be some better restaurants food or value wise in the area if you want to drive, the restaurant served a lovely meal for the convenience of eating 'in house' and we would do it again.

While we didn't use the pool and gym we did check it out and it was impressive, rather we enjoyed strolling through the rose garden and fountains, sitting back in the lounge and sitting on our balcony watching the sunset with the spoils of that day's tastings.

We stay in the Hunter Valley wine region each January, and this has been our favourite place so far, and we will return. We did get a special internet rate which made the value for money unquestionable, but would still pay a more normal rate to stay again.

Room Tip: Manor House common interior was a highlight.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinchey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Had a wedding to go to, booked two months ahead of time due to being pregnant.

Location was very nice, grounds were clean and gardens were neat.

Hotel was clean, our room wasn't so clean. Hair in the bathroom and repairs wholes on the bathroom walls.

Bar area was very small, staff not there all the time. Price of drinks very high.

Wedding was very nice, a job well done.

Breakfast was great, the staff were to happy to assist you if you needed anything different.

I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £89 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing