We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

This is a gorgeous hotel set back from the road with a amazing gated entrance

The staff are friendly especially Kira from the bar she made us feel like we were right at home
(Keeping in mind this is not your average hotel it feels like your staying in your wealthy friends holiday house )
You can tell renovations are happening right under your nose but they don't make a fuss about it

We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers0095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed with the sebel kirkton and had a great time the grounds lovely and staff efficient. We managed to fit in plenty of r and r and went home with a car full of delightful hunter valley wine. Thank you for a great weekend in the hunter valley.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel is surprisingly pretty. Its older appearance compliments the rural suuroundings. The rooms are quaint in design and furnished tastefully. The ambience is laid back - this is a great place to chill out. Hotel location is great - minutes to wineries and local attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeHouse3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We ordered one of the black Angus steaks it was ordered medium to well and it came out like rubber. I told the waitress and ordered the lamb dish as replacement . The lamb dish came out rare and I got three small pieces. We also ordered some entree and the waitresses told my wife and I that there were no olives left so they would put sundried tomatoes instead. To our surprise when they brought out the lamb dish that my wife ordered it was drowning in olives! And the same with mine. During the course of our dinner we heard a couple of tables also complaining, one guy asked to see the chef but the chef kept on stalling...no surprise to us.

I would not recommend anyone go to this lame excuse for a hotel. It would be better if it closed down or went under new management..with new chefs... or actual chefs!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaybrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel has great scenery/views around it. The style to the hotel might be a little cheesy and old fashioned for some but I liked it and thought that it was well suited to its surroundings. Different to the typical modern look to most hotels. The room we stayed in was quite spacious since we needed a baby cot in the room (only had to pay extra $10 to hire one).

Other than the fact that there was a huge spider in our room, in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyejinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The room we stayed in was large, well-resourced and the bed was very comfortable. I wish there was a way that when guests in adjoining rooms leave at 6.00am that room doors could close without making slamming vibrations coming through the adjoining walls.
The Restaurant and adjoining full size pool table were excellent.
It’s a pity the package deal was not received on arrival, it would have been great to enjoy its contents, and take up the visit the Winery tour offer, but we had to asks for it on our departure.
The restaurant and breakfast staff gave excellent service during our stay, pity about reception not organising the delivery of the hamper.

Room Tip: Hint:- forget about the package deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acpcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I've stayed here a number of times on business. It's a fair drive from the New England Highway, and the towns and business opportunities there, but that's a huge plus. The location is lovely and the early mornings and sunset views in the evenings are very peaceful, as long as there's not a party, wedding, or other function occurring.

The rooms are large and 'charming', and each room in which I've stayed has a different layout and feel to it. Most of the staff are very friendly and the rooms are kept nice and clean. The beds are very comfortable -- the only negative on the sleep quality rating is that it can be a bit noisy sometimes, depending on what else is going on in the hotel.

There's a large indoor pool and I believe there's a gym (and maybe a spa), although I've only used the pool. The grounds are very pretty and on a quiet night it's lovely to sit outdoors and just listen.

Definitely one of the better places I've stayed in the Hunter Valley, and much better value than the highway motels in the larger towns, yet close enough to Cessnock to allow one to go shopping or to satisfy fast food cravings. The Sebel is usually my first choice in the Valley.

Room Tip: The manor house tends to have the quietest rooms, while those in the main building tend to be the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £99 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing