We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
405
345
150
56
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
345
150
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssebel kirktonmanor houseindoor poolhigh teahunter valleyrose gardenbuffet breakfastroom was spaciousrolling hillsmain buildinglovely groundstennis courtsmid weeka lovely stayopen fireglass of winewine country
Filter
Updating list...
967 - 972 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2008

I've stayed here twice during the past few years and really like it.

The hotel is right in the main wine area of the Hunter Valley. Rooms are very comfortable, well decorated and a decent size. Ask for one of the rooms that overlooks the valley as the views are great. As far as I could tell, all have an outdoor terrace with chairs and table - very relaxing place to enjoy a bottle of wine or two!

The indoor pool is pretty nice, the grounds lovely, friendly staff etc.

You can also get pretty good deals, especially if you book at WOTIF.com

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

We stayed for a night. The hotel has a most fantastic location. All the staff we met was all super and friendly and we had very nice room. We had a superb dinner in the restaurant, it was great.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

We just had a conference here and personally, I loved it! The surrounds are beautiful and the views great. I would like to go back someday.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

We booked the Heritage room for 5 nights and got quoted a certain price. When we were checking out, they charged us almost $300 more than what they quoted over the phone which was a horrible shock to us! They said they couldn't do anything about it so we had to fork out the money!

Infuzions had nice food (although overly priced for what you get) however their service was shocking - there was only us and another couple and it took us 2 hours to get our mains after them mixing up the orders! There were only 4 people in the entire restaurant! I'd like to see how they'd handle a full restaurant!

When we asked them during the phone booking if we could have something special organised as it was our wedding anniversary they said that wouldn't be a problem. All we got was a generic happy anniversary card (this is the Hunter Valley - a couple of nice chocolates or even a bottle of cheap bubbly would've been nicer!). Something else couldn've been organised at an "additional cost"! We didn't even get one free breakfast out of it (even though we were there for 5 nights!).

Finally our room had giant mosquitoes inside which made things really uncomfortable and the air vent wasn't working in the bathroom.

It's like if you don't spend the big bucks and stay in the expensive rooms there, you get treated very poorly. We definately would not consider going there again!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank CTab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We stayed in one of the Heritage Rooms which opened out to a veranda. Tip: make sure you keep the veranda doors closed in the evening, otherwise you'll be inundated with bugs!

The room was average sized with enough room for a sofa, coffee table and King sized bed with lovely linen, which was very comfortable. The bathroom was in an art deco style which suits the hotel's features.

The hotel staff were great - we had requested a quiet room and got it. The pool area was being renovated (and had been for the last six months or so!) at the time (Feb 2006) but still useable.

We got the room at a discount, so it was good value at the discounted rate (about 40% off the rack-rate), but I don't think it's worth its full price rate.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tistybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews