We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not set up for disabled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not set up for disabled”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff went out of their way to try to accommodate us after given a room where we had to go up steps to get to and even a huge step to get into the shower and no grab rails (yes, we informed them beforehand of our disability). This first room had chipped paint, bodgied up holes behind the door, and mould in the grout in the bathroom. It was pretty slap shot and unappealing.
While we contemplated going home the manager on duty 'found' us a disabled room. I felt that it was all an imposition yet still wanted to give this motel a chance due to the other lovely staff.
Parking - almost impossible if you're in a wheelchair. Trying to get around to the front of the facility was a nightmare when we were given another room to look at.
Slippery tiles! A very small seat in the shower recess, no-where to put shampoo bottle, it needs grab rails, and needs a panic button.
To access the lovely gardens we encountered more obstacles! Loose stones for pathways and more steps.
30 minute wait at breakfast to get a cup of coffee is too long.
Very disappointed in access and won't be able to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask about access before you book. ALL aspect of access including shower grabrails and ability to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuuBlundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    305
    126
    51
    28
See reviews for
129
501
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

3 and 4 Oct.
Stunning location and really great colonial features. However, things went wrong from when we checked in. The block with our room number marked on the map by check in staff was incorrect and having driven to nearest car park, and carried our bags around aimlessly. We had to confirm details back at reception and were told to go where we were originally parked.

We arrived 2pm there is an all day menu but found no light meals apart from side orders. We did not want to pay for a full meal above $30 as we were going to eat at the restaurant that evening. A more appropriate lunch menu would be considerate.

The evening meal and service was most disappointing. We had an inkling of this while walking past the kitchen door with music blaring out over the peaceful gardens. This seemed to be the case everytime we passed during our stay. Really gives a bad impression to guests.

Staff got my side order wrong and included it on my main plate. How did they know we did not wish to share? The waitress did not pour our wine initially or refill at any point. Restaurant not busy and the matre de was hardly seen outside the kitchen. The glaze with the pork belly entree was stuck fast to the plate, not chance of tasting it with the pork that was just a brick of fat and crackling that was obviously a leftover. Also if you are going to serve a Spatchcock then please don't label it as Chicken on the Menu!

Room had interlocking door, unfortunate as we had some very loud and inconsiderate neighbours. Maybe better sound proofing?

At check out we were told about credit card fee, which was not much but I think they should inform customers of this when taking an imprint of card at check in!

Could be great place if a bit more attention to first impressions.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have a connecting room. Veranda view at the rear of property absolutely stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked two rooms for two couples & absolutely thought it was great! Went on the October long weekend for one night as we reside in Newcastle so just after a quick break and this was the first time we had stayed there. We each had a deluxe queen room and the views were beautiful and rooms were large.The staff were very helpful and the reception area was stunning!
The only thing if I had to name it was carpark 1 did not have enough space as there were half a dozen cars that had to mount the gutter and park on the grass but it was a long weekend and it didn't bother us.
Will absolutely stay there again... looking forward to it too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great location and very quiet during our weekdays stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great pool, spa and gym. Handy to the Hunter vineyards. Good rural retreat feel with large grounds looking over rural and mountain areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Sebel Kirkton Park in the Hunter Valley. We had a comfortable room which overlooked a country vista complete with the soft mooing of cows in the distance. It was idyllic! I chose it because we have a 10 year old daughter and with a pool, spa, gym, tennis courts, basketball hoop and pool table, I thought we should just be able to just relax and never leave.
Our room was not huge but it was a comfortable standard hotel room with a sofa bed for our daughter. Everything worked and it was great to have a balcony to relax outside.
And all went to plan apart from the very cold indoor pool. When we arrived it was just 21 degrees in the pool ... brrrr!! It was supposed to be fixed the next day, but if it did get warmer, it wasn't by much. The spa on the other hand was like a hot bath. All the gym equipment worked as well.
We met some people who had hoped to use the advertised bbq facilities and were less than happy there were none! When they raised the issue, the staff kindly offered to get the chef to cook the 10kg!! of meat they'd bought with them so at least they didn't go hungry!
Overall, it was a wonderful break in an area families wouldn't necessarily think would be good. We didn't go travelling around the wineries because of our daughter, but the Kirkton Park had plenty to keep us occupied.

Room Tip: We had a Heritage Superior which may be the rooms either end of the buildings. They are slightly lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.8 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Property: The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are looking for a close but elegant holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we invite you to consider The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley.The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley is less than 2 hours drive from Sydney's CBD in the glorious, panoramic Pokolbin countryside. Featuring an excellent array of meeting, conference and event facilities, this stylish hotel combines the elegance of a bygone era with all the comforts and luxuries of a contemporary lifestyle. This romantic Hunter Valley accommodation is perfect for a couple's weekend away to reconnect, unwind and spend time with the one you love.Set within 70 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and gently rolling grounds with magnificent views over tranquil vineyards and the wineries of the Hunter Valley, The Sebel Kirkton Park offers exceptional accommodation and a superb array of activities for leisure guests, as well as the conference and incentive delegate. Elegant function rooms and stunning scenery make this the ideal venue for stylish wedding receptions.Couples and families will enjoy the manicured gardens, tennis courts and the many facilities at The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley. With 71 beautifully appointed rooms and suites it is the ideal choice for romantic weekends away or time out with the children. There are several Hunter Valley accommodation wedding and weekend getaway packages available as well.The hotel accommodation rooms and suites are spacious and well appointed, majority with ensuite bathrooms, some with individual spa baths, complimentary cookies and tea making facilities, cable television, minibar and all rooms have broadband connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing