We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have recently stayed one night at this hotel. Really disappointed! The room smelt fusty. We had to unplug the fridge and a lamp to be able to use the sockets as the other two near the desk were hanging off the wall. The fridge had only five items in it, maybe it had not been replenished however there were no price list to be found (did have a bottle of wine but no wine glasses to be seen). All the furniture were old and battered. Only one dressing robe in the wardrobe. Breakfast were just ok. Certainly wont return to a Sebel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriaholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Please accept my apologies regarding your experience at Kirkton Park. I would certainly like to speak with you further regarding your stay and would ask that you please contact me directly at H8797-gm@accor.com or 02 4993 1303. It is my hope that your experience is an anomally and we have the opportunity to rectify this so that no other guest experiencese these same challenges.
Sincerley,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just came back from a girls weekend away and we absolutely loved it! Staff are great, friendly & professional. Room size was good, and had lots of space to move around even with the sofa-bed pulled out. Bathroom was also a decent size, it just needs more room around the vanity but we managed just fine. Room was cleaned and serviced when we came back from our day tour. Loved being able to charge our tickets for the Christmas Lights & our day tour back to our room. Breakfast was lovely. The location is great. Would recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here Christmas eve & day and we loved it! The views over the valley were fantastic, our room was clean, bright, and all of the comforts we could ask for. Bathroom was a generous size and loved the robes in the closet for us to lounge on our balcony!

We loved our stay and will be back again!!

p.s. we also booked the Christmas buffet lunch which was excellent!

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room overlooking the valley, it was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCWSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the fabulous review we appreicate your taking the time to tell us about your stay. We agree Kirkton Park has wonderful views over the Valley and gives you a true Hunter experience i am delighted that you chose to spend Christmas with us. Thank you for the great feedback on our Christmas buffet we are excited about 2014 and what wonderful offering we will have next Christams I hope you will join us again.
Happy New Year.
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank howlett2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Fantastic property to visit and relax. Staff very friendly and personal. Restaurant Breakfast Buffet with many options. Dinner very fine dining and superb meals served. Tennis Court and Pool/Spa Facilities great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Daniel,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Kirkton Park. It is with pleasure that i read your review of your stay in the Hunter. Please know that i will pass on your feedback to my team i know that they will appreciate your comments as we continualy strive to exceed our guest expectations in both service and our culinary offerings.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Decided I needed a pamper weekend so I booked into the Sebel. I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very comfortable, with bath, robes, very nice tasteful furniture. The vineyards are close by and the service and amenities at the Sebel were just what I needed. Dinner on the balcony overlooking a beautiful rose garden with fountain. My room had a balcony with sweeping views of the Hunter Valley wineries. Heated pool and gym, I couldn't ask for more. Overall a great escape.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room, Max Drayton Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearyResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £99 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing