We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    316
    129
    51
    28
See reviews for
133
518
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed only one night whilst enjoying a balloon ride the next morning over the region.
Although we had a room in the original homestead this was a great stay with rural views, a huge indoor pool in a roman setting, great food and excellent service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return.
I associate the name Sebel with superior hotels and was not disappointed.

Room Tip: Outer rooms facing west and north have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Warren,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Sebel Kirkton Park in particular our fabulous views and lovely pool house. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. I will pass on your praise to our chefs, I know they will be thrilled to hear your feedback.


I hope to welcome you back again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the Sebel as a surprise for my partners birthday, we stayed 3 nights in a deluxe room and were very impressed by the size and the views, we had a balcony (shared) that looked over the grounds and on to the mountains, it was stunning. The staff were lovely, the location was great and overall we were very happy. We had breakfast one morning and with our discount ($20 each instead of $30) it was good value. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but walked to the restaurant next door (Twine) which was heavenly.

The pool and spa area was nice, unfortunately crowded with children at the time, and not as 'heated' as I would of hoped, but still nice. The bed was very comfortable, the room was lovely but attention to detail lacked a little, had to ask for the room to be made up 1 night, no extra toilet paper left, ect. But overall very nice and we would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TashnTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. We were delighted to read that you were impressed by your stay in one of our Deluxe Rooms, which all provide a beautiful unobstructed view over the valley. I will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping department who will follow up on the issues you had to ensure this is not a problem in the future.

I hope to welcome you back again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived after a road trip from Sydney into the wonderful Hunter Valley and were made very welcome. The hotel sits in highly maintained grounds with excellent views. We had three rooms in the manor house block which was in excellent order throughout. The rooms were large and met all our needs, plus we were given complimentary free wi fi. Our evening meal was pleasant in comfortable surrounds - the waitress was very knowledgeable about the local wines and her choice of gun dog estate was great. The indoor pool was clean and well maintained although a little cool, but great to swim in. Mountain bikes available for hire. Breakfast in the conservatory was plentiful and of a high standard. We all enjoyed our stay - thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Manor house. All our staff strive to keep their knowledge of the local area and produce up to date so I'm sure they will be thrilled when they hear your feedback.

I hope to welcome you back again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights after reading TA reviews and we were glad that we did. The hotel is set in wonderful surroundings with plenty of resort facilities. The deluxe room was clean, of a good size and with beautiful views of the countryside. We ate at the restaurant and I would thoroughly recommend the food. It was a special occasion for us and Ash organised flowers for my wife and also supplied wine. Thank you Ash. In fact, we found all staff to be attentive and very helpful. Would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahambCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Graham,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. It is great to hear that you chose to stay at the Sebel Kirkton Park after reading our TA reviews. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful deluxe rooms. I will pass on your praise to our chefs, I know they will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

I hope to welcome you back again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Sebel Kirkton Park is set on lovely rolling acres. Check in was efficient. Our room was on the lower level of the Manor House, which opened out to gardens with a fountain where we could sit at our own small table in the afternoon sun. There is no privacy though with all the rooms on this level opening to the same area. I was the first there in the afternoon and though the rooms on either side opened their doors and walked out into this area, they all retreated back inside as we would have been sitting about 3 metres apart. The room was clean - to me the bathroom had been refitted recently, although some of the other furniture in the room (being heavy timber, in keeping with the style of the hotel) showed some signs of age.
Breakfast offered a continental breakfast or hot buffet with the usual options and nothing out of the ordinary, all quite adequately done.
All in all a pleasant stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels have better views over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar1ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the location of the Manor house and garden and will take onboard your feedback regarding the balcony being a more private experience in the future for our guests.
I hoep to welcome you back again shortly.
Sincerely,
Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.8 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Property: Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views, Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley is the ultimate place for you to escape, unwind and indulge. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style and sophistication. It’s a place where you can leave the day-to-day behind, relaxing in luxurious accommodation, tasting exquisite food, and embracing the beautiful surrounds. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air on picturesque walking trails, and make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. With a range of versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus, your event will be a memorable experience. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens – the largest display garden in the southern hemisphere. Or if you’re feeling a little more adventurous, challenge yourself on a championship golf course or take a dream ride in a hot air balloon. Whether it’s a romantic weekend, time away with the family, a conference or wedding, or simply an indulgent escape, Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing