We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Aside from a tranquil location, the staff at Kirkton Park are what makes this place so great. They are friendly, unobtrusive, know the local area well, and want to ensure you have a fabulous stay - from check in to check out the service could not be faulted. The grounds are lovely and the property is huge so you can enjoy magnificent views over the fields and distant hills and also watch the ducks on the ponds - very nice while having a bottle of the lovely local product. My favourite part of the stay is curling up in the comfy leather sofas in front of the open fire. if you want a weekend to just relax, this is your place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views over the hills and fields - you can get a room that overlooks the garden w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMcKerracher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Lee,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us feedback on your stay. We were delighted to read that you were able to make the most of our lovely lounge area filled with chesterfields and with the log fire burning each night its a lovely way to unwind and im glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for the great feedback on our team it is alwasy great to recieve comments such as yours as we continue to strive for excellence in service for our guests at every interaction. Our location with its 70 acres on views over the Pokolbin Valley is unique and i hope you are able to come back to Kirkon Park in the near future.
Sincerely,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent a lovely afternoon enjoying a superb High Tea at the The Sebel 's restaurant with my wife for Mothers's Day. The experience was enhanced by the excellent food and variety together with the very attentive service of the staff. Our table was in a perfect position were we could view the manicured gardens, pastures and the mountains in the distance. We have stayed at the The Sebel in the past and and found excellent rooms, service and a perfect establishment to stay in when visiting the Hunter Valley vineyards. A Perfect Day and we would recommend The Sebel for their accommodation and restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pastures and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 236RobertR236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your trip.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your Mother's Day High Tea at the Sebel Kirkton Park. We strive to make it a special and enjoyable event for everyone attending. We will pass on your comments to all staff involved in the day. I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear such great feedback.

I hope to welcome you back to Kirkton Park again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Yonny
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed only one night whilst enjoying a balloon ride the next morning over the region.
Although we had a room in the original homestead this was a great stay with rural views, a huge indoor pool in a roman setting, great food and excellent service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return.
I associate the name Sebel with superior hotels and was not disappointed.

Room Tip: Outer rooms facing west and north have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Warren,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Sebel Kirkton Park in particular our fabulous views and lovely pool house. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. I will pass on your praise to our chefs, I know they will be thrilled to hear your feedback.


I hope to welcome you back again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the Sebel as a surprise for my partners birthday, we stayed 3 nights in a deluxe room and were very impressed by the size and the views, we had a balcony (shared) that looked over the grounds and on to the mountains, it was stunning. The staff were lovely, the location was great and overall we were very happy. We had breakfast one morning and with our discount ($20 each instead of $30) it was good value. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but walked to the restaurant next door (Twine) which was heavenly.

The pool and spa area was nice, unfortunately crowded with children at the time, and not as 'heated' as I would of hoped, but still nice. The bed was very comfortable, the room was lovely but attention to detail lacked a little, had to ask for the room to be made up 1 night, no extra toilet paper left, ect. But overall very nice and we would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TashnTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. We were delighted to read that you were impressed by your stay in one of our Deluxe Rooms, which all provide a beautiful unobstructed view over the valley. I will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping department who will follow up on the issues you had to ensure this is not a problem in the future.

I hope to welcome you back again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived after a road trip from Sydney into the wonderful Hunter Valley and were made very welcome. The hotel sits in highly maintained grounds with excellent views. We had three rooms in the manor house block which was in excellent order throughout. The rooms were large and met all our needs, plus we were given complimentary free wi fi. Our evening meal was pleasant in comfortable surrounds - the waitress was very knowledgeable about the local wines and her choice of gun dog estate was great. The indoor pool was clean and well maintained although a little cool, but great to swim in. Mountain bikes available for hire. Breakfast in the conservatory was plentiful and of a high standard. We all enjoyed our stay - thank you very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda P, General Manager at Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Manor house. All our staff strive to keep their knowledge of the local area and produce up to date so I'm sure they will be thrilled when they hear your feedback.

I hope to welcome you back again shortly.

Sincerely,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
6.5 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £95 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing