We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
419
348
151
57
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
348
151
57
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sebel kirkton manor house indoor pool high tea hunter valley rose garden buffet breakfast room was spacious rolling hills main building lovely grounds tennis courts mid week a lovely stay open fire glass of wine wine country
Filter
Updating list...
975 - 980 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Just came back from 3 nights stay at this resort. Staff were very helpful and the location was wonderful. It was a very relaxing time. The location made it a very special time for this anniversary. The room we were in could use a bit of an update but it was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed in a heritage room for 3 nights, and the things that stood out were:

- The room was decent for the price we paid - but the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was clean, but there were marks on the bathtub, although its understandable given wear and tear.
- The only gripe i would have would be that most rooms are along one big block, so the balcony is actually one LONG balcony. This is great if you are travelling in a large group and have booked several rooms, but not so good if you want privacy.
- We had an included cheese platter, which was rather lackluster
- The Infuzions restaurant was nice, and we didn't experience the large wait times that others here have. The food was decent, but not outstanding.

Overall, the location and views are fantastic (all you can hear in the mornings are the moos of the cows and chirps of the birds, its fantastic) - but otherwise, an average experience, consider the money you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pyremoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed just one Saturday night at the Sebel Kirkton for a short break. We booked the B&B and Dinner package on their website for a Deluxe room for 375 AUD
Quite a couple of years ago we had stayed there before and it is still a very charming lovely hotel with a great swimming pool and lovely gardens. The views across the meadows and vineyards are very nice. I am not sure where the 4.5 star rating comes from, probably from a time when all the awards in the lobby were given (mid to late nineties). Now it looks and feels more like 3.5 stars to me.
Our room was clean but all in all the furniture looked a little bit tired showing some marks from previous visitors. The TV is still an old massive box, which surprisingly worked well and the selection of channels was not as limited as you get in some other hotels. The walls are rather thin and you will hear your neighbour having a shower. The balcony has nice views, but the rustic iron garden furniture should at least come with some cushions for seating comfort. As you are sharing a very large balcony with your neighbours it would be a good idea to have privacy screens for those seeking a more intimate place. Oh and before I forget the bedside alarm clock had an IPod station to recharge and play - however it was not set, but switched off.
The bathroom was clean but still has the very old fashioned layout with small shower and a bathtub, where barely one person would fit in. The bathrobes were very basic (waffle cotton) and towels weren't that fluffy and large, rather modest. However the shower was actually quite nice raining down on you.
The dinner I thought was ok, but nothing to rave about. We picked the hotel restaurant because we wanted to drink some wine and not having to drive anymore. There are a lot better places in the Hunter to eat, but it is not too bad either.
The breakfast was very good in regards to the fresh fruit on offer, but everything else was not really that great. The scrambled eggs didn't look tempting at all and I am not a big fan of backed beans and sausages either. Some people though seemed to like it a lot.
We have enjoyed our stay and might be back for a short break again, knowing all the humps and bumps of the property it still has a lot of charm and when your expectations are not set too high it is a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed here for the weekend. The rooms were on the smaller side. The wodden floor boards and paper thin walls meant we didnt get a very good nights sleep. You can hear people walking around next door, or on the shared balcony. You can also hear Tvs. from the adjacent rooms.The icing on the cake was when we ordered room service. After getting our meal delivered, reception called our room to tell us that we were not allowed to smoke in our room., or any hotel room in australia. I asked him why the sebel website had a smoking preference option ( which I ticked of course.) He didnt care.He told us to go outside in the cold. The buffet breakfast was pretty average. I feel this hotel hotel is 3 stars at best and definately not worth 250 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Situated in its own grounds, with beautiful views of vneyards and countryside. Well spread-out, gives feel of privacy. Most rooms have their own private mini-balcony, with under-cover access from the public areas. Convenient car parking. Restaurant ('Infuzion' - separately listed). Bar and free pool table. Pleasant lounge with fireplace, swimming pool, tennis court and gym. Wifi liable to malfunction. Special offers could include wine-and-cheese on arrival. Very generous 'European' breakfast includes quiches, ham and cheese, fresh pancakes. Staff most obliging.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews