We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been in cleaner hostels...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Although this property has beautiful grounds & WAS clearly at one point a fabulous place to stay - no rennovations have taken place since that time. The bathroom is ancient and there were places where tiles had clearly fallen off the wall - only to be glued back up again without any grout filling or attempt to match it up with the rest of the wall. The entire room was covered in a layer of filth - spatters on the wall, lampshade a muted grey from the dust, cobwebs with bugs all over cieling, etc. When asking for the cocktail menu in the bar - the employee said "Oh we'll I'm not the regular, but I'll try my best" - clearly I had wine instead. Of course they also upped their prices for the Easter weekend - overall, a major disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoodieObsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2010

Just came back from 3 nights stay at this resort. Staff were very helpful and the location was wonderful. It was a very relaxing time. The location made it a very special time for this anniversary. The room we were in could use a bit of an update but it was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed in a heritage room for 3 nights, and the things that stood out were:

- The room was decent for the price we paid - but the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was clean, but there were marks on the bathtub, although its understandable given wear and tear.
- The only gripe i would have would be that most rooms are along one big block, so the balcony is actually one LONG balcony. This is great if you are travelling in a large group and have booked several rooms, but not so good if you want privacy.
- We had an included cheese platter, which was rather lackluster
- The Infuzions restaurant was nice, and we didn't experience the large wait times that others here have. The food was decent, but not outstanding.

Overall, the location and views are fantastic (all you can hear in the mornings are the moos of the cows and chirps of the birds, its fantastic) - but otherwise, an average experience, consider the money you pay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pyremoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed just one Saturday night at the Sebel Kirkton for a short break. We booked the B&B and Dinner package on their website for a Deluxe room for 375 AUD
Quite a couple of years ago we had stayed there before and it is still a very charming lovely hotel with a great swimming pool and lovely gardens. The views across the meadows and vineyards are very nice. I am not sure where the 4.5 star rating comes from, probably from a time when all the awards in the lobby were given (mid to late nineties). Now it looks and feels more like 3.5 stars to me.
Our room was clean but all in all the furniture looked a little bit tired showing some marks from previous visitors. The TV is still an old massive box, which surprisingly worked well and the selection of channels was not as limited as you get in some other hotels. The walls are rather thin and you will hear your neighbour having a shower. The balcony has nice views, but the rustic iron garden furniture should at least come with some cushions for seating comfort. As you are sharing a very large balcony with your neighbours it would be a good idea to have privacy screens for those seeking a more intimate place. Oh and before I forget the bedside alarm clock had an IPod station to recharge and play - however it was not set, but switched off.
The bathroom was clean but still has the very old fashioned layout with small shower and a bathtub, where barely one person would fit in. The bathrobes were very basic (waffle cotton) and towels weren't that fluffy and large, rather modest. However the shower was actually quite nice raining down on you.
The dinner I thought was ok, but nothing to rave about. We picked the hotel restaurant because we wanted to drink some wine and not having to drive anymore. There are a lot better places in the Hunter to eat, but it is not too bad either.
The breakfast was very good in regards to the fresh fruit on offer, but everything else was not really that great. The scrambled eggs didn't look tempting at all and I am not a big fan of backed beans and sausages either. Some people though seemed to like it a lot.
We have enjoyed our stay and might be back for a short break again, knowing all the humps and bumps of the property it still has a lot of charm and when your expectations are not set too high it is a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed here for the weekend. The rooms were on the smaller side. The wodden floor boards and paper thin walls meant we didnt get a very good nights sleep. You can hear people walking around next door, or on the shared balcony. You can also hear Tvs. from the adjacent rooms.The icing on the cake was when we ordered room service. After getting our meal delivered, reception called our room to tell us that we were not allowed to smoke in our room., or any hotel room in australia. I asked him why the sebel website had a smoking preference option ( which I ticked of course.) He didnt care.He told us to go outside in the cold. The buffet breakfast was pretty average. I feel this hotel hotel is 3 stars at best and definately not worth 250 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Situated in its own grounds, with beautiful views of vneyards and countryside. Well spread-out, gives feel of privacy. Most rooms have their own private mini-balcony, with under-cover access from the public areas. Convenient car parking. Restaurant ('Infuzion' - separately listed). Bar and free pool table. Pleasant lounge with fireplace, swimming pool, tennis court and gym. Wifi liable to malfunction. Special offers could include wine-and-cheese on arrival. Very generous 'European' breakfast includes quiches, ham and cheese, fresh pancakes. Staff most obliging.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We've stayed in Sebel Hotel for the Easter Weekend. I should've read some of the reviews earlier. I've stayed in many 4 1/2 star hotels before, this one doesn't come close to it. They had a problem with a heating system at the swimming pool, it didn't work. The most disappointing was the cleanliness of the room, carpet was dirty and there was a strange smell in the room. We spend most of our time outdoors, just not to stay in that room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rufus15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £98 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing