We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete luxury”
Review of Tower Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Lodge
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Complete luxury”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is our third time back to Tower Lodge and enjoyed it once again. Everything is the same.... wonderful setting, wonderful rooms, wonderful relaxing atmosphere. We were excited this time to experience the new Nine restaurant.... it was amazing and worth every cent. Our host and his staff are professional and made our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    19
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a small luxury hotel which is peaceful with first class service.
Not very impressive from outside but lovely interior. The rooms vary - ours was a little dark but very comfortable, breakfast was served outside in the courtyard and was delicious.
We had dinner one evening in Nine in the basement which is a small room with only about five tables the meal (nine small courses) was good but very slow each delicate little course being served beautifully but after a longish wait the poor waitresses spent their time negotiating a narrow staircase with trays of food. It was very expensive and not our best meal while in the Hunter Valley.
There is a lovely small swimming pool with loungers and the indoor space is comfortable and cosy for afternoon tea or pre dinner drinks.
There are some very attractive gardens worth a visit a short drive down the road and of course lots of wineries.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Excellent stay, we were the only 2 people there so hard to gauge what busy would be like. All staff attentive and polite. Obviously well managed and run. Had dinner at Roberts (see separate review) and all meals were of very high class. Cannot go past the rooms or feel of the place without feeling very wowed. Not sure the website does it justice. Almost perfect. Will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwasere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have recently returned from a wonderful two-night stay for our 20th wedding anniversary and everything was more than we expected. The staff were very friendly and professional and our room was just perfect. We had an elevated bed area overlooking the lounge and a large walk-through dressing area to the bathroom with amazing rain shower.

The breakfasts provided a lovely relaxed, and filling, start to the day and we were lucky with the weather to be able to enjoy one of them outside in the sun in the courtyard.

Pre-dinner drinks were served in the bar area (just have to return when it is colder and the fire is lit) and we were then chauffured by Andreas (the GM) to and from Roberts where we enjoyed a lovely dinner. The 'piece de resistance' was on the second night when, due to our late booking they could not accommodate us in "Nine"; instead we had a private dinner set-up in the library. The nine-course degustation meal is certainly worth the money and is a great experience - the 'swirling' of the red wine decanter and dry-ice presentation of the dessert' is well worth seeing!

As we have visited the Hunter Valley on numerous occasions, rushing around on wine tastings was not part of this trip which gave us the ideal opportunity to relax around the pool, which we had all to ourselves, on a lovely sunny afternoon.

Unfortunately, as we were not there for a weekend afternoon, we could not participate in afternoon tea, however, we would certainly love to return again and highly recommend a stay here.

Cheers, Anni and Scott

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

During our trip in Australia we stayed 2 nights at the Tower Lodge and it definitely is luxury place. There are not so many rooms which makes the atmosphere just like you would be visiting friends. The rooms are nice, clean and have a unique decoration. Service was perfect. Breakfast was fresh and there were a lot of good choices to pick from the menu. I think it was the small details which surprised me - every evening at 7 the Hotel manager did open a bottle of champagne with his sword (guests did take care that none of the good stuff was wasted). If you are visiting Hunter Valley and you demand for luxury, good service, privacy then the Tower Lodge is THE place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoffaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here August 2010 - food & wine could not be faulted but was extra to our room rates. Ambience was unique, eclectic & very luxurious..
Swimming pool wasn't heated, grounds looked a little folorn, some of the ammenities & furnishings starting to look slight tatty.
Service was very good - but they keep harassing me to go back.
When they add spa baths to the bathrooms or to each room, get the pool heated I would consider going back OR if someone else is paying the bill!

Room Tip: Ask for photos of which room you are in & of the rest of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LadybugGrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerEstate, General Manager at Tower Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thankyou for your honest and direct response regarding your stay at Tower Lodge, it is comments and feedback like this that help us improve our standards and services to our guests. As your stay was some time ago (nearly 18 months) a lot has changed during this time. These changes include the heating of the outside pool and the purchase of all new outdoor equipment for the lawns and gardens. Even during your stay in August 2010 we already had spa baths in every room so perhaps you did not get the chance to use them. I must apologise if you have been receiving too many communication pieces from us, however we just want to keep a close contact with you so that you dont miss out on any of the special event weekends we host at the Lodge like our "Grand Chef Series" dinners. We can however remove you from our email list if you wish us to. I look forward to now welcoming you back again to Tower Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We went as a group of 4 as this is an experience that should be shared. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely young lady, who apart from checking us in, showed us to our fabulous and unique themed rooms, gave us a guided tour of the lodge then helped us with our luggage!
Following a quick trip to Pokolbin we arrived back for a very genteel late afternoon tea, cakes and sandwiches followed of course by predinner drinks in the sitting area. Here we met our charming and knowleable host Andreas Brietfuss.
On then to " Nine" restaurant for our degustation dinner and what an experience that was. Every course was excellent and was matched with an appropriate wine. Not cheap but well worth the outlay.
A lazy breakfast in the courtyard was a great way to start the next day. When a problem arose with the scheduled dinner at Roberts that night arrangements were made for us to have a private dinner in the library at the lodge. I'm sure Roberts would have been wonderful but it could not match the ambience of the library at the Lodge. Again the food we had preordered was superb as were the wines.
While the Lodge is not particularly impressive from the outside do not be put off as things change when you walk through the massive wooden doors, while the antique furniture throughout is amazing. All rooms and have views across the vineyards.

Room Tip: Any room would be okay, it just depends on what theme room you would like personally
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.2 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge

Property: Tower Lodge
Address: 6 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:5 star — Tower Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Lodge is the only truly intimate World class luxury Lodge in the Hunter Valley region, accommodating a maximum of 24 guests at any one time. The Lodge is not only luxurious, but also offers a stage to create your own special experience, one that will become your benchmark for years to come. Located at Tower Estate in the Hunter Valley, Australia the Lodge was recognised as the best "Luxury Lodge" for 2010 at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Tower Lodge represents all that is Unique, Intimate and Luxurious. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Pokolbin
Tower Lodge - Relais And Chateaux
Tower Lodge Pokolbin
Pokolbin Tower Lodge
Tower Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing