We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Australia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Lodge
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Kanwal, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Australia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were lucky enough to use Tower Estate as our wedding venue which included Tower Lodge, Peppers Convent and Roberts Restaurant. Most of the guests stayed at the convent which is beautiful but me and the bridesmaids stayed at Tower Lodge and let me tell you, this place is on a whole other level! Its like being in another country or time. We had 2 rooms, the chairmans suite (AMAZING) and the twin room. Each room was different from the other in design and style but both exquisite in decoration and atmosphere. The chairmans suite had a huge 4 poster canapy bed that is over 300 years old. Each room had a log fireplace, sitting room, dressing room and amazing spa bathrooms.
The staff were brilliant. I had organised a high tea for us in the afternoon, this is a MUST DO if u stay here! Sandwiches, cakes, pastries, jellies, quiches all so delicious.
The breakfast the next morning was even better, hands down the best eggs benedict ive ever had in my life.
We also spent some time around the pool, very private and beautiful.
Aside from having my wedding here and being a tad biased, I cant wait to stay here again. Yes its probably the most expensive place to stay in the hunter valley ( around $450 a night) but for a special occasion or a romantic weekend away its worth every cent.
Absolutley STUNNING.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    19
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
92
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for two nights last month with another couple. The hotel is quite unique almost Santa Fe in styling outside but the full baroque job inside! The rooms are big and well laid out and in the furnishings you expect from Relais et Chateaux properties. I found it to be really quite expensive for what it was especially as it is getting very frayed around the edges. To keep commanding the prices they want they need to have a refresh.

The breakfast is really good and very substantial just what you need before you get into a full day of wine tasting! Get them to set up a table outside in the morning sun. We had the dinner experience at the Lodge which was really nice but I don't think we were prepared for the 7 or so courses.

Overall its a average 5 star experience and a property that is resting on its former glory. However there is a secret weapon that makes the place still worth the visit and this is the Manager, Paul! he is the best host - everything from arranging details before we arrived, to making drinks in the evening to setting up a dinner table for four in the library. Talk about making a difference - he and his team do just that.

He was newish to the job when we arrived and if he gets the support he needs from the owners to give the property a touch up he will take it from good to great in no time!

Thank you Paul you are a fabulous host.

Room Tip: - If you are a small party ask to eat dinner in the library. - If breakfast is set up inside ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed one night and upgraded to the Deluxe fireplace room. The Manager on duty Paul was excellent and I think his thoughtfulness definitely added to the stay. He welcomed us warmly to Lodge and settled us in. When we went for a pre dinner drink he was always there to deliver great service. He even drove us to dinner was was really appreciated. He lit our fire in the room after check in so the room would be warm. I thought the room was great.... extremely spacious and out of the Italian countryside magazine. We didn't have dinner and went next door to the steak house (a mistake!) nor breakfast....so I can't comment on the food. If you can get a good rate, I think this place is worth experiencing. After reading the negative reviews....the new Manager we met seemed to have sorted those issues out. Thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Fantastic service from booking, planning, check in and beyond. Stayed for a special occasion with high expectations. From initial enquiry, service was friendly and informative. Stay was excellent......nice clean welcoming room with all amenities, breakfast vast and tasty, service warm and friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Would recommend to all seeking that special get away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have been coming to the Hunter Valley for many years and have admired this hotel but have never stayed here due to it being a 5 star hotel and we don't usually go for the top of the range in the hunter. We decided to lash out this time and are really glad we did as the Tower Lodge was brilliant. Excellent service, great food, and an amazing suite. The Lodge does not have too many rooms making it a much more intimate experience and both the public areas and the room itself are beautifully decorated. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 towards the back of the hotel which had a nice rear deck with a lovely sunny out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a romantic night away. We were blown away at how welcoming and luxurios the entrance and lounge area were. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was exquisite, large, clean, private, beautiful furniture and layout with a private courtyard. Lovely spa bath. The bed was extremely comfortable, I could have taken this home with me! All in all could not fault at all. The breakfast was delicious, an assortment of pastries, friuts, jams, yoghurt and toasted muesli, followed by a hot breakfast. Amazing, will recommend and return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KND89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Our room, had both hot and cold air blasting into the room, making the bathroom cold, when I reported this, they said there was nothing they could do at the time, not until morning. Then having returned from an evening out we found the whole room cold as by them the warm air system malfunctioned then one of the bulbs in a light died as I was trying to fix the system myself- so no light

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB003776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge

Property: Tower Lodge
Address: 6 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Lodge is the only truly intimate World class luxury Lodge in the Hunter Valley region, accommodating a maximum of 24 guests at any one time. The Lodge is not only luxurious, but also offers a stage to create your own special experience, one that will become your benchmark for years to come. Located at Tower Estate in the Hunter Valley, Australia the Lodge was recognised as the best "Luxury Lodge" for 2010 at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Tower Lodge represents all that is Unique, Intimate and Luxurious. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge - Relais And Chateaux
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Pokolbin
Tower Lodge Pokolbin
Pokolbin Tower Lodge
Tower Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing